We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing experience at Gaston's”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakeview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaston's White River Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lakeview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love staying at Gaston's when we go trout fishing on the White River. It has an excellent boat launch and the staff at the front desk give helpful fishing tips. We enjoy having the convenient location of the cabins along the river for a midday break when fishing. The restaurant's breakfast is delicious - the french toast is tops! If you get the opportunity to meet Jim Gaston, he is a true southern gentleman!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Melanie - Thank you, enjoyed our visit ... love your photos ... keep making memories with your camera :-)

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our 20th year to visit Gaston's. It has become a tradition that my family and I look forward to the trip each year. The staff is always courteous and prompt to fix anything we might need. Whether your fish or not, you can't beat the relaxing view from the cabins watching the White River flow by. But I must say the fishing has always been good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Bonnie - 20 years and counting :-) ... Always enjoy our visits :-) :-) :-)

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Gaston's White River Resort is the most relaxing and enjoyable getaway I have found anywhere across the nation. The cabins are comfy and ideally furnished. The river from the bay windows provides a constant backdrop of serenity.

The fishing is amazing as are the guides and their one-of-a-kind shore lunches. And there's no other river view restaurant anywhere with such ambiance and wonderful meals. Even the gift shop is incredibly well stocked and interesting. I can spend an hour just browsing within it's walls.

Finally, the office staff headed by Ron Branaman is well trained and some of the friendliest most overly-accommodating folks you ever will meet. There's even a game room and a nice swimming pool.

I can guarantee you if you spend a weekend here, you will be back within the year. It's that kind of rare peace and comfort to the spirit in this tumultuous world.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe cottage with 2 bedrooms and baths. The stone fireplaces are a wonderful addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Mike - Thank you !!! You have been guest for a number of years, your kind comment and support of Gaston's and the White River means a LOT to us.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was Introduced to Gaston's in the 1980s by my Aunt, during a phone conversation RE: Thanksgiving plans I asked, what would she be doing? Her reply was she would be going to a buffet at Gaston's having never been there myself I said "WHAT" ! Then I visited The resort Have been sold ever since! My wife and I go there every chance we get and have enjoyed the Thanksgiving buffet more than once. The service at the resort offers compares second to none! From dinning to lodging, Fishing to hiking on the nature trail you will find nothing better!
The Staff at Gaston's Makes sure you feel right at home! You truly have not experienced the Ozarks if you have not at least visited Gaston's White river Resort!
Larry & Angela Sigala
Owners of Wild wood photography
Oklahoma City.

Room Tip: For my wife and I, The standard cottage is good! However you needs all cottages will be met! easy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Larry & Angela - Thank you for your VERY kind comments :-) By the way I love your photography !!! Looking forward to seeing y'all again ... Once again thank you.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

From check-in to check-out not a single complaint about Gaston's Resort. A caring staff took great care of everything needed, from an excellent clean quiet room to awesome meals at the restaurant to fantastic guide service. Oh, did I mention.....terrific trout fishing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishing_ronwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Wow !!! THANK YOU for your kind comments ... looking forward to seeing y'all during your next visit to the White River and Gaston's.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate at Gastons for their Easter brunch. The food was awful and the service even worse. The only thing thus place going for it is the decor and view. Have had dinner there a couple of times with equal results. WAY overpriced for the lack of quality. Stick with lunch and forget about their dinner menue

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyrone111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Sorry that you did not enjoy Gaston's ... I wish we had known you views at time so we could correct what you did not enjoy.

"Jim" Gaston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Gaston's is a great experience for a family, especially if you enjoy fishing, nature and beautiful scenery. Fishing-Having a guide will enable each of you to reach your limit-renting a boat on your own will not! We have flown into their grass airstrip and also driven in from the Illinois side. Driving out the south side is scenic, but long hilly and curving roads. Incredibly beautiful country, but a long drive to Houston!
The restaurant is very large and the food is quite good. If you drop off your catch, the restaurant will prepare your fish and sides for your next meal. Fish cleaning available to take the rest home in ice!
Bee sure to stop at the pens near the entrance to see all the birds. Deer usually seen on the drive in and out.
Do not overstay your checkout time or you will be charged for an extra night! Pets are welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennisChickNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

That you for taking the time and effort to write a review ... such means a great deal to us.

During you next visit to Gaston's if you need a late check out please ask most of the time we can do such.

Pets always welcome and there is no extra charge at Gaston's :-)

"Jim Gaston"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaston's White River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaston's White River Resort

Address: 1777 River Rd, Lakeview, AR 72642-9039
Location: United States > Arkansas > Lakeview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lakeview
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Gaston`s White River Hotel Lakeview
Gastons White River Resort Lakeview
Gastons White River Hotel
Gaston's White River Resort Arkansas/Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing