We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Beach Symphony
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A Beach Symphony is exactly as it looks on the website. We stayed in the cottage with an extra bedroom. It was just beautiful, and the verandah offered the most wonderful place to relax. The outlook of trees and palms was in keeping with a tropical paradise. The beach is picturesque though not great for swimming but we saw fishermen working and lots of locals enjoying the sunset. The food was delicious; we especially enjoyed the Keralan breakfasts. I'm still dreaming of the appam with coconut milk and sugar... We also went on a backwaters day trip which included lunch with a local family. This is certainly worth doing.
There weren't really any negatives - perhaps the transfer was a little expensive and our driver was a little fast and scary. Overall though, absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in ABS for 8 nights in September. The staff were excellent and made our stay very comfortable. The cleaning ladies took great care of our room and Dominique and Richard (the waiters) were always helpful. We appreciated how much effort was extended to create the garden on the beach with some beautiful plants and flowers. The pool was great too, clean and well designed. The trip to the backwater is highly recommended.
However, I would like to point out some issues. Firstly, the food, although reasonably tasty, was repetitive: 3 veg and chicken/fish preparation every day. For those staying for longer than 2-3 days this meal plan is not appropriate. The chef cooked us a biriyani one night on our request and because the resort was not busy and this was excellent. It is obvious that the chef has untapped talent but is working to a tight “script/budget”. The limited meals range as part of the “longer stay package” needs to be explained on the website. Bear in mind that starters are not included in the “dinner” and on 5 out of 8 days the only option for dessert was a single scoop of ice-cream. The promise to discuss your dinner preferences does not necessarily mean that they can or will accommodate your choice – this seems to depend on how many cottages are occupied.
Secondly, the beach outside of ABS was not swimmable whilst we were there because of strong waves and currents. On rare occasions when the sea was calmer the water was still murky grey and currents off putting. If you are looking for Sri-Lankan/Thai/Malaysian type beach you will be disappointed.
Thirdly, unless you are prepared to pay top whack for local transport services managed by ABS (nearly double the going rate ) you may wish to arrange your own transport for both transfers from Cochin and local travel. No objection to a commission but not at this level. (There are plenty of tuk tuks at the end of the road, 100 m, at ABS and Cochin’s taxis are very reasonably priced.)
Because the place has no mosquito net, it was difficult to get a good night sleep unless you keep windows closed and AC on – not everybody’s choice. It was a constant struggle to outwit mosquitoes!
Regular power cuts seem to have done damage to our equipment chargers (laptop and mobile phone). It is a bit of a coincidence that both should pack up at the same time for the first time. Following power cuts however the internal power supply kicked in fairly quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelika3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed there for a day during third week of this month. I must say that this a wonderful place if you are looking for relaxed beach holiday.

We stayed in the Nagaswarma cottage, which is quite good for a family. This cottage has separate wash and shower area, with one side open. Kids really enjoyed the concept of open bathroom with a view of Sky. We never felt about any privacy issue for the open bath rooms as it was completely enclosed with a high wall.

Food was good and served to us at our cottage. This is not a regular resort with a attached restaurant, so the resort people will discuss with you about your dinner /breakfast etc. in advance and serve you at your cottage.

Beach access is very good and garden area in front of the cottages is huge. You can just hang around on the hammock for whole day with a book.

The Pool was excellent with nice surroundings.

I must add the following also:

1. The idea of this resort is to relax and to be on your own. So concept of 24 x 7 room service is not there. Resort staffs are available and will assist you when you call them (no phone).

2. They do not allow the drivers to stay inside the cottage for security reason, so if you have car with a driver please plan accordingly. Resort people will help in this regard. Only the Car can be parked inside.


If you are looking for a nice, relaxed beach holiday, this property will definitely fulfill these.

Room Tip: Khombu and Nagaswaram cottage is in the front side (beach side) of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VVS_Ramaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Imagine your perfect beach holiday, what do you see?

A quaint and quiet beach, a cottage as close to the water as possible, places to sunbathe, places in the shade, a pool to cool off, a comfy daybed, cool drinks and superb food. If this is what you where seeing, a beach symphony is the place to go. A true ode to the beach, making beach life as comfortable as humanely possible.

The cottages are typical Keralan from the outside while the interior design is contemporary modern. The large terrace is absolutely brilliant. I loved the little details of the place that make life easy, like the tray on your terrace to keep your food hot. The coffee maker was my personal highlight, loved it!!!

They only have four cottages (good thing), but it also means you have to book early to claim your spot as they seem to be full often. Don't miss out! I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victor_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent six nights at a Beach Symphony. Khombu cottage was wonderful - huge, clean, lovely furnishings, massive bathroom(partly outdoors) and the most wonderful terrace with beautiful loungers. The food, served on our private terrace, was fantastic. We had Keralan breakfasts most days - always something different. Evening meals were so good too - a meat or fish dish with three different kinds of vegetables, some spicy, some not, plus rice and chappatis. Dominic, our waiter, was so polite and helpful - nothing too much trouble. We learned a lot about Kerala from him. The chef came to see us each day to discuss the evening meal and the level of spice required - how is that for service. We watched the fishermen bring in the catch most days, very early in the morning, then the auction right bt A Beach Symphony. The beach goes on for miles and is fringed by palms. We walked along it every day and hardly saw a soul. Yes, the fisherman do their "ablutions" on the sand but if you have no toilet where else can you go. There is also litter but that seems to be an Indian problem in general. Not much litter by ABS and we picked up any in the immediate vicinity. Be careful if you go on a short backwater trip. Our boat had a roof so it was impossible to look up to see the birds. Check with Jan or Binu about the boat if you are a bird watcher.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snipsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We happened to stay in Beach Symphony , a delightful boutique beach hotel on Marari beach on our holiday in Kerala. It is perfect choice for a relaxing stay and we enjoyed the pleasant experience and the superb services.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarmaKeralaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent a week at ABS after doing a private tour in Northern India for 2 weeks. We have stayed at several small & luxurious hotels in the world, but this one is on top of our list !

The property is directly located at the beach and has only 4 cottages. You can walk for miles on the beach without seeing anyone, except for a few local fishermen.

We stayed in the Nagaswaram cottage, located directly at the beach. We arranged the booking directly with Jan, the owner, which went very smoothly. The cottage is beautifully decorated, comfortable & clean, and has a huge private veranda with 2 comfortable loungers. Wifi is available and free of charge, which is definitely a plus.

We went for a daily swim in the granite pool, which was large & again very well maintained. My wife had a few treatments in the small spa, which she enjoyed greatly.

We loved all breakfasts, lunches & dinners on our own private veranda, looking out over the beach & the sea. Binu, the fabulous cook, came by each morning to discuss what you wanted to eat for lunch/dinner. Everything is bought freshly from the local markets, and turned into delicious meals by Binu (best gambas ever!). It was some of the best food we had in India.

If you are looking for a beautiful and quiet place, this is definitely where you should stay. If it gets too quiet for you, no worries, you can go for a biking tour, visit the town with the tuk tuk driver or spent an afternoon on the Kerala backwaters. Deepu or Jan will arrange this for you. Jan - thanks for the bike trip together and showing us the local town!

The lovely staff (Deepu, Dominique & Richard) were very kind, professional, always available but never too intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble (eg they arranged a birthday cake for my wife). Another nice touch is that they bring fresh water regularly. Together with Jan & his wife they create a perfect setting to relax and fully enjoy your stay.

Thank you all for the great week ! We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mararikulam hotels
0.2 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 6 in Mararikulam
320 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
0.4 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Mararikulam
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marari Villas
Marari Villas
#1 of 28 in Mararikulam
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Marari Austin Beach Villa
#7 of 35 in Mararikulam
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayas Beach House
Mayas Beach House
#3 of 28 in Mararikulam
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach Symphony

Address: West of Mararikulam Beach Junction, Mararikulam 688549, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range: $196 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from work to paradise! Where dreams come true for those looking for a perfect relaxing holiday.Only 4 separate cottages set in a coconut tree beach garden. Hammocks around the property, completely furnished super spacious verandab with relaxing and dining set, all the meals served on your veranda & All cottages have AC (even the extra room in Khombu has a separate one). A common swimming pool (15 x 5 meter) with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. We really look after you to guarantee a perfect stay because holidays are precious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A Beach Symphony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Beach Symphony Hotel Alappuzha
A Beach Symphony Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing