We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try especially for Sunday lunch”
Review of The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Copper Horse is proud of its reputation of being one of the best places to eat. Our creative Evening menu features a variety of Traditional and Modern English Classic dishes together with Seasonal Daily Specials, and we offer Lite Bites for Lunch, Children's and Gluten Free menus, all packed with local and regional produce that showcases the best of Yorkshire food. Traditional Sunday Lunch with a choice of Roasted Meats with all the trimmings are served every week.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth a try especially for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Great environment, good food and attentative staff. Will be back for the scallop starter!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archirep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We would like to thank you for such a positive review of our restaurant, I am glad you enjoyed our Sunday Lunch offering, and keep your eyes out on our website for our specials to see when we will next have Scallops on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    155
    85
    55
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We loved the food but it was a shame my vegetable kebab was raw. it is very expensive so it is a one off treat which is a shame

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, i am glad you had a positive experiance with us but i am very sorry to hear one your dishes was not upto our high standard!! I hope this does not put you off dinning with us again in the future when we will try our best to make sure you leave completely content with your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“star quality”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

On a short stay in Scarborough we decided to viist this Restaurant in Seamer. We are glad we did. The food was of *STAR QUALITY* near to perfection. The Smoked salmon starter was different in a good way. we both had steak , this was cooked as requested with beautiful chunky chips. We weren,t going to have a pud but couldn't resist the individual lemon cheesecake, one of my favourites, it didn't disappoint. All the staff were very friendly & attentive & the pub was clean& olde worldwith plenty of theatre stars decorating the walls & toilets. Nearly forgot the chunk of brown bread a lovely touch especially when warm with 2 different butters. All in all an excellent choice,especially considering the weather rained for 48 hrs.We shall definitely be visiting again & recommending to our friends who visit Scarborough.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such fantastic comments on here, i am glad you enjoyed all the food you had, the warm bread and butter is a personal favourite of mine, even if its just as a snack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have eaten at the Copper Horse many times - the food and service have always been "spot on" a little more expensive than the norm but well worth every penny. The duck is amazing, but only order it if you are very hungry. Thanks for some wonderful food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback, it is always a great moral booster to all the staff to hear such great comments!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“COMPANY FUNCTION”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My colleague and I arranged a retirement party for one of our colleagues who was retiring.. It was a lunchtime and the Copper Horse closed especially for our party, arranged decorations, flowers and a wonderful buffet at an extraordinary reasonable price. All agreed the atmosphere was great, the food was delicious, and despite the high number of guests all the staff coped efficiently and were very helpful and courteous. I can recommend the Copper Horse wholeheartedly as Julie and her team are always prepared to go 'that extra mile' to make the occasion a success

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQHospitality, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
I would like to thank you for posting such a great response for our restaurant!! I am glad that you and your work collegues had such an enjoyable day, it is always a pleasure to look after all your work functions and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Horse also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Copper Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing