We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marari Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

this was the last leg of our tour...
we went to check out the beach at Marari and fell in love with the hotel...
The garden pool vilas just compliment the beautiful and stunning Marari beach.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
They make it a point ot keep the kids entertained during meal time.
Food is yum yum yum ....!
No Tv's in the room.. big plus point.
pen bathrooms... awesome experience
Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Take a Garden pool Villa
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kneeshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Marari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from" Marari Beach"

Thank you very much for the beautiful words. We are very much glad to know that you had a very relaxing and pleasant stay with us. We are very much grateful to hear from you that you enjoyed the yummy food, service and all other facilities.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you for a another wonderful experience with us.

Warm Regards

Subrahmanian.P

General Manager

Marari Beach

A CGH Earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
There are newer reviews for Marari Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 856 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here after a 10 day tour around Kerala after staying mostly in mid-range and home-stay accommodation and we do not usually stay in places such as this. The staff were friendly and professional and the room was clean and well maintained with nice touches such as flowers on the bed and in room WiFi access. We had a massage which was more inline with western prices compared to others in Kerala however this stands to reason as this resort is marketed as luxury.
The food served in the Beach Grill was delicious as was the dinner served in the main restaurant. We had some issues getting lunch on the first day as we we wanted to eat around 3 and according to the leaflet we had been given the restaurant was closed for lunch and the pool snack bar was open until 5. This was not the case as we were informed the pool snacks finished at 3 and the restaurant was still open. The "light lunches" consisted of huge portions of sandwiches served with a bigger portion of chips that took 1 hour to prepare. There was also cases of a lack of knowledge/ not being informed by staff of the inclusions in the tariff plan in terms of meals and a rather complicated system with regards to which restaurant you dine in dictating what you paid for and what you didn't. We also wanted to cook our own food in the farm kitchen however there was no information regarding this and when we inquired we were just told about the cooking demonstration.
You get 2 bottles of complimentary water in the room which is great however at all meals you have to pay for water at nearly quadruple the price of what you pay anywhere else. In a place that is so hot surely one inclusive bottle of water with meals should be provided or at least a couple of water coolers spread through the resort?
The outdoor facilities and the hammock and deck chairs at the beach were good and the beach was clean and quiet. The most alarming and worrying aspect was ocean safety. The condition report in reception stated the sea was calm however when we went to the beach there was a very strong beachbreak and strong rip further out which would be life-threatening conditions to inexperienced swimmers. The beach condition flags at the beach were only viable from the water and not the deck chair location and the lifeguards sat mostly with their back to the ocean and, due to the nature of the beach, did not have clear sight of anyone in the beachbreak area. A lifeguard came to see if we were ok once we had exited the water however this would be too late if anyone was in trouble while swimming. We didn't have any trouble with noise as is stated in other reviews however at check-out they did try to charge us a for mini-bar items we did not use this was also while we had been misinformed regarding the inclusion of meal and this left a sour taste to the experience. Overall a nice place to stay just be wary of the ocean conditions and the final bill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Marari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from" Marari Beach"

Thank you so much for your detailed suggestions and feedbacks. All the necessary details have been noted very positively and all possible changes are already in place. We very much value your suggestions and feedbacks which is always a platform to do better.

We are sure that you will be back soon for another wonderful experience.

Warm Regards

Subrahmanian.P

General Manager

Marari Beach

A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

It was indeed a fabulous property. Most of the guest were foreigners that speaks itself of the property. the beauty of the resort being the beach which gives you the most ideal spot to spend your lovely evening. Food is mouth watering delight. Rooms are very comfortable. The bathrooms are an experience and a bathroom singers delight. Property is well maintained. Stay was quite a memorable one.

Room Tip: For couples.....Room with a pool are a must to experience your divine stay here !!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJAYNAGPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Marari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from" Marari Beach"

Thank you very much for your exciting comments. We are very happy to know that you had a fantafabulous experience at Marari. It gives us immense encouragement and inspiration for our future endeavors. We will strive our best to keep up the expectation level.

We will be very happy to welcome you back again and again.

Warm Regards

Subrahmanian.P

General Manager

Marari Beach

A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Like other some reviewers we do not usually chose to stay on a "resort" so we were very pleased to find Mararai beach felt much more intimate and relaxed than its size suggested. We arrived after staying in 6 different places in the previous 10 nights and we loved our 'villa' as it was spacious, comfortable and well equiped. This is a really nice place to stay and we quickly got into a routine of relaxing and doing very little. Service thoughout the resort was excellent and we found everyone to be helpful, friendly but not too pushy - just right. When we were there in the second week of March we could chose a late morning sunbeds in the sun by the excellent 25M pool and then shady ones for an aftternoon reading or snoozing in the shade. There is a 'pool house' with good facilities and unlimited towels. Lunches at the "close to beach" restaurant were very good, if expensive, the best being tempura shrimps (850 rupees) and fish, tiger and king prawn grill (1000 rupees). A giant club sandwich (really meant for sharing )with fries was however very reasonable at 500 rupees.

The tea trolly with snacks at 4pm was always very welcome. Evening cocktails at the bar were good and not too pricey although it would have been nice to have had the bar closer to the beach to watch the sunset with a cocktail. We chose the buffet for our first night and while it was fine, it was not that exciting and at 1700 rupees more than twice the price we paid at good hotels elsewhere. However, the a la carte was well priced aand the citrus chicken at 700 rupees was really excellent and Indian wines around 1700 rupees were certainly drinkable. The "close to beach" restaurant is very expensive in the evening, although it is good - 2 fixed menus - 3200 and 4500 rupees. We ate here twice - the first time was excellent but two nights later the fixed menu was indentical (apparently there are just 2 menus which change on alternate days) and there were no suitably sized fresh fish if only one person wanted it, so had to eat the same as the first visit, when i really had wanted to try other dishes. The ambience and service at this restaurant was really good but although it is difficult to say that it was good value it is definitely worth eating there at least once for the experience, but check the menu before booking.

The beach was very nice but the sea is quite rough and really for experienced and strong swimmers. While there are numerous hammocks and sunbeds under the palm trees (which do not actually give good shade) there are no sunbeds on the beach, or even overlooking it which was disappointing. If there had been more demand for the pool sunbeds, which there was on our last morning as a large party of French tourists arrived, I am not sure that the palm tree bed/hammocks near the beach would be a suitable alternative because of the patchy shade and also because there was no pool close by in which to cool off.

Despite some little niggles (not really complaints - just what we would ideally like) Marari beach is a really nice place and we very much enjoyed our stay and we have lovely memories of our relaxing holiday time there. I could definitely recommend staying at Marari.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Marari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from "Marari Beach"

Thank you so much for the detailed feedback. It was very much encouraging for the entire team to read such a wonderful review.We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed our quality of food, services and all other facilities. All your valuable suggestions has been noted very positively and all possible changes are already in place.We thank you once again for all your suggestions which is always a platform to do better.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you back for a longer experiential holiday with us.

Warm Regards

Subrahmanian.P

General Manager

Marari Beach

A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Something is seriously wrong with this hotel. It took around 20 minutes waiting in front of closed gates until a "manager" showed up. Without a word of greeting, he said "The rooms here cost 40.000 rupees a night" (approx. 700 USD, exorbitant for India and in fact three times of the actual price when you book on the internet). Once we were let in, the place seemed empty (the parking lot was empty, and there was nobody to be seen except a group of Arabic speaking men with long beards who stared at us). The experience was so strange and creepy that we decided to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsea_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Marari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from" Marari Beach"

It is a very much shocking for us. You might have gone elsewhere.

Warm Regards

Subrahmanian.P

General Manager

Marari Beach

A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our last 3 nights at the end of a package tour of Kerala. Could not wish for a more peaceful and relaxing place to chill out before travelling home. The rooms are large, mostly individual bungalows, with semi outside bathrooms, very comfortable and well appointed. Its a bit of a walk to the beach but that offers plenty of space between the trees for loungers. The pool is large and warm with lunch snacks available and afternoon tea served at 4pm every day. The staff here are all very friendly and helpful, I even had a personal guided tour of the butterfly garden by one of the security guards. There is also a resident wildlife expert giving walks around the grounds spotting far more than I ever could! Tuk Tuk trips to local attractions can be arranged, I can recommend visiting the local fish landing area, a 20min ride away for two people just £4 return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Marari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from" Marari Beach"

Thank you immensely for the wonderful words you shared about "Marari Beach" It is very much heartening for us to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed butterfly garden visit, beach,our coconut grove, and fish landing experience. We take lot of pride in maintaining the eco friendly practices we follow. I have already passed on your compliments to my team members. The entire team Marari is delighted to welcome you back for another memorable experience.

Warm Regards

Subrahmanian.P

General Manager

Marari Beach

A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

First of all, we didn't stay at this resort. We would have but the very officious security folks on the gate wouldn't let us in. Our plan was to have lunch and book a room for several days hence. We were told that lunch wasn't for half an hour, we'd have to eat the buffet, and that there weren't any rooms available anyway. That was the end of it for us.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank canadatraveljunkie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Marari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from" Marari Beach"

As per CGH culture, none of our staff are expected to behave like this. i am sure that you might have gone elsewhere.

We request you to come and stay with us and have a wonderful experiential holiday .

Warm Regards

Subrahmanian.P

General Manager

Marari Beach

A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
0.6 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
2.5 mi away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
741 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,729 reviews
8.4 mi away
Coconut Lagoon
Coconut Lagoon
#3 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Beach Resort

Address: Mararikulam 688549, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Price Range: $140 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marari Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marari Beach sprawls across 55 acres of lawns, far-flung lotus ponds and whispering coconut groves, all threaded through with stone- flagged pathways. Living: Modelled on the fishermens' dwellings of Mararikulam, your accommodations are a fine balance between traditional form and modern function. Dining: At Marari Beach, you can enjoy the simple traditional dishes of the fisherfolk (along with, of course , a variety of international cuisine favourites) at our verandah- style restaurant. Dinners are candlelit, often with live music. Healing: Marari Beach has a fully equipped ayurvedic centre, so you can get all the benefits of this ancient system of medicine. Put yourself in the hands of our expert masseuses and you'll feel reborn. There are also regular yoga classes on the beach, in the thick of a cool coconut grove. The locale, we're told, does wonders for your inner serenity. Need we say more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Marari Beach Resort Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing