We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best avoid!”
Review of The Mayfield

The Mayfield
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving a great choice of food including family favourites such as our homemade Burgers, deep-filled pies, classic fish 'n' chips and great sharing platters. The Carvery offers a selection of high-quality hand-carved British meats, accompanied by fresh vegetables and homemade Yorkshire puddings! The Bar has Sky Sports HD on new screens!And is dog-friendly, and offers a wide selection of local beers and wines at competitive prices. Families welcome, with a fantastic indoor children's play area, a tasty children's menu and great family room to dine in with the kids, with high chairs and baby change facilities. With ten amazing en-suite bedrooms, 2 of which can be combined with a Lounge, Kitchen/Dining area to create a large 2 bedroom family apartment
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best avoid!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

As locals this was our first visit since the refit. Pub looked cleaned up but the service was appalling and the staff were rude. Food very average so best avoid is our advice!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsmac990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Mayfield in Seamer, I am sorry your last visit to us wasn't enjoyable, as locals to the area we want you to be the back bone of our business so I am sorry that we have offended you in anyway as we would never set out to do this. Hopefully you will se fit to give us another try and if there is anything I can do to help in this matter do not hesitate in contacting me direct.

Thank you once again for your comments

Robert Lazenby - HQ Hospitality - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    86
    38
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“not great”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Disappointed , poor service very slow, staff didnt seem to know what was going on, had a carvery which is more expensive on a Sunday, had run out of roast potatoes when they arrived 10 minuutes later very greasy and soggy. Other members of party had chips with their meal which again were very greasy. Supposed to have been re-furbished didnt look any different to me . Would not recommend and would not go again there are better places to eat in Scarborough and it definitely wasnt cheap

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaYORK246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments of your previous visit, it is always important that we know exactly what our customer thinks as we look to grow as a business. I am sorry on this occasion you and your party did not enjoy your meals, I can only apologise for the lack of roast potatoes this shouldn't have happened, and measures have been put in place to stop this happening in the future.

Once again thank you for passing on all your comments it does help us understand the needs and wants of the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

After finding that the Mayfield Hotel was re opening and after having meals there previously which were very enjoyable really looked forward to our booking it looks really nice a lot of work has been put into it but the Christmas Menu was was very disappointing the starter was very good I had Prawn Cocktail my friend had Pate I had the Salmon which again was really nice but Roast Potatoes were very hard or burnt the only other potato was something that had green beans in it and looked terrible this wasn't only my opinion but general one around me parsnip carrot swede were fine but Christmas Menu no sprouts ?. My friend had the Carvery the choice being Dry Turkey or Beef not liking beef she asked what the other meat was as there were three hot plates and was told no other choice so again same probs with potatoes and veg she basically left most of the meal. Dessert arrived I ordered Fruit Crumble ate it but could not tell what Fruit was in it my friend ordered Christmas Pudding by this point when she recieved a slice of pudding which again after getting over the shock of a slice had 2 spoonfuls and left it. We phoned for a taxi earlier than planned paided and left. The full menu was only £13.95 but would have happily have paid more for a better meal shame our favourite one down the road was fully booked and what a shame when so much effort has gone into making it look so good here's hoping it's only teething problems although another friend went on a different day and same problems

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for passing on all your comments from your last visit to our new venture here in Seamer, I am sorry you left feeling disappointed as we value all our customers and certainly do set out to disappoint people. We take all the comments on board and use these to grow as a business, because without feedback we would not be able to satisfy all of our customers. Hopefully now the dust has settled after our hectic opening period you will be able to give us a second chance, as we don't want you feeling like you will never want to visit again.

Once again thank you for your comments, and hopefully you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

visited on sunday for the carvery and it was fantastic. great food, brilliant service and a nice setting. would highly recommend a meal here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your continued support of our business, its always great to receive such positive feedback and hopefully we will see you and your family again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good all round!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went on Saturday evening for 1st time, there were six in our party and all ordered
different things from the lovely choices on menu. Staff were very polite and even
though it was very busy all very cheerful and couldn't be more helpful. Our food arrived
all at same time and cooked perfectly. Lovely young couple running it and lovely refurb
job. Will def recommend to others!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Its always great to receive feedback from our customers and we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your first experience at The Mayfield, and hopefully it wont be your last!!! Looking forward to welcoming you all back very soon.

Thanks again for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayfield also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Seamer, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing