We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Gem”

Review of Villa Portia

The Side View Of Villa Portia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Side View Of Villa Portia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The Side View Of Villa Portia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mararikulam, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A Gem ”
Reviewed May 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Walking with our friends to pick a restaurant we were put off by all the pr people outside each restaurant , Oportia looked busy and we observed the staff attending to customers , we asked for 7 seats out side and in no time we were seated, had menus and a drink . The waiter explained the menu , everyone loved their meals the Champagne Prawns a highlight , the Steak Diana was very tender with a lovely tasty sauce , we finished the meal with Irish Coffee - the best in Funchal ( fresh cream) . A great restaurant with excellent ,attentive , friendly staff - a must to visit in Funchal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siankearn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay in quiet cottage - 5 minutes from the beach”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our stay in the cottage was great. We were greeted by Moniachen the caretaker who welcome us with fresh lemonade which was delicious. We were shown to our room which was very spacious, clean and with own bathroom and air conditioning.

Moniachen was very friendly and entertaining although English isn't great but you can still communicate with him just about with some gestures! He will cook breakfast in the morning for you and serve to you in the dining room. Breakfast was huge, with dosa, omelette, fresh fruit, juice, tea, coffee. Very tasty! He stays at the property but does not interfere with your stay. He's always available for any questions you might have.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedMaedhb...
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is worth staying here to meet Munchin”
Reviewed March 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Our group (three friends) stayed in Peter's accommodation for two nights in late January 2018. The house is very spacious, clean and about 10 mins walk from Marari beach. We didn't meet Peter on our stay but we were well looked after by Peter's utterly charming property manager Munchin. Munchin couldn't have done more to make our stay more comfortable or to make us feel more welcome. He provided a great breakfast on both mornings and was very knowledgeable about the plants & crops growing in large garden.

Also use google translate to converse with Munchin, he is very entertaining.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irregular...
All over
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location in Marari with the nicest hosts”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Peter & his property manager are two of the kindest souls I've met over the course of nearly 10 years living and/or traveling within India. Kerala is a special place for me, and staying in Mararikulam has been something I've wanted to do for a while. With me was a friend who rarely travels internationally and had never been to India.

Between the both of us, and with very different comfort levels about travel & India, we both decided staying at Villa Portia was an inspired decision. Not only is the location of the villa fantastic, but the home itself is spacious, inviting, and very comfortable. And, having Mr. Peter's property manager to greet you in the evening when you come home and make breakfast for you in the morning ensured that we started and ended our days with smiles.

I don't mean to sound disingenuous by my enthusiasm for Villa Portia. Instead, I mean every word and hope you'll take the chance to stay at Villa Portia if you decide to visit the area. I hope that folks like Mr. Peter are rewarded for taking on the challenge of opening up a special place for visitors. I think his work and that of many others is what can make traveling such a delight.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2017
Hi ,
Thank you for taking the time off for writing such nice comments.It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. Looking forward to have you at our property again.
Regards,
Peter Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside64...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling like at home”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Villa Portia is a place of charm and total rest for the body and The spirit. Just a step from the very beautiful beach(range) of Marari; we feel at home there.
Moniachen knows how to take care of the hosts.
Everything is Organic; fruits, vegetables and the very fresh fish. The food is very good.
The organic coffee is excellent .
The owner Peter Paul is very pleasant.
I recommend this place .
Thank you again for these 5 days shared with you.
Best regards Béatrice and Elisabeth ( FRANCE )

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Dear Beatrice and Elisabeth,

Greetings!

Thank you for your review and happy to know that you had a pleasant stay at Villa Portia.
Looking forward to have you again on your next holidays .

Warm Regards,
Peter Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rony P
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feel at home !!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 2 nights with my colleagues. It was great pleasure to reside over here and appreciate your arrangements Very nice location with great service and ambience. Price was affordable..Firmly recommend to all. Well maintained. Great stay, the staff was very friendly and courteous. The rooms were very clean and had all the amenities. The service is excellent,
Overall a feel at home experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_xvr
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed for 2 days, had a very comfortable stay . The rooms were very spacious and cozy ! The beach was nearby hence we could take early morning walks in the beach which was a very good experience !!! The food was authentic and homely !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very Courteous Staff!! Access to beach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing