We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect no question!!”
Review of A Beach Symphony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Beach Symphony
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is one of the best we have ever stayed in. Violin cottage is wonderful with a large pool to yourself and a huge room. Clean, comfortable, quiet air conditioning, own terrace, flowers everywhere, we could go on and on. The food is incredible, wine reasonable, service professional and friendly. The biriani as recommended previously is the best biriani we have ever had. Crystal came to see us every day and helped us sort out a problem with our flight home. Thank you it worked out very well in the end.

There was a festival at the local temple and the tuk tuk from A Beach Symphony took us there each evening and the driver waited for us to come back. Only cost a few rupees. The festival was out of this world with 5 elephants in golden headress. We were made to feel very welcome by everyone there, such a lovely community.

Regarding the beach!! Its a working beach, not a private one. The fishermen live there in very poor conditions but cause no problem for tourists. You are not hassled for money or anything like that. There are dogs, goats etc etc living in the nearby homes and A Beach Symphony has no control over which animals or people use the beach, and nor should they. We are tourists and should accept the local life there and not always expect the sanitised beaches you get elsewhere in the world, which often have no atmosphere. As they say "It's India"!!

That's just our opinion anyway, we got some great photographs on the beach.

We stayed 3 nights but could honestly have stayed a week it was so relaxing, beautiful and friendly. Would love to go back one day, Thanks Crystal Jan and all the staff.

Room Tip: Violin cottage as you have your own pool.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for A Beach Symphony
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights at a beach symphony in 2011, it was a really restful few days! The resort is made up of about four villas dotted around a charming little resort a stone's throw from the beach. There is no reception or restaurant, all your meals are served on your own private terrace, the staff seem to magically appear whenever you are ready for something to eat or drink! The rooms are really charming, with the bathroom outside! The food is really great and sourced locally every morning, the chef will discuss options with you in the morning and prepares a feast for you in the evening! Such a peaceful part of
our trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vezzasreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just returned to the UK following a 4 week tour of India followed by 5 nights at the Beach Symphony. We chose the BS after seeing the Alistair Sawday recommendation and we were not disappointed (Audley Travel and Cox and Kings also send their clients here).The resort itself is a haven. Some reviews have criticised elements of housekeeping and meal service. We had some minor issues here but put it down to the informality that they are trying to create. The Violin Room was very special indeed.
Our main problem was the condition of the beach. The many fishing communities along the beach have all adopted stray dogs and each morning the beach has a significant amount of dog's mess on it. As the sea gets higher in the mid morning the mess is washed into the sea ony to be washed up in smaller particles throughout the higher water of the afternoon. The same cycle occurred each day. I cannot understand why other reviewers have not mentioned this. We prefer sea to pool so this was a real turn-off for us. We also found two dead rats on the beach during our stay, one partially eaten. The beaches of Sri Lanka are much much cleaner.

Room Tip: The Violin Room appeared to be the best but had no view of the ocean. I would avoid the room that ad...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithAylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A paradise, that's what A Beach Symphony is! In fact this is a little gem I want to keep for myself, but it's too beautifull not to share it.

The 4 bungalows, each one with a veranda, are situated in a palm tree garden right on Marari beach. Every one different decorated with great taste and all the comfort you need, even an espresso machine.
My room had an outdoor shower, a huge comfortable bed, beautifull decorated and was faultlessly clean.
What a rest and peace after the hectic Indian citys.

Meals, served on the veranda whenever you want, are delicious. During my trip in India I never ate better than here. I had some "home cooked" lunches and dinners you never find on the menu of a restaurant. A very refind and tastefull Indian cuisine prepared by Binu, the cook.
Breakfast a la carte with great coffee, fresh juice, pancakes, bread, fruit and...what ever you want.

Staff was very friendly, attentive and discreet.

I had 3 times an Ayurvedic massage. It really was a delight and above very professional

My stay at A Beach Symphony was the perfect ending of my journey in India and I definitely go back. Thank you Christel and Jan for taking good care of me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdapelirrojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Firstly, ABS is a treat in itself, the cottages are so well designed and kept, its like living in a dream house. Add to that the pristine beach just beyond, fringed by low coconut trees. For us, with our beach-loving 4 year old, it was the perfect destination! He still talks about how the 'beach we went to by aeroplane' was sooo nice!
Marari is a charming little town, with some interesting sights. Try to make it for the 8 am morning ceremony in the ancient Marari temple. And the 6 am fish landing, which we unfortunately couldn't catch. And a meal at Hotel Aravind (run by a group of women) on the way to the temple, will give you an authentic taste of local food. Loved their fish curry.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are unique, beautifully designed and well kept. Our Nagaswaram cottage had a view...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pragati_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I spent three blissful nights relaxing here and everything was just perfect. The cottage was beautiful (loved the outdoor bathrooms), the pool was like a warm bath and the food was out of this world - especially as we were told it had been cooked by a 16-year-old trainee chef! We spent most of our time relaxing on the cottage veranda but did venture down to the beach every day for sunset and to buy fresh coconuts... having the chef come round to discuss your food requirements each morning was a nice touch and after 10 days of curry, we appreciated the Western-style lunches and delicate Keralan cuisine. We stayed here as part of the Beach and Plantation package but didn't want to leave... A word of warning about the Ayurvedic massages though - don't take any inhibitions with you as you'll have to get completely naked!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brogmalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We joined friends who had taken all four cottages at Beach Symphony to celebrate a friends milestone birthday. After a long dusty drive form the airport it was lovely to get here and away from the bustle and noise of the city. Beachfront location, well designed and furnished cottages ad a secluded pool tucked away to a side. Hammocks scattered throughout the front added to the need to do nothing else but laze. Excellent food [local breakfasts if desired, and fresh fish and curried vegetables, for lunch or dinner. or sandwiches or pasta- which were very all delicious] and friendly obliging service.
It was a very relaxing and extremely comfortable and very enjoyable 3 day stay.
The ayurvedic massage was an added bonus

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
0.2 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
856 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marari Villas
Marari Villas
#1 of 27 in Mararikulam
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Marari Austin Beach Villa
#6 of 34 in Mararikulam
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach Symphony

Address: West of Mararikulam Beach Junction, Mararikulam 688549, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range: $118 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from work to paradise! Where dreams come true for those looking for a perfect relaxing holiday.Only 4 separate cottages set in a coconut tree beach garden. Hammocks around the property, completely furnished super spacious verandab with relaxing and dining set, all the meals served on your veranda & All cottages have AC (even the extra room in Khombu has a separate one). A common swimming pool (15 x 5 meter) with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. We really look after you to guarantee a perfect stay because holidays are precious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Beach Symphony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Beach Symphony Hotel Alappuzha
A Beach Symphony Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing