We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mayfield
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Serving a great choice of food including family favourites such as our homemade Burgers, deep-filled pies, classic fish 'n' chips and great sharing platters. The Carvery offers a selection of high-quality hand-carved British meats, accompanied by fresh vegetables and homemade Yorkshire puddings! The Bar has Sky Sports HD on new screens!And is dog-friendly, and offers a wide selection of local beers and wines at competitive prices. Families welcome, with a fantastic indoor children's play area, a tasty children's menu and great family room to dine in with the kids, with high chairs and baby change facilities. With ten amazing en-suite bedrooms, 2 of which can be combined with a Lounge, Kitchen/Dining area to create a large 2 bedroom family apartment
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Visited the Mayfield for lunch as a party of 7. Had the carvery, at £6.95 not a bad price. I had turkey. Yorkshire puds were a bit large so not much room left on the plate for your veg. Carrots and green beans were a bit dry and the gravey was terribly watery and tastless. Also, with it being so close to christmas I would have expected at least some parsnips and sprouts. Not a good meal and won't be rushing back although the decor was very pleasant and it was nice and warm in there.

Thank Scarboroughgal232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments of your latest visit to our restaurant, I am sorry on this occasion it did not meet your expectations, as a team we strive to meet everyone's needs & maybe this time we fell short. Maybe once the dust has settled you would be able to give us another try and hopefully you will be impressed with the food we can offer here at The Mayfield.

Once again thank you for all your comments and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 349 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just visited the nearly refurbished Mayfield hotel for lunch. There is a good choice of food on the menu but we choose to have the carvery at £6.95.There was only a choice of two meats not like what it said on the menu which was three.The Yorkshire puddings were home made they were quite big but bland. The portion size of the meat was small the beef was rare in the middle which is'nt to everyone taste.There were only three types of vegetables carrots,swede & ratatouille, which does't really go with a roast dinner.Overall disappionted with the carvery for the price. Though surroundings & decor did look nice Parking was terrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DennyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for passing on all your comments to our team here in Seamer, we use all feedback to help move the business forward so appreciate everything. I am sorry on this occasion your experience did not live up to your expectations, hopefully if you chose to visit us again you will have a completely different review of your dinning experience.

Once again thank you and hopefully we will see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Visited The 'New' Mayfield for our office Christmas Party on Saturday evening - the place was ram packed with a really great buzzy atmosphere. We were in the Function Room with our own DJ - it was brilliant. Can't recommend this place enough. The food was lovely, warm and inviting - everyone had a great time. The staff looked after us impeccably. The 'New' Mayfield Team well done - you deserve to do well. Seamer village is very lucky to have good restaurants and pubs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WinkieWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your continued support to our venues in Seamer its always great to hear that guests are enjoying the facilities that we as a team provide, our function room is ideal for the purpose you all used it for & hopefully we will have lots more fantastic events in the near future.

Thanks again & hopefully see you and all your work colleagues very soon,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went to the "new" Mayfield last evening expecting something at least above average bearing in mind the owners also have the Copper Horse which is very good. The place has undergone a complete revamp so looks quite nice. We were a party of 4 who ordered from the menu after finding a table in the bar area. At no point did the staff suggest we go into the restaurant even though we did ask what was going to happen in the bar as there was some entertainment equipment set up. We ordered food at 6 30, there were few people eating at that time, half of it finally appeared at 7 15 ( 2 plates) after another 10 minutes I asked the girl behind the bar where the other meals were - reply - I dont know I will find out, came back "they wont be long"!!!!! No apology, when they did arrive very mediocre, dried up peas, quite small portions. By this time the quiz was in full blast and between each question 2 records so loud we could not talk to each other. However, I like home made sweets and the menu said home made!!! so we went to the bar to order 2 deserts, we could not hear what the lady behind the bar was saying and asked if the noise could be turned down, it was at this point that she suggested we go into the other room which we did and it was much quiter. After a while 1 desert appeared, the other followed when I had half eaten mine, sticky toffee pudding of the small basin type bought in shops and freezers, not really very good at all for £4.75. The carvey was not touched while we sat in that room, a piece of meat just sat there. Yes the carvery area looks nice and presume at busy times the food is "turned over" but would'nt have fancied what was sat there last night.
All in all I hope these are teething problems as obviously alot of effort has gone into the revamp, perhaps a place more for families with young children, abit like Hungry Horse type pubs, not some where we will be going back to in the near future - sorry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scruton8179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for passing on all your comments its always helpful when you are a new business to hear what our customers think, having only been open for a week when you visited we were very much still in the teething stage of operations, so from that time we have learnt a lot about the operation. I am glad you like the revamp itself as a lot of time and effort has gone into producing this business, hopefully we will see you again in the near future and your experience will be better than this time.

Many thanks for your custom and all your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went to the "New Mayfield" last evening, there is still some building work going on but the much improved decor is excellent which the Mayfield was badly in need of - the family room is very good and the bar area very welcoming. We ate about 7pm having ordered our food at 6.20pm - one meal and one carvery (so only one to cook) from a very limited menu. Having waited over 40 mins for our food we had plenty of time to observe the carvery - which was left unattended several times and customers had to wait, the chef kept topping up the vegetables but just chucked them on top on what was already in the pots. When my meal finally arrived and my partner went to the carvery the service was average as was the food. This could be so very much better - having improved the facilites and atmosphere with a number of events advertised we would like to make it our regular eatery but unless the food and menu changes we will only go as a stop gap or cannot be bothered to cook and dont want fish & chips!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chalky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieJT, General Manager at The Mayfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your views on our new venture in the village of Seamer, we always appreciate feedback from our customers and fully take on board whatever comments they provide us with. I am sorry you felt that you hadn't enjoyed your evening as much as you hoped, as you can appreciate we were a new business and are still learning, hopefully on your return you find us more prepared to fulfil your needs.

Once again thank you for all your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayfield also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Scalby, Scarborough
 

Been to The Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing