We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe you have a room and maybe you don't!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnolia
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had reservations at the Holiday Inn Express in Magnolia, AR for September 23rd and September 25th. The stay on the 23rd was Ok except for the extreme amount of cigarette smoke that I could smell from another guest's room (my room was non-smoking).

When I tried to check in on the 25th, I was told that they had given my room to someone else! I showed the desk clerk my confirmation email, but that did not matter. She said that some guests that had stayed on the 24th "had decided to extend their stay".

If you have ever been to Magnolia then you know that the Holiday Inn Express is the only acceptable hotel in town. Yes, there are other hotels/motels there but they are not clean. I've seen them myself. So my only alternative was to drive 30 minutes over to El Dorado and stay in a very nice, newly renovated Hampton Inn.

I've stayed in hotels all over the country. Never have I had my confirmed room given away. My whole extended family visits Magnolia frequently to see my sister and her family. Never again will this happen to me as I won't trust this place again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davfamo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhiem, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. Unfortunately, our hotel was overbooked and our "walk" policy is to pay for your first night's stay. We will be happy to reimburse the amount of your hotel and the gas expense, having to travel unexpectedly. Please call the hotel and ask for the General Manager. Our local number is 1.870.234.5161. We value you as our guest and hope that we can accommodate your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everything about this property is top notch. Staff is very friendly, rooms are immaculate and the food is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express a couple of times over the years when visiting family. The staff are always friendly and smile and greet you at any time of the day. Rooms were clean. No problems.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The staff works very hard to provide excellent service for our guests and we look forward to your next visit! We truly value the opinions of our Guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations concerning our fitness center. Thank you so much for your review and I be sure to pass your comments on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This was my first time ever in a Holiday Inn Express. I asked for an upgrade from a double queen to a double queen suite and the clerk promptly provided me with the upgrade. She advised there was a small increase from regular room to suite. She was very kind & courteous.

The lobby was very clean. Our suite was very nice. The 1st floor suite & bathroom was very clean. The room was spacious and comfortable. The furnitue is a little outdated, but still nice. The bed was a pillow top, which proved to be too soft for me. My sister didn't have any complaints about her bed so it is a matter of personal taste.

We didn't have any outside noise interference, the room was quiet and the air conditioner worked incredibly well.

The hotel offers complimentary breakfast but we chose to sleep in past the 9 o'clock deadline.

On the morning of checkout my final bill paperwork was slipped under the door so we were able to leave the keys on the desk without returning to the lobby.

I found the cost to be a little higher than I am accustom to paying with Best Western.

Overall, I do plan to stay at this hotel each time we visit Magnolia and the surrounding areas for business and/or pleasure.

Room Tip: First floor double queen suite is the only reference I have and it was a pleasant room being both cl...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We are currently staying here for a ball tournament and we are very impressed with this hotel. The rooms are very clean and the staff goes over and beyond to help us.We are enjoying our stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Great Staff...Good Location...Good Breakfast....Good Sleep ! !

Room Tip: Next door to a good seafood place
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 214Solutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

All together, my week-long stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Magnolia AR was very comfortable and the staff was excellent. Very courteous and helpful. Especially Trena and Diane and Scott, the ones I got to know a bit during my stay. I really appreciated their diligence and friendliness to a total stranger from Houston who traveled to a beautiful part of the country to tromp around in the muddy oil fields. I personally want to thank Trena, Diane, and Scott for making my stay more enjoyable..

Oh, and the breakfasts were absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Y057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnolia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Magnolia
Hampton Inn Magnolia
#1 of 5 in Magnolia
223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Magnolia
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Magnolia Inn
#5 of 5 in Magnolia
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Loft on the Square Guest Suites
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Dollar Save Inn
#2 of 4 in Magnolia
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia

Address: 1604 E Main St, Magnolia, AR 71753-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Magnolia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnolia
Price Range: $118 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Magnolia-Lake Columbia. The hotel is located directly off the intersection of I-79, SR-82 and SR-371. It is 65 miles from major the Shreveport, LA, airport and 150 miles from the Little Rock, AR, airport. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Magnolia, AR, just a few miles from several local attractions and major companies, including the historic downtown area, Southern Arkansas University, Lake Columbia, and Logoly State Park. This property was designed to provide comfort with beauty and convenience for both corporate and leisure travelers. The oversize rooms and suites have been decorated in earth tones to make travel less stressful. Suites include all standard amenities, as well as a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Complimentary high-speed Internet is available in each room, in addition to the wireless service that is available throughout the facility. If you prefer, a business center is also available 24 hours. In addition, the hotel offers a heated indoor pool and workout facilities. And, of course, our famous complimentary Express Start Breakfast bar, featuring our delicious signature cinnamon rolls, is available daily. Whether it's for business or pleasure, be sure to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Magnolia-Lake Columbia where you ll experience excellent service and warm hospitality. It s the smart thing to do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia Hotel Magnolia
Holiday Inn Magnolia
Magnolia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing