We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel downtown”
Review of Hotel Zaculeu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huehuetenango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Zaculeu
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Huehuetenango
Tuxtla Gutiérrez
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel downtown”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

A really good place to stay, the cost is a little expensive compared to other hotels in Huehue, it's only a block to the central park, the rooms are great as well as the bathrooms, it has a beautiful living room full of plants, they also have a tourist guide who can give you different options for you to visit around the city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrigordillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
6
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The courtyard was the best. We sat outside enjoying the surrounding every night.
Our room was not fancy, but clean. I liked my bed, but the pillow could give you a black eye if you hit it too hard. I relied on my travel pillow a lot. My room was quiet, but some of our other group members had rooms on the street and the bars and nightlife kept them up all night.
The only meal I ate here was breakfast. It was fine. The employees were very accommodating and friendly.
No frills, but a nice time anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Appletot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Though you are just one block from the central park of Huehuetenango, when you enter, you are in a delightful tropical garden, greeted by friendly, efficient people. Your room is clean, well appointed, thoughtfully decorated, spacious, and quiet. We were on the second floor; downstairs facing the courtyard is also good. Breakfast at the restaurant is delightful.
There are two computers for public use and Wifi throughout.

We were there just one night,passing through. We would have liked to stay another couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WenigerGottquatsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
550 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We phoned a day in advance to reserve our room, which wasn´t a problem, but could have been, since most of the services connected to the hotel (bar- restaurant) close early on Saturdays, and close completely on Sundays. By phone, they had offered a room on the 2nd level, but we preferred a room on the main patio, which had more colonial style charm according to us (and no problems of noise, maybe because of the bar-restaurant being closed on Sundays?). Wifi free. Warm water is really hot, which can be appreciated after staying elsewhere in Guatemala. Friendly staff. More central in Huehue you cannot get.

Room Tip: rooms on the central patio (where the reception is) have more colonial charm than the others on othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staff here were friendly and went out of there way to accommodate guests. Even at the bar, they were willing to lend glasses when some of our group opted for cocktails in-room. Food in the restaurant was good, and they even managed breakfast one morning in spite of a power outage. Beds were comfy, and the shower among the best I've come across in Guatemala. There's a nice covered courtyard to lounge in. Location is good, just a block from the plaza. Consider an interior room if you're not an early riser; traffic gets very noisy very early.

Room Tip: Consider an interior room if you're not an early riser; traffic gets very noisy very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC_in_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I called the night before I wanted to stay, since there was an inconvenience in our trip. They were very friendly and accommodated me and my friend to one of their best rooms. Over the phone they had told me they reserved room 1 for us and when we showed up (several hours before check in, since we had taken an over night bus trip to Huehue) they said they thought we might like a bigger room. Room was nice and clean. Beds were comfy. Bathrooms were pretty big, though shower clogged a little. They had helpful tips all over the bathroom to conserve energy and water. There was hot and cold water available not only to shower but to drink. They have a restaurant on premises, though we decided to go else where since prices seemed a little high. Parking is available. And this place is located one block away from downtown/ parque central. Over all an excellent stay in this great town. Best part, staff- for sure. Just having them be so helpful and friendly in our difficult time made the stay worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_citizen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Clean and simple is what you get at the Hotel Zaculeu, as well as friendly staff, and a good location right near the main square. It was perfect for several colleagues and I who had traveled there for work. Nice atmosphere and nice courtyard inside. There is a protected area to park your car. And plenty of hot water for showers!! Good value. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor which I think is better than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMMgo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huehuetenango
1.0 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#3 of 9 in Huehuetenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ruinas Resort
Hotel Ruinas Resort
#1 of 9 in Huehuetenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Chacra de Joel Hotel
La Chacra de Joel Hotel
#2 of 7 in Huehuetenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Posada Rural y Ecuestre Unicornio Azul
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaculeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaculeu

Property: Hotel Zaculeu
Address: 5 Av. 1-14, Huehuetenango 13001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Huehuetenango Department > Huehuetenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Huehuetenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing