We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel, and an almost perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Barring the boiling hot weather (not in the hands of the resort), the resort was a fantastic getaway from the hustle bustle of everyday life.

From the gorgeous villas, (with its "wow factor" as Alicecristal puts it) to the amazing food, carnoustie provides you the perfect getaway destination to not do much but relax, laze and soak in natural beauty.

Even though i went there for a weekend with my wife and daughter, A longer vacation is already on the cards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 222 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I loved this place, with its welcoming lobby, carefully tended grounds, huge pool, beautiful food, and spotless accommodations. All the staff were very accommodating as well, and seemed genuinely happy to have us staying there. My two friends and I were given a lovely tour of the organic garden with its gorgeous herbs, vegetables, and flowers by the lifeguard who watches over the beach area, and the onsite gardener was eager to share his knowledge with us. The food in the restaurant was beautifully presented and surprisingly well-priced for the quality, and the wait staff treated us like royalty. Our rooms had everything we could possibly want to have a comfortable stay. My only regret was that we were booked for only one night so we were unable to take advantage of the gym, yoga classes, and spa area due to time constraints. I would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: The villas with private pools are exceptional and include an outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank codycallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food was fabulous - we tried both the normal and Seafood restaurant and had a fabulous meal in both. Unfortunately the hotel has not acquired a alcohol license yet but you are able to drink in your villa - they charge no extra for room service and candlelit dinner next to our pool was definitely a highlight!
The punag pool villa is stunning and Jerin the butler was exceptional! The communal pool, beach and spa were all lovely but the gym and yoga instructor could be improved. Visiting the local church San Sebastian is a must - even better during festival time when there is a fair ground, market and lots of entertainment!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've just come back from the resort and while we were there there were only 4 other people staying at the same time which was rather surreal for such a big hotel. But we had an amazing experience. I've stayed in some wonderful hotels but the accommodation in this one really stands out. We were absolutely wowed by the deluxe villa which had a pool with a cascade and the biggest hotel bathroom I've ever seen.

The whole time we were looked after by our 'Villa Master', Jerin Samuel and he couldn't have been more attentative and efficient, organising candlelit dinners by our pool and making sure we always had everything we needed.

We were somewhat surprised that the bar didn't serve alchohol (they have yet to get their licence) and we could only drink in our villa. But the quality of the cooking made up for that. We had some superb meals in the main restaurant and while we were there they opened the seafood restaurant for the first time - we had delicately spiced and perfectly cooked fish and prawns.

The beach was quite wild and dramatic - a previous viewer complained that it was littered with dead trees - well yes, there are some coconut palm trunks half buried in the sand but that all adds to the beauty - see photos. We also loved the huge pool and our spa back and neck massages were very firm and effective.

One complaint - the pillows were horribly hard but when we asked for softer ones it took just minutes for the wonderful Jerin to arrive with some. So just ask.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a deluxe villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliceCristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel buildings, rooms, grounds and beach are excellent. The location is amazing, you feel as though you are in a world undiscovered by tourists - it is peaceful, the views of the beach, sea and walking in the local area are - all feel as though you might be one of the few people to have travelled there.

The welcome and check-in was a fairly average 4 star experience. The rooms/cottages are stunning, however. The bedroom, seating area and bathroom are huge and very well-appointed. The terrace has a table and chairs in addition to your own sun loungers. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The only negative side to the hotel is the food. In theory the variety and choice at the buffet at breakfast and dinner looked great. However, they constantly ran out of fresh fruit and hot items in the mornings, put too much sugar in their juices and service could be a little hit and miss. The same experience occured with the buffet at dinner and we eventually started ordering from the a la carte menu (although you really had to give them a few hours notice of what you would like to eat). When ordering a la carte the food was substantially better but still not five star standard. They do not have a licence for the sale of alcohol and while not big drinkers we would liked to have had a glass of wine with dinner on the odd evening.

The staff at the beach were great (although why the hotel has insufficient sun loungers is difficult to understand) and made you feel looked after and very welcome. The complementary boat trip to see dolphins and the fishermen for 45 minutes was great fun and exciting to be in a working wooden fishing boat. Taking a bike to explore the local area was good fun and the massages at the spa were very good. Be cautious about having a manicure/pedicure as they are not really geared up for the experience you would receive from your usual five-star resort. The large pool is a real bonus and the staff were very helpful with towels and toiletries when showering afterwards and so on.

The only other let downs were the non-a/c gym (despite boasting it had a/c), no towels and bottles of water in the gym and the slow check-out with incorrect items added to our bill.

Finally, we can normally cope with some bad quality evening entertainment but the Carnoustie's was truly shocking. The same gentleman (not sure if from the US or Europe) played the same songs (Lady In Red, etc,), very badly on a sax accompanied by a tape machine. It really started to annoy us by the third night of our stay.

Other than the complaints above, this hotel is still worth visitng because its imperfections are easily forgotten when enjoying the overall experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was there for two weeks, and must say that it was one of the best holidays ever. I have really enjoyed the beautiful views of the beach, amazing sunsets, the flower garden and the villa that we stayed in was fabulous, very spacious and beautifully designed.
The restaurant had a wide variety of food, and I liked that it had so many healthy options. The stuff members were always very polite and helpful.
The ayurverda Spa has been a life time experience, and the doctors there have very helpful!
Overall the New Year and Christmas days were very special, and the food and party was awesome. We had an absolutely great time, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victorialina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

What is not to like at this fantastic resort? A bit difficult to find (took our driver three times to question local people before we got there) but that's no bad thing as it was so quiet, so peaceful, so beautiful when we got there. We came as a family group with one elderly lady and were immediately offered the use of a golf cart whenever we needed it as the grounds are huge and the distance from our villas to the main complex quite long. But the complimentary upgrade to private villas - each with their own private pool - was a wonderful gesture and much appreciated. We had villa 703 at the far end of the complex and it was magnificent. The resort has only recently opened and this perhaps explains why certain features were either not available or not yet in place (the second restaurant, bar, beach bar for example) and why the service in the restaurant was good, but not consistent. At most meals we had to ask for silly things like cutlery, butter for the bread, plates for the sweet (it is all buffet service). Don't get me wrong, all things were provided - but you had to ask for them, and that should not happen if the staff are alert and as attentive as the reception staff who were perfect. I would like to go back in, say, one year to see the place fully operational and with these little issues sorted. Then the resort would be in the top star category in which it aims to be. I make these comments not as a criticism - merely feedback to the management of this fine resort that I would visit again anytime.

Room Tip: The bigger villas have their own pools, but are furthest away from the restaurant and main pool. Bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arncliffe_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
1.9 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 69 in Alappuzha
614 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,066 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
864 reviews
15.9 mi away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort

Address: opp Chennaveli Church, State Highway 66 | Chethy PO, Chennaveli, Mararikulam 688530, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Price Range: $607 - $1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, situated at the Marari beach close to the Alappuzha backwaters, comprises of 40 luxury villas, a traditional Ayurveda Spa, Two Backwater Suite in Muhamma, One Two Bedroom House Boat and a Sailing Club. The villas are designed to reduce energy and water consumption as well as minimize the use of exhaustible materials. The eco-friendly resort ensures that we use materials such as jute, bamboo, recycled cardboard instead of wood, reprocessed plastic and scrap wood. While at the resort, travellers can take lake/ backwater tours to gaze at the gorgeous paddy fields of Alapphuza, try out the early-morning yoga sessions, unwind at the beach, relax at the spa, enjoy performances by local traditional dancers and Kerala’s range of percussion music, try their hand at night fishing, cycle around villages or sail the backwaters and learn a bit of archery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing