We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of North Pole

North Pole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a great meal here recently, sea bass on a bed of vegetables, served with chips a bit strange but nevertheless the chips were freshly cooked and yummy! everything was piping hot, and reasonably priced for good quality food. Others in my group had the liver with mash and stuffed chicken (amazing) great service nice atmosphere. Good menu with lots to choose from, starters looked great especially the shared platter and plenty of desserts. Great plates of food well recommended, but be prepared to wait a bit if they are busy. Plenty of leg room and tables not to squashed together. The wait was well worth it as the food was well presented, hot, excellent quality with plenty of choice. Lovely family space available with high chairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine_s_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    71
    16
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The place to go"”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Initially we popped in to have a drink as the atmosphere in some of the pubs we had visited was a real let down.
We went in and found a cosy spot by the fire, and we were greeted with a very warm welcome by Zoe the owner, who introduced herself and made us feel very welcome.
Since that visit we have returned numerous times for drinks, and meals. The food is superb, and we are always made to feel welcome. Zoe always has the time to stop and chat, and the other staff are always pleasant.
We would highly recommend this pub/restaurant, and we are sure to return again very soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west malling
2 reviews
“Superb food - lovely atmosphere - great value.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went here as a large family group for the Sunday Carvery to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday and had a fantastic time. Zoe, the owner could not have been more helpful in sorting out our event and her care and attention to detail ensured that everything and everyone were well and truly looked after. The food was plentiful and delicious - with the roast gammon being the best my husband said he has ever tasted. Whether you eat in the pub or the restaurant, the atmosphere is cosy and relaxed and all the staff attentive and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend this pub to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 531Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snodland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went with friends for a Sunday roast, was a bit worried as had not been since the new owners have taken over.

Had a really nice Sunday carvery in a greatly extended, revamped and imoroved restaurant, it was busy but not too noisey which was nice and the cost was very reasonable. Would go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food - good atmosphere”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a lovely Valentine Day lunch, having booked at the last mnute. The skate wing was delicious and my partner cleared his plate of the steak pie. Service was a bit slow but we didn't have to be anywhere else so enjoyed a drink in the lovely bar near the fire. Will go back again to try some of the other fish specials.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Pole also viewed

 

Been to North Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing