We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to basics, friendly homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Ranked #5 of 32 Mararikulam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back to basics, friendly homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived at Marari beach jan 2011 expecting it to be secluded, but for there to be some accommodation choices. When we got there we realised it is really quite remote and there are three choices: 1. Stay in a five star resort 2. Mid range bungalows 3. Austins home stay. We went for the latter because we had no choice due to availability of the bungalows and extortionate prices of the resorts. BUT we were absolutely delighted by how welcoming Austin (an english teacher) and his wife were. It is a small, basic block, split into two rooms with en suites, and a small veranda. There is also a roof where you can have a beer. At the time of visit Jan 2011, there were no shops, pharmacies, Internet cafes in the area or any individual restaurants. We ate all our food at another hostel about a ten minute walk up the road. Austins brother took us on some excellent tours. We would recommend this if you are looking for back to basics non touristy coastline and getting to know and supporting a family who are starting a new business.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent our last two nights in Kerala at Marari Austin Beach Villa and we were tempted to change our flight and stay longer! We just wanted to relax by the beach and this was the perfect place. The room was clean and comfortable (I appreciated the mosquito net on the bed) and the location was perfect for us. We ate all of our meals there, with Jasmine cooking some of the best food we had on our entire trip. The beach was beautiful and quiet and many times we were the only ones there. My husband enjoyed getting up early to watch the local fishermen come in with their daily catch. Austin and his family are gracious hosts and they went out of their way to ensure that we had a wonderful stay. Their motto is "Come as guests and depart as friends," and that says it all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GetMeToABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The days we spent at Austin's homestay were undoubtedly the highlight of our holiday - the destination is perfect (right on the beach edge), the people are wonderful and the food is sublime.

We stumbled across Marari after a recommendation from the owner of another homestay and were a little apprehensive about going somewhere completely random. The homestay itself is in a small beach-side village and is a fantastic secluded spot void of the hussle and bussle of other parts of India. Our days with Austin were spent wandering along the most wonderful beach, seeing what the fishermen had caught, playing cricket with the locals, exploring the local area, meeting some of the villagers, etc. In some sense this is the closest we came to seeing the "real" Kerala.

Austin and his family are the nicest people you'll ever meet and we were delighted to find that he speaks perfect english and works as a tour guide part of the time - so that he can advise you on whatever you'd like to do.

So, to summarize, visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

After being dissapointed with the place we were recomended we trailed up the road and saw the sign for Austins. We only intended staying 2 nights but loved it so much we stayed for 6! The owners are lovely people,run by 2 brothers and their wives,they couldnt do enough for us.They even thought it cool to thrash us at board games in the afternoon when baby Julia was sleeping. The room we had was at the main house set back from the beach ( 4/5 mins walk),lovely room,clean fresh sheets and towels,modern, nice tiled bathroom,fan(air conditioning was just being fitted) I personally thought it could do with a couple of shelves for clothing and maybe a couple of hangers.We ate each morning and evening at the beach house,lovely food cooked fresh by Jasmine. Every day she endeavoured to make us something different. If you want a really relaxing time this is the place to go.We were really sad to say goodbye but will without doubt be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylou26Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were given a recommendation for this place and turned up not knowing what to expect. We were greeted by Austin, the owner, who insisted on carrying our bags (both of them and they were BIG), in 35 degree heat across the sand! He took us to our room which was clean, extremely tidy and air conditioned.

We had a porch which looked out directly at the sea and was shaded by beautiful coconut trees. The homestay is located within Marari Village, which is fantastic as the people are all very very friendly and love to come and say hello. We also felt extremely safe here, not once worrying about anything.

Our stay was absolutely fantastic due to the surroundings and also Austin and his wife Jasmine. Their hospitality was second to none, speaking the best English we had come across. They provided us with stunning food every night and even taught their children (Anna-Maria and Brian) to sing happy birthday to me on my birthday. They also dressed the garden with balloons, decorations and even a birthday cake, needless to say I was gobsmacked!

This part of our trip will remain in my heart for a very long time to come. You will not be disappointed by a stay here. I can only hope that one day I have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraNic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
0.5 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marari Dreamz
Marari Dreamz
#1 of 32 in Mararikulam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marari Beach Villas
Marari Beach Villas
#7 of 24 in Mararikulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marari Beach House
Marari Beach House
#7 of 32 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Austin Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Austin Beach Villa

Property: Marari Austin Beach Villa
Address: Beach Front | Mararikulam North P.O, Mararikulam, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
very nice beach is awaiting your presence come on and enjoy. Fresh vegetable soup, and Vitamin rich foods are offered you as your breakfast Free internet facility over the entire property is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marari Austin Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Austin Beach Villa Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing