We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely yet again.”
Review of The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Copper Horse is proud of its reputation of being one of the best places to eat. Our creative Evening menu features a variety of Traditional and Modern English Classic dishes together with Seasonal Daily Specials, and we offer Lite Bites for Lunch, Children's and Gluten Free menus, all packed with local and regional produce that showcases the best of Yorkshire food. Traditional Sunday Lunch with a choice of Roasted Meats with all the trimmings are served every week.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Well what can I say, if you haven't tried it PLEASE DO!! It's consistently good. We had the most amazing bottle of red (Château Patris) unfortunately not available on the main list, maybe it could be added!!!! They have now added holiday cottages to their portfolio which are located next to the pub (BONUS!). We asked if we could take a look at the vacant ones, they are finished to a high standard (for holiday lets) and are well thought out, furnishings and décor are lovely, a real home from home feel. We will definitely be partaking in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mariap202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you so much for the review you have taken time to write for our restaurant, and also mentioning our new venture the six holiday cottages located next door to the restaurant. I am glad all your food was enjoyable and you chose one of wine specials to drink maybe next time you visit there will be another excellant bottle on our specials!!! Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

811 - 815 of 875 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spur of the moment decision to eat out, called in at this amazing place, worthy of the Les Routiers plaque on the front, Atmosphere great, food best in Scarborough, come on reviewers put some comments on, get the ratings up, good choice for Son who is a picky eater just enjoy! enjoy! ,enjoy the true quality we have in Scarborough. A proper restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Scarborough11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of our restaurant here in Scarborough, its always pleasing to know that our guests are enjoying their visits to us, and keep on returning!! We hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Having been to the Copper Horse many times before we decided to go again last Thursday as always it was brilliant the pea rissotto was unbelievable, service was extremely good allbeit Julie was under pressure she coped well and still gave undivided attention and a lovely smile. Thanks again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our restaurant. I am glad you tried one of our new seasonal dishes and enjoyed it so much!!! It is always nice when customers notice the hard work the front of house team put in to make your visit extra special & we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We called after a day out on the North Yorkshire Moors, had eaten here a long time ago so wasnt sure what to expect, The staff were very friendly and professional, the food. Now at 6ft 2 , I like a good meal. The Brisket was 1st class which we both ordered, one piece would have done us both not one each, along with the vegatables it was cooked to perfection. When we are back in Scarborough next we will definately be dining out at the Copper Horse again....We should have known it was going to be good as the place was nealy full with diners on a Sunday evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaddleworthGricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for such a glowing review of our restaurant, its always such a boost for the team to know that all their hard work is paying off, and our guests are enjoying their meals. Hopefully you can squeeze a dessert in on your return........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Great environment, good food and attentative staff. Will be back for the scallop starter!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Archirep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

We would like to thank you for such a positive review of our restaurant, I am glad you enjoyed our Sunday Lunch offering, and keep your eyes out on our website for our specials to see when we will next have Scallops on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Horse also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Scalby, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Copper Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing