We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor guided float trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakeview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaston's White River Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lakeview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Arrived at Gaston office at the appointed time. Assigned guide was still home in bed. Guide arrived, clad only in shorts and shoes, and escorted us to boat which was littered with debris, i.e., bait, snack trash, bits of line, sinkers, etc..Guide spent considerable time telling us what a fine fellow he was and how many customers returned and requested his services. Paid for full day with lunch. Guide returned us to Gaston's around noon and said he would meet us at l p.m. Water was high and turbulent in PM; ergo, we fished only an hour or so without success. On the whole, a disappointing experience. Have fished with independent guides who were smartly clad, immaculately clean boats, professional conduct and made the trip enjoyable. Gaston's does provide a nice view from the outdoor dining area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your trip to the White River and Gaston's. I am also sorry that you did not reply to my request for more detailed information so that I could have taken care of the problem.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to Gastons for years and it keeps getting better and better. Flying in on the grass strip was one thing I can check off my bucket list, very exciting.
This trip we rode up and had dinner and it was great as always. The view is second to none and the service was excellent.
Even got to visit with Jim in the gift shop before we left. Great guy! Great place, thanks Jim!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xmikex98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you ... we work hard each day to make Gaston's better ... Today we ordered 50+ new flat screen TV's ... Living in a rural area we have never be pleased with our internet ... now we have went for 1.5mbps to 6.5mbps :-).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not a more beautiful spot on the river, and the fishing is the best in the world! The lodging is great, the food is outstanding, and the staff really know how to take care of you. I can't wait to get back, it really doesn't cost any more to go First Class!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArkansasDude2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for the very kind comments ... Looking forward to seeing y'all again !!!!

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are a fisherman Gaston's is the place you want to vacation. The trout fishing is superb. The cabin was comfortable, roomy and clean. There was a beautiful view of the river. The restaurant is unique and the food is very good. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend Gaston's as a great place to relax and make some memories.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks !!! It is always great news when we learn that folks enjoy the White River and Gaston's.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Amazing dinner with my wife and little girl at Gaston's Restaurant. The service was great and the view topped it all off. We look to make a return trip this fall and stay at the resort. Hope the stay is just as good as the food.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kwolff04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Pleased that y'all enjoyed your visits to Gaston's ... Looks like we are going enjoy excellent fall color this year :-)

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were married at Gaston's, in their Gazebo, and it was incredible. EVERYONE went out of their way to ensure that it was memorable. It was short notice for the staff at Gaston's, (I did not know they have an event co-ordinator), and the help and suggestions made by Cheri Krug (the event co-ordinator) were invaluable. We caught fish in the morning for our evening meal, and our server, Daniel, ensured that everyone was happy, glasses filled,cake sliced, plates full, he is an asset to Gaston's! The chef did an outstanding job prepareing fish we caught that morning, and everything was wonderful. I had a great time at my wedding because they took the burden completly off me, I was allowed to sit and enjoy and just visit and laugh and talk.
If you ever get the opportunity to visit this resort, do so. Don't walk, run to the car and be prepared to have a great time. You will enjoy the fishing, the scenery, and the people. It is quite beautiful and they have trails to walk, a pool, and that great trout fishing thing going on.
There is something for everyone at Gaston's! We will definitly return, and we both recommend Gaston's to everyone.
Mark and Pattie Weber

Room Tip: Gaston's is a 5 star fishing resort and deservidly so, beautiful scenery and a river full of tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Good day ... thank you for your VERY kind comments and for being a supporter of Gaston's ... :-) :-) :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Everyone who knows me has heard me speak of my love for Gastons Resort. It is a love affair that began when I was a eleven year old boy on vacation with my family. Now some 46 years and many visits later,later that love is still there and maybe greater than ever. There is no finer place on this earth to relax and/or enjoy nature at it's finest. It is a photographer's dream destination. And, if like me, your passion is catching large brown trout or acrobatic rainbows, there is no better place than the incomparable White River of Arkansas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks !!!!!!!!!! What a true friend to me and Gaston's !!!! Looking FORWARD to your next visit.
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeview
9.4 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
63 reviews
14.3 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
460 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
1.1 mi away
Twin Lakes Inn and Resort
Twin Lakes Inn and Resort
#5 of 5 in Lakeview
8 reviews
17.4 mi away
Norfork Lake Ozark Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaston's White River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaston's White River Resort

Address: 1777 River Rd, Lakeview, AR 72642-9039
Location: United States > Arkansas > Lakeview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lakeview
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Gaston`s White River Hotel Lakeview
Gastons White River Hotel
Gastons White River Resort Lakeview
Gaston's White River Resort Arkansas/Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing