We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Truly Unforgettable Experience at Carnoustie!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Truly Unforgettable Experience at Carnoustie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our four night stay at the Carnoustie Beach Resort & Ayurveda Spa was truly unforgettable. The property itself is absolutely stunning from the impressive front entrance and the open air reception area to the beatifully landscaped grounds and handsome swimming pool. The villa we stayed in was spacious and well appointed with an enormous bathroom. The restaurant was breathtaking with its open air design and bamboo construction and the spa was very impressive. The beauty of the property was only exceeded by the service we received during our stay. We cannot say enough about the concierge who made our comfort his primary concern during our visit. Perhaps the most impressive display of his commitment to service was that he personally picked us up at our villa in a golf cart at 4:45 am and sent us on the way to the airport with a package of food and drink. Equally attentive was the restaurant manager who consulted with us daily about our meals. He planned a number of interesting menus for us, consisting largely of delicious local cuisine, which were executed to perfection by the chef and his staff. The food was superb without exception. Since the property will consist of only 40 villas upon completion, the Carnoustie is clearly committed to maintaining this level of service when it is fully built out. Our only regret was that our travel plans did not allow a longer stay at this truly unique and special property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CandG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    36
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
90
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We feel so blessed to have found this little slice of paradise in our final days traveling through Sri Lanka and India. The location is wonderful, the rooms (we have been in both a standard room and a simply luxurious pool villa) are beyond comfortable. Each room is well appointed with exceptional interior design as well as anything you could ever need. The food here has been out of this world. The wonderful chef interviewed us to discuss our individual needs and created a custom menu that delivered exquisite Kerala style cuisine for my wife and I as well as more basic western style pastas for our kids. However, from our experience, what sets Carnoustie above the rest is their focus on service. From our greeting when we first walked into the beautiful resort, we have felt welcomed and well taken care of by everyone here. We hate to consider leaving and hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms are positioned closer to the beach and to the common pool. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palakkad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Words can hardly describe the Carnoustie beach resort!! It is a massive property located right on the marrari beach, 45 minutes drive from Cochin.The resort is quite luxurious and made to a very high standards.It is very quiet,serene and lushed with greenery.. This resort is set in 25 acres of tropical paradise with landscaped gardens.It is like being at a place surrounded by an array of lovely flora and fauna..The reception is absolutely outstanding with water bodies and flowers around..We were received with a traditional welcome drink(tender coconut water) and cold towels.The Villas are luxuriously spacious and impeccable.We stayed in a Punag Pool Villa,which was magnificient with a large private pool and sun loungers,tables and the interiors with dark wooden flooring.The villa has very special architecture with thatched roofs and has all the required amenities..Bathroom was huge with rain shower and jacuzzi.
The restaurent is superb with its typical bamboo design! The food was very delicious and fresh with an experienced chef on hand to cook any dish you want..
The staffs are so attentive,they have been trained to perfection. Their service and efficiency made my stay a pure pleasure!
This is a perfect place for complete relaxation with its spa,private pool and breathtakingly beautiful and gorgeous strip of quiet sandy beach!!
Some part of the resort is under construction but we did not feel this at all.We would like to thank the staff and management for all the services during our stay.
We will always have great memories of The Carnoustie Beach Resort and beautiful white sandy beaches and definitely go back soon..

Room Tip: Punag Pool villa,which is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ayishasameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were privileged to be invited to check out this resort prior to its official opening while we were travelling through Kerala and we spent a very memorable afternoon and evening here. Carnoustie is simply gorgeous! It is in a great location on a beautiful stretch of beach, with its villas generously scattered throughout lush gardens. The villas are super smart and luxurious, very light and impressively spacious with comfortable, well designed bedrooms, good sized dressing rooms and simply fabulous bathrooms with outdoor showers and sunken baths. Everything is of the very best quality and beautifully presented with a charming frangipani motif running throughout. What impressed me most was the clever thoughtfulness that had gone into the design of these little homes from home; nothing had been left to chance and no corners had been cut. Absolutely everything oozed a welcoming atmosphere. All the villas have their own outdoor area and terrace, some with a large water feature, some with small pools (larger than plunge pools), some walled for privacy, others with an open view towards the gardens and beach. All the facilities are open and generous, making the most of the fabulous location and with lots of attractive and cooling water elements. Staff were superb: discreet, helpful and we felt very cossetted indeed! Ah, and then the restaurant! Once again, beautifully presented, entirely made from bamboo in local style, with magical lighting and the food was just unbelievably delicious. The buffet ranges from local delicacies via Eastern Mediterranean dishes to European favourites and all are superb.
My feeling is that Carnoustie offers more than just a luxurious and comfortable opportunity for rest and relaxation; for us it was an experience in itself and an enhancement of our Kerala trip. Without question, we will be back to stay longer! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
1.9 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
15.9 mi away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort

Property: Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Address: opp Chennaveli Church, State Highway 66 | Chethy PO, Chennaveli, Mararikulam 688530, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, situated at the Marari beach close to the Alappuzha backwaters, comprises of 40 luxury villas, a traditional Ayurveda Spa, Two Backwater Suite in Muhamma, One Two Bedroom House Boat and a Sailing Club. The villas are designed to reduce energy and water consumption as well as minimize the use of exhaustible materials. The eco-friendly resort ensures that we use materials such as jute, bamboo, recycled cardboard instead of wood, reprocessed plastic and scrap wood. While at the resort, travellers can take lake/ backwater tours to gaze at the gorgeous paddy fields of Alapphuza, try out the early-morning yoga sessions, unwind at the beach, relax at the spa, enjoy performances by local traditional dancers and Kerala’s range of percussion music, try their hand at night fishing, cycle around villages or sail the backwaters and learn a bit of archery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing