We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Nearby Hotels
Achayans Homestay(Mararikulam)(Great Value!)
$21
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xandari Pearl(Mararikulam)
$220
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Plage Marari(Mararikulam)
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marari Beach Resort(Mararikulam)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$132
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$278
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$85
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arakal Heritage(Alappuzha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
80
19
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
19
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifedownstairs roomwithout acfantastic locationtop floorneat and clean roomsindian standardssmall shoplovely homestayhost familysea viewnon achot waterper daylovely hostsgreat place to stayceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 104 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and we had a wonderful, relaxing time. The beach villas are at the back of the beach - you couldn't get any closer to the sea. It is a perfect place for an early morning swim and then a lovely breakfast - the breakfast (and all meals) are prepared by Jasim, Austin's wife, and she is a very, very good cook. We never ate the same thing twice while we were there.

The rooms are fairly simple with nice bed and mosquito nets - also a nice shower with hot water.

A really good place to relax and watch the world go by. Austin and Jasmin are very helpful and give good advice about where to go. Austin also arranged a driver for us to go to Kochi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadictravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Marari Beach is a beautiful, undeveloped stretch of quiet sands and crashing surf. Austin's place seems to be the best mid-range option around there.

The villa is ideally situated, just a stone's throw from sea and a 30 second walk through a palm grove to the beach itself.

It's size (5 rooms max) make it feel a million miles away from the rest of the world. Our room on the first floor, along with all the rooms for that matter l, had a balcony/terrace area looking out towards the sea (great for sunsets). Rooms were clean and simple, though being so close to the beach, sand seemed to follow us around constantly.

Breakfast and dinner were served as traditional Indian fare, with just a veg or non-veg option. It was lovely to try new dishes, though after a few days of Indian breakfasts we were starting to crave something more simple such as porridge or toast.

The beach was almost deserted, except for the odd holiday maker and the various fishing communities along the coast. After our first early morning run, we realised that the local fisherman, rather than simply admiring the view, were actually answering natures call on the beach, which was kind of off putting, though accept this has probably been going on here for thousands of years previously.

Overall our stay was a marvellous escape from the modern world and our hosts hospitality was top class!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesFenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great little place on a spectacular beach and makes a nice change from the hustle and bustle of the rest of Kerala. Austin and his staff are unbelievably friendly with great smiles and really went out of their way to welcome all guests. Food was also really nice and clean and the room was basic but probably the cleanest place we stayed in Kerala and we finally got a good nights sleep! We walked down the beach to the other Marari Villas place that is a lot more expensive and it didn't look quite as fun although it isn't a homestay so probably not designed to be as personal. Grab a couple of plastic chairs and an icey Kingfisher and walk 30 seconds from your room to the beach for sunset!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

just spent a few days at Austin beach villa and really did not want to leave.The friendly and very accommodating Austin and his family are a hard act to beat.Excellent food, and clean and spacious rooms plus abundant birdlife.clean beach,with dolphins,make this a very relaxing place for a break.

Room Tip: View from the balcony rooms is best and there is always a cool breeze.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Africanjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our stay at Austin's home was grate. Nice place near the beach ( only 50 m to the see shore ) . Fantastic family atmosphere and really excellent dinners prepared by Jasmin ( Austin's wife ).
We will back there next year for sure :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcinR1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews