We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marari Beach Villas
Biel, Switzerland
2 reviews
“perfect stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

onderful place, lovely and helpfull owner, Raju is a great guy and his wife a wonderful cook. Very familiar, great lonely beach, tasty local food........just a perfect stay. We all loved our stay in Mararik

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    43
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
64
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Rooms were clean and the odd cockroach is a hazard of India. Mozzie heaven especially in the bathrooms that were open at ceiling height. Hammocks were ideal for a relax and a read. Beach 4 minutes away not sure about the faeces etc mentioned by previous reviewers we saw none of this. Rooftop room ideal for a yoga session or watching birdlife. Found the breakfasts disappointing, lacked ingenuity and seemed to cater for mid Europeans - hard boiled eggs, French toast and juice. Would have liked to see some effort to tackle mosquitoes and some information about where you can eat - they only provide breakfast so you will need to travel further afield for meals and Marari is quite isolated. It was okay the owner was friendly but detached - rooms for hire not homestay. 4000 rupees a night does not make it good value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karbon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Compared to everywhere else in India this place was charging a lot for what it offered. The bathroom was open near the ceiling and you basically share it with the neighbours as it's open at the top and you can hear everything. Also risking the mozi's everytime you go for toilet or shower. The room itself was fine and clean. The service was good I have to say, friendly and helpful. We ate there once and the food was decent.
The final day we planned an early start due to an early flight the next day. The result was a run in with a series of piles of poo on the beach. We thought it was dogs at first but no it was the fishermen and they don't mind taking a poo right in front of you. There were people swimming within a few meters of fresh man poo. Maybe they didn't mind or maybe didn't realise. Spoilt it for us anyway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyC000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and found the rooms and meals to be pretty good, though as other travellers have said you are paying over the odds for the privilige! The owner and family were very friendly and helpful.

It's not the most peaceful or picuresque place however as it is surrounded by other properties with dogs and roosters etc.

On arrival I asked the owner if it was safe to swim at the beach and he replied yes. I think with hindsight that this was the wrong answer due to both the strong current and the human waste pollution that I later found out about.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LewisHawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We were charged 4000 rupees for a room and meals at 400 rupees which is a tad pricey.
If you are expecting a pristine beach then expect to be disappointed as it's used as a toilet by the local fishermen. Faeces is particularly prevalent along the high tide line so take care where you walk.

Raju (your host) will be most attentive during your stay and the food is superb but I believe 4000 rupees per night is excessive considering the location.
Our bill for the three nights here was 15815 rupees (£160).
On a positive note the homestay itself is spotless with good facilities and a nice roof terrace to experience the bird life at tree top level.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed there only 3 nights but it was great time, although the price of food was disappointed, especially beer was two times of normal price. The owner is local politician and he knows very well the European costs of food and beverages, so he uses his knowledge for taking good money for his services as meals and drinks. For example lunch and dinner cost 400 rupees what is almost double of common price. I recommend to take the took-tuk and go to Allepy or other place (the drivers know those places) where you can eat much cheaper and this same quality. But if you like homemade food and you do not need to save your money you can enjoy this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryjek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The manage of this hotel was wonderful - very nice and very helpful. We were very disappointed in the pictures that appeared on-line. The hotel faced other buildings and the pictures on line did not show this, in fact they looked photo shopped! The price was way too high for the accommodations. Beach chairs and umbrellas would have been very helpful.

Please be aware if you use booking.com. We found that their prices were 3 TIMES THE PRICE of some of the actual hotels prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sms1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
0.4 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Marari Austin Beach Villa
#6 of 34 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marari Villas
Marari Villas
#1 of 24 in Mararikulam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marari Beach House
Marari Beach House
#8 of 34 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Beach Villas

Property: Marari Beach Villas
Address: West of St. Augustin's Church, Mararikulam 688523, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marari Beach Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marari Beach Villa is very beautiful and good garden property.We have 8 Air conditioned standard double rooms and Beach front Bamboo cottage. Our property situated close to the Marari Beach. Good garden, hammocks,beach umbrella,beach chairs, beach mat, restaurant and free WIFI available.Reading and Relaxing many places here.Beach is very beautiful and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marari Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Beach Villas Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing