We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marari Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My friend and I (as part of a group) finished our tour of Kerala with a stay at Marari Beach Resort.
The bungalows with outside shower and toilet facilities were very good although the thatch does make the interior very dark. The grounds are spacious and well laid out. The swimming pool is lovely, although on occasions there were no available sun loungers. As a vegetarian the choice of food was very good but it would have been nice to have more choice at the salad bar. Wine is very expensive and therefore it would have been better to be able to buy it by the glass. I loved learning about meditation from a real expert and it was free. Because of the location and the low lit grounds there was nothing to do in the evening after leaving the restaurant. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful but others, especially in the restaurant could only manage very false smiles which were dropped as soon as they turned away..However my two main gripes are (a) the useless lifeguard - I asked him one day if the swimming was ok and he suggested it best to count the sets of waves to get in and out but I felt unsure, especially when he went back to his seat in the shade under the trees and out of sight of the edge of the sea, also there was no life saving equipment so I missed out on my swim; (b) the only time during the week our beds were made was when the linen was changed after 3 days, otherwise the cover was simply pulled over the rumpled sheets so we had to make our own beds, also the floor was not cleaned properly especially under the beds. Also we had problems with mosquitoes and until we asked there was nothing was supplied to keep them out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    240
    58
    28
    11
See reviews for
221
403
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A good place to relax before the long flight home. The villas were comfortable and air conditioned. We particularly liked the black goats and their playful kids used one day outside our villa as environmentally friendly lawn mowers. The staff were friendly and fairly efficient . The excellent swimming pool was cooler than the sea! The beach was fine although the sea tended to get roughish in the later afternoon.
Meals were good, although almost too much choice. The puddings were really good.
Not too far to the airport for an early morning flight for which a packed breakfast was provided without asking.

Room Tip: Depends on how far you wish to walk to the other facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slippaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I package holiday with Saga entitled "Soul of Kerala" finished with a 3day stay at the Marari Beach Resort which we extended to 6 days. A good choice as the it must be one of the most relaxing places on earth!! Set just off the Arabian Sea the the sandy beach extends into the hotel grounds fringed with coconut trees. The accommodation consist of individual coconut cottages, spacious and tastefully decorated. There is a large swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds and coconut sunshades. Staff are readily at hand to provide sunbed towels and there is a handy bar side menu if you want to eat by the pool. The restaurant is superb with an evening buffet serving a wide range of authentic Keralan food. There is also a fish grill restaurant just off the beach for a more romantic setting and serving the fresh catch of the days fishing. All the staff are wonderful and so helpful at all times. The Hotel shop sells a wide range of clothing and Indian jewellery etc. and not too expensive. If you wish to relax further there are daily yoga and meditation sessions. A must is to watch the sunset over the Arabian Sea. Just sitting on the beach at 6.30pm and see a huge red globe slowly settting. Give it a try!

Room Tip: If available ask for a room the overlooks the beach & sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Of the 12 hotels that we stayed at on our 3 week visit to Southern India Marari Beach must rate as my No 1. The hotel is truly amazing. Nothing is to much trouble. Nimi on reception was wonderful and an asset to the company. Thank you Nimi. We could not find fault with any thing. All the staff made you feel at home, and were very friendly. The food was brilliant and had an amazing choice. Loved the afternoon tea and snacks by the pool. CGH Earth group have got there 100% Eco policy just right. If we visit Southern India again we will most certainly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, north carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

even though finding your thatched bungalow is a bit of a challenge. Beach is lovely; however, the water was too rough during our stay. Fierce thunder and lightning storms at night downed the free wi-fi in the public areas. They also appear to nightly have a free classical dance program, and cooking class. The facility appears to offer a number of activities.The downside to this resort is the dinning room. Service there was not good, and, quite, frankly neither was the food. Had to wait over an hour for a meal one night, the next night we went to the Beach seafood restaurant, which is very pricey for India, Our seafood meal was served at a very cool temperature, and, am amazed we didn't get any ill effects from it. Pool is well kept, and they have a bit of a tea time by the pool at 4 pm, Brit style, and its free!

Room Tip: One you can find without great difficulty
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

It’s with great reluctance that I’m downgrading the 5 star review that I gave to this – one of my favourite places in the entire world – last year.

We stayed for 2 full weeks this year and, over that time, the inadequacies of the hotel’s wifi system really got us down. There’s no facility in the (lovely) rooms – only in reception and a handful of other locations all a 5-10 minute walk away and all rather public, as well as being hot, often dark and (at dusk) insect-plagued. And once there, the system is web-based (impossibly expensive on Blackberries) and demands the entry of absurdly complicated codes (expiring every 3 days and available only from reception) for each separate device on every separate occasion of use. And that’s on the expeditions when the router wasn’t down anyway (four times for us in 14 days)! The manager has promised serious improvements before next winter, but I’m going to check before I book and, if you need reasonable communications, so should you.

The other small negative on a long stay like this was the limited lunch menu with no variations from day to day (unlike the daily “specials” offered last year). In contrast, hardly a single recipe on the extensive and excellent dinner buffet was ever repeated.

These things said, it’s a truly wonderful place and the staff in all departments make the most extraordinary efforts to make guests feel very, very well cared for. If they can sort out the wifi, I’ll definitely be back for another long stay. Indeed, I’m almost counting the weeks already.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I rarely return to the same place within such a short space of time, but this little bit of paradise is irresistible. This review builds on my previous one from my visit a year earlier.

All the things that impressed me the first time, continue to impress! A most beautiful setting of palm and coconut trees on a private beach. An eco resort that truly cares for the environment. And above all, a staff that provides the most friendly, personable and unpretentious service.

We finished off our trip to India with six nights of relaxation here, after starting off at Coconut Lagoon and Spice Coast Cruises. We visited during the San Sebastian festival and I highly recommend catching a rickshaw to visit the basilica - in the evenings you can also catch some colourful parades on the street!

Back at the resort, you can enjoy meals made of the freshest locally sourced ingredients by chefs who are proud of their work and care about their customers, like all other staff.

The afternoon tea cart by the pool is still a hit and signals the beginning of gorgeous sunsets and a very relaxing mellow atmosphere to ease you into the evening. Throw in an Ayurvedic treatment, and you won't want to go home!

The bungalows/villas are very rustic - there are no TVs, which we certainly didn't miss. They are kept in top condition and the thatched roof gets replaced annually. It makes you feel one with the surroundings!

I hope this place remains special, for many years to come!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
0.6 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.5 mi away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
0.4 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
8.4 mi away
Coconut Lagoon
Coconut Lagoon
#3 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Beach Resort

Property: Marari Beach Resort
Address: North S.L Puram, Mararikulam 688549, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marari Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco resort run by CGH Earth on the beach at Mararikulam, kerala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Marari Beach Resort Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing