We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marari Beach Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at Marari beach villas for nine nights after originally booking only three. That's how lovely a place it is to be! Well managed and run by Ragu and his wife Jini and staff, it would be difficult to find a more pleasant, relaxed and comfortable place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them; we stayed in one of the two litttle villas a little removed from the main house, but Ragu would walk across with either a newspaper. cold beer or anything else we might want. The villa was cleaned to spotlessness every day, the bedlinen and towels changed daily too. Food was served in the covered dining area on top of the main house, and was wonderful - varied and very tasty home-made cuisine which never failed to delight. A particularly pleasant aspect of our stay was the fact that we were made welcome by just about all the local residents who always had time to chat and always seemed glad to practise their skills in speaking English.
The beach is a delight, miles of white sand. Yes, it is, unfortunately used as a toilet by some of the locals; I am not condoning the practice, but it is, sadly, quite common in India.
So if you are looking for a fairly-priced, clean and comfortable place to stay near Alleppey, give this one a try. If you receive the wonderful welcome and attention that we were afforded by the kind and generous Ragu, Jini and staff (not forgetting their lovely children), you will not be disappointed.
As to being ripped off, there was nothing extra charged for anything during our whole stay, in fact Ragu and his family seemed eager to give little extras rather than to charge for them.

P.S. Ragu tells me that he is hoping to have a swimming pool installed next year - watch this space!

Room Tip: Try to get a villa in the seperate garden if you like to be a bit more secluded.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prestonspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Marari Beach Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 140 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

The only nice thing I can say about this place is that the room was pleasant - clean & pretty. Unfortunately we didn't get a wink of sleep because the owner's dog, left out, barked and howled all night. Moreover the owner lied to us about there not being anywhere else to eat in the vicinity. Fortunately we were warned by a fellow guest that this was not true and that the dinner was expensive and not particularly good so we ate elsewhere. Breakfast was included in the price of the room but In the morning he tried to rip us off by pretending that the pineapple juice we had drunk at breakfast was extra. We refused to pay for it and indeed found out later that that was also a total lie (nobody else was asked to pay for the juice!) So we left feeling tired and bitter and angry - not quite what you want after forking out 2000 rupees a room. Incidentally, the beach is dirty as other travellers have mentioned

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We found the place by chance and only wanted to stay for a few nights but it was so relaxing and peaceful that we ended up staying for 11 nights.
For us travelling with 2 small children around Asia it was one of the best places to stay during our 4 month trip. They could play freely in the garden, the staff was wonderful, the food excellent (fish curry and lots of different veg). There are lots of hammocks in the shade and cats and chicken running around (a few mosquitoes too but this is unavoidable in Kerala).
The beach is only a few paces away, and was empty in mid Dec (some parts of it are not very clean though but not dirty either).
We also enjoyed taking the local bus to Allapey which takes around 30 min.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supermum07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We arrived in Marari beach, expecting paradise,! unfortunately what we found was very different. We stayed in valasis gardens Homestay first, but the beach was really dirty, (fishermen defecating) and although the accommodation and setting was lovely, it just didn't feel right. So we moved the Marari beach villas based on reviews, and planned to stay for 3-4nights. We stayed only one.
Again the setting was nice, the host nice, rooms clean, but it didn't feel right. The room was lovely, and cost 2500rps, but the dinner was very disappointing, especially as it cost 400rps per person. Not worth it at all. I have been in 4star hotels and main meals did not cost this much. Marai beach as an area is in early stages of developing, so there isn't much option for food alternatives. We moved to Varkala down south. Although a bit busy for us, it was much better than marari.
beach

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveshed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Perfect place to explore the backwaters this home stay as other people have mentioned is set right on the beach. You can stroll the idyllic beach or relax in the hammocks provided for you in the home stay. The service is fantastic and nothing is too much for you.

That said our room was next to the place where you go for mealtimes so you don't get too much peace from other guests when people are eating. Also at night be prepared to be woken upcby the howling wild dogs. Not a fault of the resort of course but they are there and at night they make a loud noise! But don't let this put you off, this is a fantastic place to stay and if you can get a great deal then this could be a place to really chill out and base yourselfnfornthe backwaters.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

we found this place by accident as we where travelling on a motorbike, we stayed 2 nights, in a beach bungalow, very clean, family really hospitable, the price included breakfast, also you have a option of eve meal, we had the meal in the evening it was served in there garden the food was local & gorgeous. the hosts father cannot do enough for you and makes sure you have everything you need, lovely place for a chill

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Marari is a gorgeous unspoiled beach which is not well known so not touristy at all. The home stay is located in a beautiful private garden just a 2 min walk from the beach. The garden is very peaceful with hammocks dotted about. You eat your breakfast in the garden with other guests (breakfast was included but if you had lunch or dinner this was extra). I would highly recommend paying the extra for the lunch and dinner - Raju's wife is a really good cook and the food was always amazing. Some of the other reviews mentioned that Raju wasn't transparent with his pricing for extras - this was not the case for us. He told us upfront that beer and pineapple juice etc was extra. If you're not sure just ask for a costings list at the beginning of your stay. The rooms were large and clean with a fan and air con. The bathroom had an open roof which added to the character. This is the perfect place to relax- a great end to a busy week of sightseeing!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen___83378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
0.4 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achayans Homestay
Achayans Homestay
#4 of 5 in Mararikulam
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
0.2 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Marari Austin Beach Villa
#6 of 34 in Mararikulam
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Beach Villas

Address: West of St. Augustin's Church, Mararikulam 688523, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range: $25 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marari Beach Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marari Beach Villa is very beautiful and good garden property.We have 8 Air conditioned standard double rooms and Beach front Bamboo cottage. Our property situated close to the Marari Beach. Good garden, hammocks,beach umbrella,beach chairs, beach mat, restaurant and free WIFI available.Reading and Relaxing many places here.Beach is very beautiful and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marari Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Beach Villas Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing