We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Copper Horse is proud of its reputation of being one of the best places to eat. Our creative Evening menu features a variety of Traditional and Modern English Classic dishes together with Seasonal Daily Specials, and we offer Lite Bites for Lunch, Children's and Gluten Free menus, all packed with local and regional produce that showcases the best of Yorkshire food. Traditional Sunday Lunch with a choice of Roasted Meats with all the trimmings are served every week.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our second visit to the Copper horse and the food was as good this time as the last.I had the pigeon and venison and both were cooked to perfection. My wife had the humous and chicken and said both were excellent.Will defiantly go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Emilysdad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

It is always good to hear such positive comments about our restaurant here in Seamer, we show all these reviews to our staff so its always brings a smile to their faces when people leave such great reviews, we hope to see you again very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 751 of 845 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a great pub/restaurant - we ate here 3 times on our trip trying different menu items each visit and were never disappointed. The service is fast and friendly and the food delicious and plentiful. The memorabilia is fascinating, too! We kept thinking we ought to try other pubs or restaurants but this was so good we felt it not worth the risk of being disappointed elsewhere. Just wish it were near to our home!

3  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for posting your review of our restaurant on this site, i am so pleased you were able to return 3 times during your visit of the area & i am also pleased that each time you returned you tried something different. Hopefully next time you are in the area we will see you again.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Visited this restaurant on the 27th Sep, long time since i last visited and may be sometime before i try it again, although i have had good experiences in the past this was not one of them. My wife orderd a lamd Shank, which i do believe dose have a certain amount of fat on it, which was not the problem, but the tuffness of the meet was very disapointing, the lamd should be soft and tender and just about fall off the bone, this was like boot leather ! when we complained we where met with, well i did ask you if every thing was okay, at the start of your meal, Yes that was correct but as we had just picked up our knife and fork its was pretty difficult to judge, at that time, Eventuley after a visit to the kitchen to discuss, they agreed to not charge us for this dish, I had the seabass on a bed of stir fry cashew nuts, it must have been a king size bed ! certainley got plenty of nuts, although the sea bass was nice, but still not the most enjoyable meal or night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PatrickR190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Firstly i would like to thank you for posting your comments of our restaurant on this site, it is always helpful for us to hear all feedback whether positive or negative. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion you had not enjoyed your evening or your food, we sell a lot of the Lamb Shanks & we hardly ever have any problems with this dish so all i can do is apologise and say that this is not a regular occurance. If you want to discuss this matter in any more detail do not hesitate to contact me at the restaurant. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Even though they brought me the wrong meal and could not provide me what i ordered it was still very good all round

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rookie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for writting your review of our restaurant, and i am glad you think we are very good for hosting special occasions, i am sorry to hear that we could not provide you with the correct meal & i can assure you that this is not a regular occurance as we strive to offer fantastic service as well as food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate here on the first night of a short break. The food was excellent, the service very friendly and the menu extensive. However, the most striking thing about the pub was its decor. The owner is also a theatrical agent and the pub, entrance and even the loos have theatrical memorabilia, posters, and pictures.

We loved it and will add it to our list of unmissable places to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stephen_nuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

It is always a pleasure to hear that people notice the little things we do here at The Copper Horse including the decor, i am glad you found this a talking point & that you also enjoyed the food on this visit. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Horse also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Scalby, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Copper Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing