We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Nosh”
Review of The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Copper Horse is proud of its reputation of being one of the best places to eat. Our creative Evening menu features a variety of Traditional and Modern English Classic dishes together with Seasonal Daily Specials, and we offer Lite Bites for Lunch, Children's and Gluten Free menus, all packed with local and regional produce that showcases the best of Yorkshire food. Traditional Sunday Lunch with a choice of Roasted Meats with all the trimmings are served every week.
Cayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fab Nosh”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We visited this restaurant on a whim with a visitor to our new home in the area. We were not disappointed, we could not get a table in the Restaurant, however, the staff we very welcoming and advised us of an available table in the bar. The food was fab, the staff were warm, welcoming and friendly. Prices were fine. No complaints, only praise for this lovely place. Also, you will not miss all the advertisements for shows (and the ones in the loos - especially behind the doors in the ladies !!!!)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    148
    83
    53
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good service and food”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have eaten many times at the Copper Horse and weren't disappointed. The staff were friendly and very accommodating, when we asked for more vegetables and more gravy they were brought to the table quickly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelj662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food and setting”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We went to this resturant purely by chance, but what a surprise we got, the service was exelent and the food was very good, we decided on the home made steak and ale pie, it was the best i have had, with the ale served in a small glass very nice touch.
we then followed with the dessert we have had for a long time,
well done to the staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanGriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, appalling service”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing. When given the menus to browse, it was 40 mins before one of the waiting staff came to take our order. We were seated where the staff passed often . When the waitress came to us we were told we would have to wait another 30 mins for food to arrive as it is all cooked to order. Which is good , but surely some one could have stopped by sooner to say perhaps, we are sorry , there is a delay on food , would you like nibbles while you wait ? Just nothing . Staff very unfriendly, no smiles, not welcoming, badly managed, perhaps they thought we would leave if they ignored us . It was busy. But not very busy as there were several tables with no customers . Great shame , as food was very good . Really appalling service .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, General Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for leaving such constructive feedback, we are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us.

You have highlighted certain areas of which we need to look at and improve. If I may I would like to discuss your visit in more depth, you can contact me on nhaywood@hqhospitality.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Nik Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food but poor service”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Great location with excellent food. Basis our first visit I would only recommend if you are prepared to wait. It took 45 minutes from being seated to the order being taken and a further 30 minutes for the food to arrive. Perhaps this is not the norm so will review again after a second visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, General Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we use all feedback to grow as a business as it helps us locate where we need to improve. I would like to discuss your visit in more detail, please feel free to contact me on nhaywood@hqhospitality.com at your convenience. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Nik Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Horse also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Copper Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing