We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as per usual...impressive”
Review of The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Copper Horse is proud of its reputation of being one of the best places to eat. Our creative Evening menu features a variety of Traditional and Modern English Classic dishes together with Seasonal Daily Specials, and we offer Lite Bites for Lunch, Children's and Gluten Free menus, all packed with local and regional produce that showcases the best of Yorkshire food. Traditional Sunday Lunch with a choice of Roasted Meats with all the trimmings are served every week.
scarborough
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“as per usual...impressive”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

been here many times and as the title suggests as per usual...impressive. It never fails to deliver,from the quality of the food, the presentation, the service and the Yorkshire Blackout which is a real ale/stout..initially was offered a little taster as it is an acquired taste...very quickly acquired a taste for it and gave my wife the keys to drive home...very filling lunch and must be one of,if not,the best eatery in Scarborough

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilfromscarboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Great to hear all your positive comments about your lunch with us at The Copper Horse, its always pleasing to know that our customers are leaving satisfied! The Blackout is brewed locally at The Great Yorkshire Brewery in Cropton, and is proving very popular amongst or regular customers!

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    148
    83
    53
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A revelation!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a wonderful Saturday evening. Taken to 'The Copper Horse' in Seamer, not having been there for several years. First surprise was this great stout called 'Yorkshire Blackout' and believe me don't drink more than 3/4 pints or you will - blackout that is. On to the restaurant and what a great meal. I ordered the Pork and Susan the Duck. We don't usually have a starter because we like a sweet and can't manage three courses. The whole dining experience was perfect. The mains were accompanied by the most perfectly cooked homemade chips or roast potatoes. The carrots were cut thinly and expertly cooked. The broccoli was also spot on. I had ordered the Pork which came with perfect crackling and beautiful apple sauce. Susan reported that her duck was just as brilliant. The sweets were excellent and very substantial. All was good value. At this point I am ready to hand out the Michelin stars but I have just a few recommendations. The gravy could have been better. However, that is all, regarding the meal. The Yorkshire Blackout stout appeared in a Yorkshire Blackout glass twice but not the third time. I like to see on the glass, the name of the beer you are drinking. Answer, obtain more glasses. The flower glass on the table was filled with fabric narcissus flowers, now why not real daffodils, especially as at this time of the year they are cheaply available. Now apart from what I have reported none of these minor recommendations affected the dining experience. The Copper Horse is seriously good for food and beer and I will definitely be going again, soon I hope. Congratulations to the hardworking front of house and also the chef(s) for a fantastic effort. Definitely two Michelin stars or Les Routiers, or both, awarded or not!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
It gives me great pleasure to be reading a review like this one for our restaurant in Seamer, I am so pleased that we able to achieve this level of satisfaction with not only our food, but our service too!

I will work on the small points that you have referenced in your review & hopefully the next time you visit you will leaved even more pleased with your experience!

Thank you once again for supporting us and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really really good”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a beautiful Sunday lunch here the other day. As the title says, it was really, really good! So tasty, lovely fresh veg, and the staff were so helpful and attentive offering to replenish veg they noticed we had eaten and bringing water to the table when we sat down (without having to request it). It was just really nice little touches. Can't wait to go again.

Helpful?
Thank ChocieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave all your comments on this site for us all to look at, it is always pleasing to hear that all the little touches we do pay off & people appreciate the effort the team go to make everyone's experience the best it can possibly be. Hopefully you will be dinning with us again in the future as we are looking forward to you welcoming you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely meal.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

On arrival we were shown to our table by friendly, welcoming staff but then we had a long wait before our order was taken and our meal finally served. The food was actually very good and the poor service will not deter us from booking another meal in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Its always good to hear from customers once they have dined with us, I am sorry on this occasion the service did not live up to the food you were served, hopefully next time you dine with us you will see a marked improvement on your whole experience. Once again thank you for getting in touch and pointing this area of concern you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“18th Birthday!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

7 of us went to The Copper Horse for Dominic's 18th birthday, and we all had a superb meal, with excellent service! Well done to Rob and all his staff...

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Copper Horse to celebrate your son's 18th Birthday, and for taking the time to post your review of your evening on this site. Its pleasing to know that the team are all doing such a great job and making nights like this one special for the guests. Hopefully we will see you all soon and thank you for your continued support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Horse also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scalby, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Copper Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing