We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel and therefore way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mararikulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is not a 5 star hotel/ resort. It is more like a 3 or 4 star hotel with a great ayurveda spa.
For starters: they say there are 3 restauarants. Not true there is 1, so you end up eating the same food every day! They say there is a bar. Not true, no liquor licence!
The beach foto has been fotoshopped. The beach is littered with dead fallen down trees no one is bothered to remove.
The beds are terribly hard, they look thick but it is actually two bad matresses stacked atop each other. Defintely not a 5 star hotel/ resort! And that with rooms starting at $ 368 a night!!! For a 3/ 4 star hotel!!!?? Not right.
Having said all this : the ayurveda spa is great! The staff are at the hotel are all very sweet and helpful! The grounds are beatiful. Sure youget your own villa, but it is still overpriced. Great laundry service also though!
Ohw the so called pool villas have a small plunge pool, true but the lights in it do not work at night.
A 5 star beach resort at 325$ a night must have a beach restaurant. Carnoustie does not!
So if they were fair they would call it a 3/4 star resort/ hotel and honestly state thatthere is 1 and only 1 restaurant and no bar. No way would anyone in there right mind pay $ 368 and up a night.$ 550 and up for a pool villa. As soon as they have real nice 5 star beds( not two matresses pilled up), 3 restaurants and a bar and a beach restaurant then it will be a great 5 star resort!

Room Tip: Hard to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank traveller12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 243 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was travelling with my daughter who is 2.5 years old and the restaurant staff were so great to the chef who made food to tailor the needs of a fussy toddler and this was only one place that she had all her food. I just couldn't thank the chef enough and when in was our turn to have our food then the restaurant staff played with our daughter so me and my husband can enjoy the wonder food the chef had tailor made for us. My daughter for the past two days stay loved all the staff at the hotel and especially Gokal who was my daughter favourite.

The rooms and the resort is amazing the room is wonderful with the biggest bathroom that I have ever seen. The marble bath was very nice, however this took us ages to fill the tub and also there was not enough hot water. The shower was very large with a great big rain shower head. The toilets were in the bathroom, however in a side room so anyone having bath can relax. There was the lovely outside area which had this wonderful stone water feature and either side there was seating area and lounge area.

First day walking around the hotel grounds and there are so beautiful with hammocks and water features, we also went to the swimming pool and they was very beautiful and clean. They also have children’s pool. We had showers near the pool and everything that you need was there shower gel and even comb. The only issues were that there was no hot water.

The beach was a 500m away from our hotel room, and this was a private beach there is nothing around expect the local fishing boats and a lifeguard from the hotel. There was again seating and everything that you would expect from the hotel. The beach had lovely white sand and blue water. There are many small crabs that my daughter loved playing with and also we saw dolphins the sea swimming. Also it was lunch time and the restaurant manger found us and asked us what we would like and he brought the most fab lunch and we had the whole silver service with waiter at the beach.

We also enjoyed the spa facilities and again the treatment was excellent and was so happy with their services. They also offer treatments which are what the other couple came for and from their expressions it seems like they were having the time of their life.
We didn’t want to leave the hotel and therefore we asked if we can check out at 2pm and they said that this was ok. As we didn’t have time to have lunch and we wanted a packed lunch for our journey and again excellent recommendations from the chef and the best packed lunch ever.
We were told that they have now 20 rooms however from December onwards they would have 40 rooms in total. When this hotel is fully functional this will be wonderful and been told that they will give the same service to everyone that stays at the hotel.
Our experience that I came out from this hotel was that it was amazing and I will not forget this for the rest of my life. I would love to come back to Kerala and would stay at this hotel for one week.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hitchinsweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Carnoustie describes itself as a “luxury boutique style eco friendly beach resort”. Having stayed there I can vouch for all of that except for the eco-friendly bit, which may be true but I did not notice it. This place is just paradise. The villas are beautiful and spacious. The landscaping is immaculate – you can tell the owners are golf club developers because the grounds are perfect with the grass cut like a championship course fairway. The food is wonderful and good value. The chef is very friendly and will cook just about anything you ask him for. The rest of the staff were polite and attentive and well-trained in running a top notch hotel. This is a resort for couples and friends looking to relax and unwind. Even though the resort is only in soft launch mode (it is still being finished in parts) I can’t recommend this place enough. The only negative about Carnoustie was having to check out.

Room Tip: The deluxe villas are not walled-in so are more open to the lovely surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mattylad1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at Carnoustie for 2 nights in October. Since we were driving from airport to the resort which seemed to be very far off and were how the resort is. But once entered the resort premises our thoughts totally changed and after a welcome drink we were taken to one end of the resort as we were given a private pool villa which was superbly fantastic. After unlocking our bags we plunged into the pool and relaxed for some time as we had started from Delhi at 0630 and reached the resort at about 11 am. Our first appointment in Cochin was at 2:30 pm and I had calculated that it would take to reach one & half hour to reach however, we were there 15 minutes before our schedule. Later we returned back to the resort by 7 PM and went over to beach side restaurant & ordered for some fish which was lip smacking. Went back to our room & ordered the food in the room as we were dead tired. Next day woke up at 7 Am & went to the beach of Marrari where we could see some fisher man pulling their nets and local villages were also there to buy catch of the day. At about 9 Am realized that we would get late for our meeting which was big one rushed back to the room & after a quick shower drove on a golf cart to the restaurant to have a quick breakfast. The breakfast was awesome and enjoyed it thoroughly and took 15 minutes more to finish our breakfast. Fullday was in Cochin meeting. Reach back resorts at about 6 Pm and straight away went to the beach side restaurant and this time order a different kind of a fish sat at the place for a an hour & relaxed with breeze arising from the sea was cool as it was cloudy & humid. The day came to an end with dinner and also our last night stay at the resort. Next morning time for check out & leaving for onward destination and leaving back cherished memories of a superb resort

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Togr8erhgts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Carnoustie Beach Resort was one of the best experiences I have ever had in my travels. A truly exotic resort on the beach and a great place to spend a relaxed vacation. The cottage was beyond beautiful and extremely clean with a wonderful view. The restaurant was excellent! Food was absolutely mouth watering and it just made our experience even better!!! The staff were very friendly ,helpful, and smiling all the time which made us feel very comfortable and made our stay a memorable one. Simply , outstanding service! :)

Well done Carnoustie Beach Resort !! I will definitely recommend you to others. ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rasha-m-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our four night stay at the Carnoustie Beach Resort & Ayurveda Spa was truly unforgettable. The property itself is absolutely stunning from the impressive front entrance and the open air reception area to the beatifully landscaped grounds and handsome swimming pool. The villa we stayed in was spacious and well appointed with an enormous bathroom. The restaurant was breathtaking with its open air design and bamboo construction and the spa was very impressive. The beauty of the property was only exceeded by the service we received during our stay. We cannot say enough about the concierge who made our comfort his primary concern during our visit. Perhaps the most impressive display of his commitment to service was that he personally picked us up at our villa in a golf cart at 4:45 am and sent us on the way to the airport with a package of food and drink. Equally attentive was the restaurant manager who consulted with us daily about our meals. He planned a number of interesting menus for us, consisting largely of delicious local cuisine, which were executed to perfection by the chef and his staff. The food was superb without exception. Since the property will consist of only 40 villas upon completion, the Carnoustie is clearly committed to maintaining this level of service when it is fully built out. Our only regret was that our travel plans did not allow a longer stay at this truly unique and special property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CandG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We feel so blessed to have found this little slice of paradise in our final days traveling through Sri Lanka and India. The location is wonderful, the rooms (we have been in both a standard room and a simply luxurious pool villa) are beyond comfortable. Each room is well appointed with exceptional interior design as well as anything you could ever need. The food here has been out of this world. The wonderful chef interviewed us to discuss our individual needs and created a custom menu that delivered exquisite Kerala style cuisine for my wife and I as well as more basic western style pastas for our kids. However, from our experience, what sets Carnoustie above the rest is their focus on service. From our greeting when we first walked into the beautiful resort, we have felt welcomed and well taken care of by everyone here. We hate to consider leaving and hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms are positioned closer to the beach and to the common pool. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
1.9 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 7 in Mararikulam
342 reviews
4.6 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#13 of 70 in Alappuzha
71 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
7 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
154 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Mararikulam
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort

Address: opp Chennaveli Church, State Highway 66 | Chethy PO, Chennaveli, Mararikulam 688530, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mararikulam
Price Range: $311 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, situated at the Marari beach close to the Alappuzha backwaters, comprises of 40 luxury villas, a traditional Ayurveda Spa, Two Backwater Suite in Muhamma, One Two Bedroom House Boat and a Sailing Club. The villas are designed to reduce energy and water consumption as well as minimize the use of exhaustible materials. The eco-friendly resort ensures that we use materials such as jute, bamboo, recycled cardboard instead of wood, reprocessed plastic and scrap wood. While at the resort, travellers can take lake/ backwater tours to gaze at the gorgeous paddy fields of Alapphuza, try out the early-morning yoga sessions, unwind at the beach, relax at the spa, enjoy performances by local traditional dancers and Kerala’s range of percussion music, try their hand at night fishing, cycle around villages or sail the backwaters and learn a bit of archery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing