We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Out of this world" -Amazing !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Words can hardly describe the Carnoustie beach resort!! It is a massive property located right on the marrari beach, 45 minutes drive from Cochin.The resort is quite luxurious and made to a very high standards.It is very quiet,serene and lushed with greenery.. This resort is set in 25 acres of tropical paradise with landscaped gardens.It is like being at a place surrounded by an array of lovely flora and fauna..The reception is absolutely outstanding with water bodies and flowers around..We were received with a traditional welcome drink(tender coconut water) and cold towels.The Villas are luxuriously spacious and impeccable.We stayed in a Punag Pool Villa,which was magnificient with a large private pool and sun loungers,tables and the interiors with dark wooden flooring.The villa has very special architecture with thatched roofs and has all the required amenities..Bathroom was huge with rain shower and jacuzzi.
The restaurent is superb with its typical bamboo design! The food was very delicious and fresh with an experienced chef on hand to cook any dish you want..
The staffs are so attentive,they have been trained to perfection. Their service and efficiency made my stay a pure pleasure!
This is a perfect place for complete relaxation with its spa,private pool and breathtakingly beautiful and gorgeous strip of quiet sandy beach!!
Some part of the resort is under construction but we did not feel this at all.We would like to thank the staff and management for all the services during our stay.
We will always have great memories of The Carnoustie Beach Resort and beautiful white sandy beaches and definitely go back soon..

Room Tip: Punag Pool villa,which is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ayishasameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 222 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were privileged to be invited to check out this resort prior to its official opening while we were travelling through Kerala and we spent a very memorable afternoon and evening here. Carnoustie is simply gorgeous! It is in a great location on a beautiful stretch of beach, with its villas generously scattered throughout lush gardens. The villas are super smart and luxurious, very light and impressively spacious with comfortable, well designed bedrooms, good sized dressing rooms and simply fabulous bathrooms with outdoor showers and sunken baths. Everything is of the very best quality and beautifully presented with a charming frangipani motif running throughout. What impressed me most was the clever thoughtfulness that had gone into the design of these little homes from home; nothing had been left to chance and no corners had been cut. Absolutely everything oozed a welcoming atmosphere. All the villas have their own outdoor area and terrace, some with a large water feature, some with small pools (larger than plunge pools), some walled for privacy, others with an open view towards the gardens and beach. All the facilities are open and generous, making the most of the fabulous location and with lots of attractive and cooling water elements. Staff were superb: discreet, helpful and we felt very cossetted indeed! Ah, and then the restaurant! Once again, beautifully presented, entirely made from bamboo in local style, with magical lighting and the food was just unbelievably delicious. The buffet ranges from local delicacies via Eastern Mediterranean dishes to European favourites and all are superb.
My feeling is that Carnoustie offers more than just a luxurious and comfortable opportunity for rest and relaxation; for us it was an experience in itself and an enhancement of our Kerala trip. Without question, we will be back to stay longer! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Все виллы хороши. Если планируете аюрведическое оздоровление, можно брать смело виллу без бассейна...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Menchu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iv Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten eine Villa mit eigenem Pool! Um die Zimmer geht es in diesem Resort aber eigentlich nicht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
1.9 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
614 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,066 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
864 reviews
15.9 mi away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort

Address: opp Chennaveli Church, State Highway 66 | Chethy PO, Chennaveli, Mararikulam 688530, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Price Range: $600 - $1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, situated at the Marari beach close to the Alappuzha backwaters, comprises of 40 luxury villas, a traditional Ayurveda Spa, Two Backwater Suite in Muhamma, One Two Bedroom House Boat and a Sailing Club. The villas are designed to reduce energy and water consumption as well as minimize the use of exhaustible materials. The eco-friendly resort ensures that we use materials such as jute, bamboo, recycled cardboard instead of wood, reprocessed plastic and scrap wood. While at the resort, travellers can take lake/ backwater tours to gaze at the gorgeous paddy fields of Alapphuza, try out the early-morning yoga sessions, unwind at the beach, relax at the spa, enjoy performances by local traditional dancers and Kerala’s range of percussion music, try their hand at night fishing, cycle around villages or sail the backwaters and learn a bit of archery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing