We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillaxing to the Max”
Review of Marari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marari Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Marari Palm Beach Villa for 3 nights in October. We were two families (from NZ & AUS) and the layout of the villa worked perfectly with the large common living/dining area in the middle of the separate bedroom suites.
The beach was stunning & quiet with only the occasional fisherman walking past. Unfortunately the sea was a bit rough for the kids to swim in most of the day. The villa would have been perfect if it had a swimming pool (I understand this is planned for 2013).
The villa is not far from Cochin and the airport (1 1/2 hrs) and is very close to the Houseboat start/end points at Alappuzha so you can combine the 3 area's easily into your trip. I would recommend using the Villa's private car service to/from the airport/houseboat as the drivers are very safe & speak English well.
The owners & staff were all exceptionally helpful & friendly & organised trips to the local hotel pools, massage center and a one off trip to see a working elephant who was close by.
The menu was varied and the food was great and they catered for all of the children's requirements.
My favourite place was the hammocks under the shady coconut tree's : ) Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumbaiMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarariVillas, Owner at Marari Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear MumbaiMummy,
On behalf of the Marari Villas Team, thank you for sharing your experience for other families that may want to visit beautiful Kerala. As you mention, there is a lot to see and do whilst staying at Marari Villas and our helpful team is always available to arrange activities for you.

Thank you for your valuable comments in the Guest Report Form - we are developing our Family Friendly facilities and kid’s menu further with your useful suggestions. We are also planning to add a swimming pool to our new villa on the beach, which will start operating in November 2013 and hope you will return to experience it in the near future.

With warm regards from Kerala,
Olga and Rupert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 288 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed there for an extended weekend and I can speak volumes on their hospitality. Every need was thought of and taken care of even before we reached. Books, DVDs, travel magazines, even mosquito repellents and sun screen lotions! We stayed at the orchid pool cottage which was a cosy cottage for 2, with a small kitchenette, pool, dining area and my favourite - the bathroom right in the open amidst Mother Nature. Before anyone gets any weird ideas, it was a perfectly well functioning bathroom, without a ceiling on the shower and surrounded by lots of trees.
The entire staff - Noushad, Rajesh, Benjamin, and the maids were very friendly, courteous and prompt. Service was wonderful, whether it was in the cottage, pool or beach.
Olga's set up a wonderful getaway for everyone. You go there once and would want to go there again :)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank PunyaLuthra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spend five days in Marari Palm Beach villa at the end of our three (fantastic and exhausting) weeks trip in India. And it was perfect.
The house and its location are great, the staff (everyone from the chef to the yoga teacher) is very thoughtful and professionnal. And Olga and Rupert are welcoming.
In a nutshell, we loved it !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Marari Villas forf 3 nights in December 2011 as part of our trip around Kerala. We chose the villas as we wanted a quieter, less touristy beach option and it definitely delivered. It's a little walk from the villas through to the beach but once there it is quiet and a beautiful expanse of beach with hammocks for the use of villa guests.

When we booked only the Orchid villa was available so we had taken that, when we arrived we were shown in to the room, which was fine but modern in style and not 'wow', we discovered that the Hibiscus villas was now available and they were happy for us to choose whichever villa we wanted to stay in. We took a look at Hibiscus and the traditional Keralan style and larger outdoor space appealed to us so we took that one and we felt it really made our stay.

The staff were fantastic, they make a real effort to set the tables for each meal to make it as beautiful as possible, lighting tealights on the pool and candles at the table. One day we went out to Alleppey and bought fish and prawns with some advice from the driver and that evening they barbecued the seafood in the villa garden in delicious Keralan spices - it was so lovely.

It's a quiet place to stay, you really do see very few people at all at the beach area but that's exactly what we enjoyed about it, so different to the big touristy beaches you get elsewhere.

Room Tip: We preferred Hibiscus for it's traditional Keralan style and it had a bigger garden and newer po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeatkins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarariVillas, Owner at Marari Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you again for your stay with us and your detailed review. We really appreciate your feedback about the look of Orchid Cottage. We are now modifying the interiors for the 2012-13 season to give Orchid Cottage more “WOW” factor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the very charming traditional character and larger garden of Hibiscus Cottage. We have also now added a flat screen satellite TV + DVD/CD and games, DVDs and books to the Hibiscus Cottage (in addition to the new pool) and so the rate will be slightly higher this year compared to Orchid.

Kind regards and we hope to see you again soon.
The Marari Villas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

In the last 30 years i have been avoiding India, thinking it would be to chaotic. But after i found Marari Villas here on Tripadvisor i decided to have a go. And that have been the best travel experience i have had for 20 years, every thing was perfect, from the pickup at the airport, to the welcome at the villa, we instant got that feeling of being welcome. The staff was very service minded, and the feeling of that every thing could be arranged, when we licked it. The hole staff was very willing to answer all our many questions, and we had a lot : ). An example was when i asked if it was possible to get a hair cut in the little village, they followed me there. An other example was when we asked if it was possible to get some spices, the cook to us on a tour to the nearest town and showed us the local market. A final little nice touch was when the owner called us from London to hear if everything was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarariVillas, Owner at Marari Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

The Marari Villas Team would like to thank you for your generous words!!! It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us and the staff really enjoyed sharing the local sights with you. Receiving such feedback really makes all our continuous efforts worthwhile.

With very warm regards from Kerala,
Marari Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

So we had spent our vacation in early May at Palm Beach Villa: me, my wife and our two children, 10 and 3 years old.
The house is very solid and clean, the sea is in half a minute walk from your bed. Sea breeze veranda was my favorite place, I'd stay there from dawn till midnight with only occasional breaks to have a swim.
Beach is clean, locals are virtually invisible, no other tourists - so it is tranquillity and beauty all along.
Staff is very good, Suresh the villa host is the best (I wonder if he ever sleep) -)
Children's needs are attended immediately. There are lots of toys and games for them in the villa. Chef has perfect understanding when he supposed to prepare spicy food and when he is not, so while we had our favorite paneer, children would eat food that suit them. Overall quality of food is very high.
Olga and Rupert are very helpful and communicative, they organized us several trips and they once had a dinner with us to our pleasure.

In no way I regret my visiting Palm Beach Villa. It was high quality recreation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for a week at Hibiscus cottage in May, Olga and Rupert arranged pick up from Cochin for us and we were met by Shan our wonderful host who looked after us so well ,discrete and helpfull but aways available when we needed anything. The villa itself was everything we had hoped for, loved the outdoor bathroom even in the rain! The food was lovely, prepared whenever we wanted it and we managed to work our way through the entire menu! People said you will be sick of curry by the time you come home but nothing could be further from the truth due to the variety and standard of food throughout our stay in Kerala. We chose to go out in a small hand paddled boat for our trip to the backwaters allowing access to some of the smaller waterways where you see everday life going on for the local people, fishing with lines, cooking, washing and kids messing about in the water. From the village at the top of the road you can catch the local bus into Allepey for a few pence, or if your feeling energetic the bikes at the villa are a good way to access other local villages and beaches. All the staff at Mararis help to make this a totaly relaxing, stress free place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Afrababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
1.5 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#11 of 68 in Alappuzha
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
0.9 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
864 reviews
1.3 mi away
A Beach Symphony
A Beach Symphony
#4 of 28 in Mararikulam
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Villas

Address: | Vadkethayil House, Pollathai, Allapuzha, Mararikulam 688567, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range: $120 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marari Villas offer boutiques serviced villas on beautiful Marari Beach in Alleppey district, Kerala and has properties in 2 locations: 'Orchid' & 'Hibiscus' are adjacent to each other, have private pools and are 300m from the beach. 'Palm' & 'Bougainvillea' do not have pools, but they are on the beach and are 2km south of 'Orchid' & 'Hibiscus'. Each of our villas is serviced by a team of villa host, chef, housekeeper and caretaker/security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Villas Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing