We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel, loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel, loved it.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

my husband and I were going to the riu merengue for 2 weeks in Puerto Plata and I thought it would be nice to stay somewhere else for 2 nights to experience a different area.
I found this hotel through trip advisor and contacted them by email.
Right from then they were very efficient and answered my queries very quickly. The hotel was great, unusual decor, beautiful bathroom, and lovely outdoor areas.
Restaurant good and all staff very welcoming.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanbangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    99
    15
    5
    12
See reviews for
27
100
129
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the Casa Valeria for 4 days on a business-related trip to Sosua, and have already booked a return visit. The whole place is spotless and very well managed. The rooms are located away from the street, and have every convenience that I need, including a mini-fridge stocked with a wide range of beverages. The bathrooms look ultra-smart with trendy German glass sinks and counters. My only complaint was the difficulty in getting the mechanical stoppers in the sink drains to engage in order to fill the sink bowl with water. The water continually leaked down the drain. Also the television set was quite loathe to be activated. The location of this charming boutique hotel could not be more central. Virtually everything in Sosua is within a short walking distance, including several fine beaches. The selection of breakfasts is quite remarkable, and the quality of the food excellent. Indeed I recommend dining in the restaurant, not only because the food is well-prepared and tasty, but hotel guests receive a 10% discount on lunches or dinners in the restaurant.Any way you look at it, this place is a bargain not to be missed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, except #1 has a small bathroom with no hot water to the sink; the shower is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have been traveling to the islands for 20 years. This is our second time staying at Casa Valeria in Sosua Dominican Republic. The hotel, restaurant and staff are impeccable. We highly recommend Casa Valeria to anyone traveling to Sosua. Thank you Arien and Diana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The rooms are impeccable in cleanliness, the location perfect, walking distance to everything you could possibly want. Its secure, and the pool is clean and grounds are also perfectly kept.. Dutch run hosts are incredibly gracious and helpful. The restaurant too is well run and menu is varied and exquisitely prepared. Its the tucked away secret I almost dont wish to share.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved the place! To the manager, Frank(originally from Sweden), to the chef, Wilson and all the staff, we thank you for your friendly attitude and great service. Originally, I had booked via internet a room with a two queen beds at the Sea Breeze for my family and extended family from the Dominican Republic(my wife's Dominican.). They had advertise new rennovated rooms. We took Caribe Tours from Santo Domingo to Sosua where I had a rental car waiting with a driver. I have made many trips to the D.R, so was familiar with some of the Do's and Don'ts in the DR. One of the Do's is once you find a trustworthy source for travel, rentals, etc. stick with it if you feel you are being treated well and fairly. Anyways, once we arrived at the Sea Breeze, we find the place way below expectations. The rooms with two beds were very small and not rennovated. NO WAY I was staying there even if $65/night! We started our search for another place but given it was holiday season, we were having no success. I decided to stop at Casa Valeria. Originally, I thought this to be a nice place when viewed over the internet, but they were booked. I stopped at front desk and Frank was there. To my pleasant surprise, the ghotel just had a few room camcellations. Frank and I worked it out so that my family was able to stay in two separate rooms in close proximity for the 3 nights we required. It worked out for all. It was unexpectedly very quiet for a place in Sosua. The accomodations were very clean, the pool as well. We ate breakfast there two times. The food was good and reasonably priced. Overall, I would rate high based on prices, accomodations, etc. They have limited rooms, so book early if you plan a trip. We plan to return. The Patterson family from Pittsburgh PA and DR.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I loved staying here. It is very easy to get to and right in the heart of Sosua. My girlfriend and I stayed here the first week of December for 3 nights. It was very good. The owners are around and it's nice to see they're so vested in their property. Our room was tucked away and I loved it. It felt like coming home instead of coming to a hotel. I think when she requested the room she asked for a king bed and while we got a queen we decided not to say anything since they put us above another couple and away from the single travelers that tended to come in late. It rained most of the time but it was still great. The restaurant was awesome. It was pricier than something you can find in Puerto Plata but still very inexpensive compared to the U.S. I have absolutely no complaints and highly recommend anyone to stay here you will love it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicanLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's 1.5 blocks away from the night life and you don't hear a sound of it. Centrally located, very well maintained, and excellent staff. I will always stay here when in Sosua. Got the feeling they book full so might be tough at last minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.0 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 30 in Sosua
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#3 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa-22
Casa-22
#10 of 30 in Sosua
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condo Hotel Plaza Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle dr. Rosen 28 | El Batey, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Sosua, on the North coast of the Domincan Republic, in a quiet street connected to two main roads, at the border of the centre of Sosua's nightlife with many restaurants and bars, only 5 minutes walk from the gorgeous bay and beach of Sosua, you will find Hotel, Restaurant & Bar "Casa Valeria".The Hacienda style hotel is situated in one of the most central but yet quiet spots of Sosua. The atmosphere is best described as "relaxed". Harmony, simplicity and respect for our guests are our most imported issues. "Casa Valeria" is the perfect place for you quiet holiday in lively city. The nine hotel rooms and studio's in the around the pool build cottages are equipped with the all the desired comfort. In our restaurant you can enjoy your breakfast in the morning and our chef will prepare you best dishes for dinner. The menu consist a large variety of international dishes and will change with the seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Valeria Sosua
Casa Valeria Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing