We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best homestay in paradise:)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Ranked #6 of 34 Mararikulam B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Austin's homestay is one of the best place in Marari Beach area. The villa is situated in the beach, so you can enjoy a sea view at every moment. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The breeze from the sea helps to bear the heat. The beach is quite clean and empty. People in the village are very nice and friendly. Jasmin prepares the best food in Kerala! Dinners are varied and tasty. Austin and Jasmin are extremely nice persons who make you feel like at home. I think that their homestay is the best one for holidays in Kerala!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malgorzata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Marari Austin Beach Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 95 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our stay at Austin's were really good. The service and location were perfect and I warmly recommend this homestay. Our plan was to stay three days which ended up in seven...
We had dinner every evening at Austin's since its hard to find reasturants at Marari beach but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

With our 4 kids we stayed 4 days at Austin beach villa. We had 2 nice clean rooms in the 1st floor with beach view and a balcony. Moskitos were not a problem. We enjoyed the hospitality and kindness of Austin, his wife Jasmin and brother Soni. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Soni took us to great backwater trips. The beach was beautiful and clean, the kids stayed in the water for hours. The people from the fishermen village were also very friendly and it was interesting watching them doing their work. Our stay at Austins was the highlight of our India trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Austin's simple but lovely home stay from the 28th December to the 3rd January. We arrived on the morning of the 28th and immediately made our way to the beach (150m from our room). We passed fishermen who'd just brought in their morning's haul. Fascinated my 3 year old. We arrived on the beach, took a quick dip and saw dolphins swimming not far from us. That made our day.
The beach is beautiful, clean and deserted much of the time. It's one of those few beaches in India where you can swim. Be prepared to see some local wildlife - crabs, gulls and sometimes dolphins and turtles.
The rooms are very simple but fine. Hot water is solar powered. This is a home stay not a luxury resort. As long as you keep that in mind, it's fine.
Austin and his wife Jasmine are lovely people who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They also have 2 young children our children enjoyed playing with. Jasmine makes the food. Simple home fare as far as vegetarian food is concerned. Meat and fish eaters are sure to find some delicious local fare.
Austin also organizes local visits to temples and tourist places around Marari. He arranged for us to have a houseboat tour in Alappey and we got a very good deal.
On the whole, we had a great time and would like to go back as soon as the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: If you have children, it might be a good idea to stay on the ground floor as the railings on the fir...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mints_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for a couple nights at Austin's. Location cannot be beat (right on the beach) in a tranquil place off the tourist path. Austin and his family take great pride in taking care of guests (nice touches like free bottled water) and I truly hope to get to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived to Marari at 5am. Austine saved us from an expensive stay at one of the resorts. Our first plan was to stay for three nights, it turned out with ten. Since the beach doesn't offer plenty of food opportunitys Jasmin (Austines wife) cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner for us. Really good Keralan food. Austine is really friendly and helpful and I truly recommend anyone that goes to Mararikulam to stay at his home stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastianmalcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited this lovely homestay on Ocober 2011 planning to stay 3 days but stayed 9 days. Everything was so good, the environment, the room and the delicous food cooked by Jasmin, our second daughter. You cant imagine how marvellous the sunset is on Marari Beach. The fishermen and their wives are so friendly living around. Austin, the owner and our son settles all your problems , organizes trips around Allepey and thinks every detail for you. We felt as if we were at our home and we are planning to visit again and stay more in the coming years. We missed our daughter and son and granddaughter and son too. We are sure that you will feel as we do when you visit this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESMAIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
0.5 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marari Dreamz
Marari Dreamz
#1 of 34 in Mararikulam
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marari Beach Villas
Marari Beach Villas
#7 of 27 in Mararikulam
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marari Beach House
Marari Beach House
#7 of 34 in Mararikulam
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Austin Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Austin Beach Villa

Address: Beach Front | Mararikulam North P.O, Mararikulam, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mararikulam
Price Range: $22 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
very nice beach is awaiting your presence come on and enjoy. Fresh vegetable soup, and Vitamin rich foods are offered you as your breakfast Free internet facility over the entire property is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marari Austin Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Austin Beach Villa Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing