We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Nice Place”
Review of The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Copper Horse is proud of its reputation of being one of the best places to eat. Our creative Evening menu features a variety of Traditional and Modern English Classic dishes together with Seasonal Daily Specials, and we offer Lite Bites for Lunch, Children's and Gluten Free menus, all packed with local and regional produce that showcases the best of Yorkshire food. Traditional Sunday Lunch with a choice of Roasted Meats with all the trimmings are served every week.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had meal here for my wife's birthday, really good food served in a lovely setting.
Fairly busy for a midweek in November so glad we booked in advance.
Service attentive and friendly, bit of a mix up with our bill but this was rectified
quickly with an apology. Definitely will be returning soon.

Thank markannmariescarboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, we are very happy you chose The Copper Horse to celebrate your wifes birthday and hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 730 of 845 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

we reserved a table for 11 for a special family occasion. (Sunday lunchtime -they where not busy). We where shown quickly to our table(s) but after 10 minutes had to find someone and ask to order drinks. which took time to arrive. We then had to ask again for our lunch orders to be taken (another 15 minutes). we then had to wait a further 25 minutes for the food to arrive, and then a further 10 minutes for the 3 childrens meals to arrive! which we had to ask for! and which where nearly cold. Also my order of a steak pie was so salty that i ended up leaving it. we noticed that others who had arrived after us completed 3 courses and where paid up and departed before we finished our first course as we had waited for so long.
i feel this is not the type of service that you expect when you are obviously going to spend a large amount of money.
I will not be going to the copper horse again. I live very local but will travel in future, to hopefully receive better service and food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank richardseamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having driven past many times, our group had a very pleasant evening recently.
Surprising because - it's bigger than it appears, with an unusual and interesting
decor in each of the dining areas, A surprisingly large & interesting menu was matched
by excellent service. (My mini pork joint was exceptional). Prices paid were reasonable.
Always good to have your expectations exceeded !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for a wonderdul review we very much appreciate getting positive feed back and we take all comments into consideration. We are glad you found the decor interesting, the owner is always thrilled to hear good comments about his collection.
Myself and my team thank you again and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited on a friday lunchtime with a young child of 15 months and where very impressed with the quality of the food and friendly service Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very happy you had such a pleasant experience with us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

we have eaten at the Copper Horse a few times now, our last visit was in September for my wifes birthday, once again the whole experience was first class, there is a certain ambience about the Copper Horse, It's like visiting an good friend, the food was as usual fantastic but i think what makes it even more enjoyable are the friendly attentive staff who make you feel so welcome and they seem genuinely happy to see you, luckily we live less than 2 miles away and its just a nice walk home on a mild evening. well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for such a positive review, we are thrilled that you chose to celebrate your wifes birthday with us and even more thrilled that you had a "first class" experience. We appreciate the time you have taken to compliment our staff and very grateful for your kind words.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Horse also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Scalby, Scarborough
 

Been to The Copper Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing