We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choice resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakeview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaston's White River Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lakeview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you appreciate excellence you will love Gaston's. Excellent, clean accommodations, impeccable service, and delicious cuisine. We had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Gaston. It was obvious he has a passion for pleasing patrons. Go there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Greetings from Gaston's ... I am very pleased that you enjoy your visit to Gaston's and the White River. Looking forward to seeing you again :-)

May the upcoming holiday bring only pleasure for both of us and our loved ones.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 221 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

LOVE THE DECOR.One of the best Sunday Brunch's.
Love the setting right on the beautiful White River. Jim Gaston is top notch. I requested a reciepe after one visit and he sent it to me. Love all the photographs he takes.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sheri65704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

"Jim Gaston is top notch" <blushing> and thank you !!! Nice to learn you enjoyed Gaston's and my photos :-) Best Thanksgiving wish to you and your loved ones.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The overall experience was great!! The staff was great, the food was great, and the view and atmosphere was amazing. I can't wait to return next year.
Thank you Gaston's for a wonderful getaway
LaDonna J

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaDonnaJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

LaDonna - WHAT a great group of folks, my kind of folks ... Pleased that you and the others had a great time ... All of here at Gaston's also had a great time. Make a LOT of new friends, really for next year now :-)

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Worst wait staff in Arkansas. The food was not what we ordered, and the waiter argued with us rather than make it right. When we asked to "see the manager," we were told that "you can go into the bar and talk with him--he will not come to your table."

Arkansas offers too many nice places to waste your time and money here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Needless to say I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Gaston's ... I am surprised since one of highest comments is in ref' to our staff. The reason that our manager could not come out to your table. Is that he was covering for the one of the bar staff that was having major surgery.

May the upcoming holiday be one of pleasure for you and you loved ones.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I took my wife and two children to visit Gastons's once again this year in July. We live in California and we have been visiting Gaston's every couple of years since 1992. Gaston's is definitely a destination all on its own.

My wife and I are both busy professionals and we live in the San Francisco Bay Area. Needless to say, we are busy all the time and often overwhelmed with the Bay Area's non-stop, fast paced, urban environment. Sometimes you just need to get away.

When things get crazy, we get to Gaston's to decompress. Gaston's has got to be in one of the most serene, beautiful, majestic, and peaceful places in the world.

I love the way the White River quietly flows by with a powerful stream of ice cold water down the green banks behind the cottages. In fact, when it is hot outside, the river becomes an air conditioner as fog collects on top of the water. If you walk down to the water's edge, you get a nice cold, continuous breeze that is very comforting.

Also at the river's edge, you can smell nature. Yes, you can smell the river. It is a mix of fish waiting to be caught, the foggy mist, all of the greenery next to the water, the breeze through the trees, and the fauna around the resort.

Jim and Jill Gaston have grown the resort and have added many wonderful features over the years. However, one thing has never changed: They always make everyone feel like family. From the warm, smiling faces in the office to the dog sleeping on the floor behind the front desk, you always feel very welcome there.

The cottages are very nice and very clean, and they always have been. The Gastons make sure everything is always just right so that you can create memories with your family. And year after year, you can always count on recreating those memories.

The staff at Gaston's always go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. We especially enjoyed shopping in the gift shop and speaking with Clint. We bought some tackle from Clint based on his recommendation. We also enjoyed talking to Jill about the Arkansas wines they proudly sell in the office.

If fishing is your thing, Gaston's is where you need to be. Fishing on the White River is a unique and challenging way to fish. There are so many variables that can come into play on the river, from the time of day, level of the river, # of generators running, time of year, temperature, and location on the river to name a few. On top of all that, Trout is delicious!

I could go on and on about Gaston's. It is a wonderful place, and I love it there. If you want to get close to nature or just relax, go to Gaston's, walk on the trails, fish, enjoy the surrounding area, eat in the restaurant, and visit the gift shop.

If you just want to appreciate God's handiwork, you will not be disappointed with your stay......

Lee Horton

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Elroy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Yes !!! I am sure there is a big change from California to the Ozaks :-) ... It is always a joy to visit other area of our great county. Nice to know that you and your family enjoyed Gaston's and Arkansas.

We enjoy EXCELLENT fall color this year.

May the upcoming holiday bring on peace and joy to you, your and family and loved ones.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Gastons provides a rare glimpse of the white river and the first class trout fishing it offers. The lodging is rustic but modern and very clean. A world class restaurant provides excellent food and service. Maybe best coffee in the Midwest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob141_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

What a VERY nice review ... Pleased that you enjoyed Gaston's White River Resort and the White River. Enjoying a cup of "that great coffee" right now :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

From our turn off at Gaston's White River Resort~We had the trip of a life time~We got in late, and to our surprise the restaurant was still open, with sweet greetings~Our day of trout fishing and shore lunch was definately something everyone needs on their "bucket list" Great guides, best shore lunch with our catch and then on to relaxing on the deck of our cabin, soaking in the serene and calm of the evening~Hanging out in the gift shop and talking to everyone like we were long lost cousins was the best, not to mention the great breakfast, and walking around the property, and watching the wild life was over the top~The only saddness was that we had to leave, with lots of agreements that we were coming back for a longer visit!! If you have never fished, not to worry~You will feel like an old trout fisherman in no time!! Lots of sweet memories and can't wait to come back!! Nancy Holland

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHolland52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Pleased that Gaston's White River Resort is a part of your memories ... We always are happy when we are a part of good memories ... money and time spend on memories is not a waste at all. That is all we really have in life.

Shore lunch? Yes, I must agree such is always a special joy in life.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeview
9.6 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
62 reviews
11.4 mi away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
341 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
453 reviews
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
133 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaston's White River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaston's White River Resort

Address: 1777 River Rd, Lakeview, AR 72642-9039
Location: United States > Arkansas > Lakeview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lakeview
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Gaston`s White River Hotel Lakeview
Gastons White River Hotel
Gastons White River Resort Lakeview
Gaston's White River Resort Arkansas/Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing