We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Copper Horse is proud of its reputation of being one of the best places to eat. Our creative Evening menu features a variety of Traditional and Modern English Classic dishes together with Seasonal Daily Specials, and we offer Lite Bites for Lunch, Children's and Gluten Free menus, all packed with local and regional produce that showcases the best of Yorkshire food. Traditional Sunday Lunch with a choice of Roasted Meats with all the trimmings are served every week.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This small pub/restaurant was a suprise find while driving through the North Yorkshire village of Seamer.
Good parking, clean traditional looking pub and very friendly and lots of staff on hand if you needed anything.
We went on the Sunday before Christmas, and expected the usual long wait for our table and even longer for food to arrive...but no, we where seated with in 5 minutes, and having already been handed meues while we waited, our food order was taken straight away.
Food arrive about 10 minutes later, beautifully cooked roast beef and roast pork and the vegatable accompaniments where cooked "al dente", which was great and the extra gravy arrived in a lovely small copper pot.
I would recommend you book, we where lucky, other people like ourselves who turned up on speck where unable to get a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boom0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are very happy to hear your first experience with us was excellent! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, We do advise booking at The Copper Horse as we can't guarantee a table and we dont want to disapoint on your next visit, thanks again and best wishes for the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    144
    83
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Years Eve.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having dined at the Restaurant on several occasions we decided to book for the NYE Gala dinner. We arrived at 7pm to be warmly greeted by Rob who promptly served us with Champagne,then the waiter came over with a selection of warm and cold Canapes,one of which was a small chip with a mushy pea and a tiny piece of battered fish on top. We were taken to our table around 7.30 and offered more canapes,then came the soup course Pear and Stilton,choice of Starter of which we had "smoked salmon and crab mousse" and "roast pear stuffed with hazelnut and gorgonzola",then on to cranberry sorbet(really refreshing). For the main i had Venison with roast squash,spinach and a morel mushroom red wine and chocolate sauce(which i must say i didn't fancy at first) but boy did it go well with venison,my wife had the Bream with scallops and shellfish broth. I was worried that i would not have space for any afters,but as the courses were evenly spread out we had room to finish off the meal with Baked alaska and Chocolate panetone bread and butter pudding,coffee and a great selection of liquers (with home made chocolates). All in all none of our party could fault the service,standard of food or atmosphere.Over the past 5 years since we have eaten on a regular basis and it's always good to see the same staff Rob and Darren.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful detailed review of our new year gala dinner. It's a pleasure we could help you celebrate your newyear and we are thrilled to hear you had such a great evening with us. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Best wishes for the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Visited 22/12/12 for Sunday lunch. Service was excellent, food was good but chef needs to watch the salt on certain things, just a little too much. Everyone enjoyed and the setting is good, will go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Woodcop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, firstly we are thrilled you chose The Copper Horse as your choice of venue for you family reunion and very pleased you overall enjoyed your lunch. We take all good and bad criticism into account and try our best to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub Plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We go at lunch time and in the evening. It is bright, clean with nooks and corners or a big room if one takes a big party. There are light meals and bigger dishes too. They get the flavours right and the presentation and service. Decent wines and beers at fair prices. Very useful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a very helpful / positive review, its great to hear from our customers that the food we are serving fits all needs either light meals or evening meals which is what we aim for when we devise our menu's. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Theservice was slow and some of the food almost inedible. Setting is very interesting but it is a shame the food did not live up to the usual standard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fileyflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We were disapointed to read your comments as we take all feedback from customers very seriously. We would therefore be grateful if you could provide us with the date of your visit and some more details so we may fully investigate the issues you had.

Here is my email rlazenby@hqhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Horse also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scalby, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Copper Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing