We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marari Fishermen Village Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xandari Pearl(Mararikulam)
$125
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$376
$283
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Achayans Homestay(Mararikulam)(Great Value!)
$21
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marari Beach Resort(Mararikulam)
$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$72
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$67
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Plage Marari(Mararikulam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camelot Hotel(Alappuzha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
69
21
18
19
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
21
18
19
31
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 158 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

this was our last stop on our recent tour of india - after spending a month touring nortern india, we were ready to chill out.
we found this to be exactly what we were after - quiet/remote, beautiful beaches and time to unwind and relax.
we were a little surprised on getting back to read some of the earlier reviews- it's obviously horses for courses - but this suited us fine - it wasn't the Ritz, but it was clean, comfortable and rustic
as for the comments about the open bathroom - that was a huge plus point for us - imagine showering watching the stars - or has happened one evening watching a terrific lightning storm and taking a morning shower to the sound of the local temple chants - quite enchanting definitely not what we would call unacceptable.
The restaurant served some really lovely food - and we would also say the comment about it closing at 7.30pm was completely not the case while we were there.we enjoyed all our meals- the chef put a lot of effort into making them and came out personally to speak to us to ask if all was ok.
All the staff were incredibly helpful- no there was no "intercom" to speak to them??? as someone earler has mentioned - we didn't have any need for such a thing- the staff were always in evidence and we regularly saw one or other walk past and they invariably asked if we needed anything - getting bottled water was never an issue.
The swimming pool is fully operational - only small but quite usable, the big plus is that this hotel is right on the beach - a huge unspoilt white sand beach - just like the bounty bar advert- the tide may be a little strong in places- but even i as as a poor swimmer could still take a dip in the sea safely - the beach is really beautiful- we walked for two hours along the shore and met just a few fishermen - bliss a real escape from the rat race - if that is what you want - this is the place for you - we had a great chill out time here - and the staff made our stay memorable - thank you to them

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CommonPeople-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohmkumaratdcalleppey, General Manager at Marari Fishermen Village Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Sir / Mam,

first of all , thanks for your visit to our property and thanks for putting your reviews in our page.

we are much happy to know that you had a nice experience with our service and accommodation. This will help us to serve better to the other clients.

We were actually in the renovation stage for the last 4 moths time and it was all over now. You had the visit during the final stage of the renovation and that time our Intercom was out of order. Now the things are clear .

we are much happy to know that, you had enjoyed the open bathroom, our precious beach, service and all.

Assuring you the same quality service and accommodation for your future visit too.

Sreeram
Fishermen village beach resort
08589 818 818

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Marari Fisherman village is not a resort. we stayed in cottages- some had working AC, Most of the cottages had open bathroom which was unacceptable. As we had 3 cottages, we had to stay in cottage with Bathroom open to sky. Intercom, Fridge, Geyser is not in every cottage. Only 2-3 cottages have each of this. Intercom was not working; had to call mobile of staff for even a jug of water. No bottle water or jug was kept in any cottage. We had a bad time following up when we needed regular drinking water. Dinner time closes at 7:30pm. Food was below average. Hotel staff said 'Very Small' swimming pool is just finished construction.
Best: Proximity to Beach & Beach Beds on their private beach.
Would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Please mention at time of booking if you need basic-good amenities in cottage as most cottages lack basic amenities.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRIJIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We only stayed one night - that was one night too many. The list of disasters were: cockroaches, broken flush on toilet, wash basin tap spins a full circle, dirty, torn sheets, all knobs on drawers etc broken off... I could go on. When we arrived the staff said we could swim in the sea and there were lifeguards - both were untrue - the sea was raging, very pretty but not safe to swim in. It really felt as if this hotel was still being built and was not yet ready for business. The swimming pool is still under construction. I have to say the food was very good, although slow to arrive. This place is totally isolated so there is no escape! We should have stayed 2 nights and if we could have moved immediately we would have - unfortunately we were on an Explore trip and they refused to move us sooner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked in this hotel for 30-may-2013 for 1 night 1 room single cottage. After reaching hotel, I found that the photos shown in the site are manipulated and they do not have any cottage facing sea. The service was so poor I am forced to go to another hotel after traveling a long distance. The food served is poor and they do not have any items in the meals menu. The road to the resort is so poor and the resort is not clean. I wonder how they could charge this much for the stay.
• Not a secure place to stay, no compound wall, anyone can enter into the resort from sea side.
• High price
• Poorly managed resort, not clean no maintenance
• Food is very bad and no items available as they specified in the food menu
• Don’t simply book by seeing photos you may regret.

Room Tip: I booked in this hotel for 30-may-2013 for 1 night 1 room single cottage. After reaching hotel, I found that the photos shown in the site are manipulated and they do not have any cottage facing sea. The service was so poor I am forced to go to another hotel after traveling a long distance. The food served is poor and they do not have any items in the meals menu. The road to the resort is so poor and the resort is not clean. I wonder how they could charge this much for the stay. • Not a secure place to stay, no compound wall, anyone can enter into the resort from sea side. • High price • Poorly managed resort, not clean no maintenance • Food is very bad and no items available as they specified in the food menu • Don’t simply book by seeing photos you may regret.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Praveen_Reghunath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The place is very expensive for what it offers, but this is the usual thing in Kerala. The rooms are ok with high standard indian bathrooms. Free but slow wifi on a hotel laptop is available. Hotel has a restaurant with average food. The hotel instalations are rather poor and there is not much to do. Possibility of doing Ayurveda treatment.

The beach is nice, scarcely any people but lots of crabs there. In the morning you will meet the local fishermen and watch them doing their different jobs. Afterwards you will be able to see their intestines production at the beach.

Far from Allepey which is not so bad, as Allepey is rather unattractive. In Allepey eat in the Palace: a hotel with restaurant.

Houseboat trip should be done if you did the long way to Kerala. In the high season the prizes are 100% up. 13000 Rps for a one night sleepover trip is what we paid. 18000 was requested by the mafia youngster of the tourism office who only told us lies and menaced 2 different couples. Beware of the local Tourism office, ther is a corrupt youngster making his private business like they always do in those Government Tourist information offices, but this one is aggressive.

Good info was given at: The dream boats by Mr. Sreekumar, near the Allepey bus station.

Maybe Kollam is a better option to start the houseboat trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews