We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”
Review of New Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Garden Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Sosua
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2010

My first trip to DR. But i noticed that 90% of all places were all inclusive. That was not what I ever want. That is like being locked into a place and I wanted to come and go, eat, drink go anywhere at anytime. The new garden is perfect for that. Get a room in the new wing. Wilfred will help you with reservations and is very helpful. Walking distance to everything. Including the spectacular beach. a million places to eat, drink, shop or hang out.

Hotel is clean, my room had very hot water, tv with all SAT channels, digital safe, a/c, jacuzzi and was fine. Kind of noisy at times when the motochonchos drive by the road with no mufflers. The food at the the hotel was excellent. Room included breakfast. But other meals were very good as well. It has a well stocked bar. security guard at night.
nice pool with a little too much chlorine for my tastes.
I plan to stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank donhosbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
4
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Hi I just came back from Sosua, I stayed at the New Garden Hotel.
Hotel was Incredible, Food great ( service was a little slow) as they only have 1 person doing bar & eating area.

The hotel rooms were basic but very clean, with amazing hot water (the hottest I have ever had in Dominican Rep). Air Conditioning and T.V. were working fine

Overall the best hotel I have ever stayed in, in the Dominican Rep.

The Town of Sosua is quite small and A LOT of bars, Lots of girls looking for men. (watch your wallet) The rum is good but will catch up to you suddenly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alwaysgoodtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

If you and your friends are single travelers then you don't have to look any further than the New Garden Hotel........it's Ground Zero for anything you could possibly want on a vacation at this 37 room resort with it's central location and a minute walk to the bars, discos and restaurants.......and ten minutes walk to Sosua Beach which is beautiful........the owner and staff aim to please and it shows.........the spacious rooms are nice with nicely appointed bathrooms and offer a lot bang for the money with refrig, ceiling fan, cable TV, hairdryer, A/C and comfortable beds........there is a nice pool and patio area........and a nice bar/restaurant and dining area to hangout and chill.........breakfast is included in the room price and all the food is excellent here......the pool area is a favorite area for guests to mingle and socialize as everyone is overly friendly here........the New Garden caters to single travelers and particularly the males.......there is no low season for the New Garden as the rooms are in demand 365 days a year......so book accordingly.........

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank FLRocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

I stayed just for a few nights for a hobby that brings me to the DR. The new wing was still under construction but the regular part of the hotel was nice for the DR. Clean and comfortable. Wilfred the manager is Awesome! Took care of transportation to and from POP airport. Wlaking distance from just about everything.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ILMpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

I would definitely stay at the New Garden again. Wilson was very accommodating. Rooms are cleaned daily the AC works and there's hot water (a definite plus). One downside I've noticed is that late at night roughly around 3 in the morning the power goes out intermittenly. But it's not really a big deal considering most people are either sleeping or on their way to the Casino. Also, unfortunately the New Garden does not provide room service (volunteer at least). This is definitely a hotel for adults; either singles or couples.

And if you go, tell Gustavo, the overnight security, Damian says hello.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bransonthaidro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

NEW GARDEN HOTEL
C/Dr. Rosen #32
El Batey, Sosua
Dominican Republic
Phone: (809) 571-1557
Fax: (809) 571-2055
[---]

I just returned from an 8 day stay at the New Garden hotel in Sosua. The New Garden is very close to the middle of town, restaurants, and the beach, but yet is relatively quiet. I paid $40 a night during peak season for a clean basic second-floor room with double beds, shower, fridge, and a great balcony overlooking the pool. Air conditioning and ceiling fan were included, but I only needed to use the A/C for one day. The pool was clean and good-sized, and I used it every day.

New Garden is one of the several “girlfriend“-friendly hotels in the area, and it attracts its share of single men looking for Sosua night life. In general, though, things are pretty subdued, and it’s certainly possible for other types of travelers to coexist, as long as you choose your room carefully. Avoid the first-floor rooms - they are where the “mongers” (single men mentioned above) tend to stay. Those rooms are all large plate-glass and aluminum fronts with no balconies, and they look very much like storefronts. On the other hand, the second and third floor rooms (4 through 11, and 18 through 24) all have balconies, opening windows, better ventilation, and views. Rooms 18-24 also have an excellent rear view onto the local baseball field.

It’s also possible to dine out on a budget in Sosua. Some places are a little funky-looking, but I was fine eating everywhere. Rocky’s Bar and Grill (just up the street) has GREAT ribs, but you’ll have to wait an hour for them to cook. PJ’s in the middle of Sosua has a variety of decent breakfasts for $2 US. La Roca, next to PJ’s, also has good food and a $4 US buffet on Wednesdays. La Gaviota has good authentic Dominican food, with a complete dinner special at $4 US.

Room lockboxes at the New Garden (always recommended anywhere) are $2.50 US a night. Bring earplugs for sleeping for everyone, no matter where you stay in Sosua. Internet cafes are everywhere - rates are usually less than $2/hr US.

I would return to the New Garden without hesitation, as long as I could book one of the rooms mentioned above.

Helpful?
49 Thank awl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 34 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 34 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exxtraordinary Resort
Exxtraordinary Resort
#22 of 34 in Sosua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropix Hotel
Tropix Hotel
#6 of 34 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Garden Hotel

Property: New Garden Hotel
Address: C/Dr. Rosen #32 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel located just steps from the beach in Sosua and a few minutes from the international airport of Puerto Plata. Offering a variety of comforts and an excellent restaurant, is the ideal place to spend a wonderful, peaceful and safe holiday in the Dominican Republic alone, with friends or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your New Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing