We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at the Voramar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Voramar.
Henk and the entire staff were excellent. They were very attentive and addressed any minor issue I had.
I really liked that they arranged a taxi to pick me up from the airport and take me to the hotel. Since this was my first trip to Sosua, it was nice not to have to worry about the hassle of finding a cab and getting to the hotel. Henk also drove me back to the airport at the end of my stay.

If you are looking for a good place to stay while in Sosua, I highly recommend hotel Voramar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalReynolds17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 57 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Clean, good sized rooms. Great management (Henk & Joe) and wonderful Dominican hospitality by the bartenders and service ladies. I checked around all of Sosua and this is perhaps the best place in town for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankiefixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Henk is an excellent host. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is very well maintained and clean. Location is a short distance from downtown Sasua, but close enough to beach and shopping and resturants. I would stay again and highly recommend. Bob R. Tampa FL

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank RobertR768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed a Voramar in June 2013 for a fortnight during my maiden trip to Sosua, I was most certainly not disappointed, I loved it there and could easily have managed another two weeks. The Dutch (Henk) & German (Joe) management team do a magnificent job and with only twenty rooms you are quickly really made to feel like one of their friends.
Henk collected me from the local (POP) airport while Joe delivered me back and that in it's self represents a saving of $50.00 from the local taxi mafia.
Although Voramar target single guys as their chief area of patronage, I would most certainly not rule out staying there as a couple.
Rooms are simple yet comfortable & satisfactory with king size bed, walk in shower, flat screen TV, key safe deposit box and pool side balcony.
Location is a little out of the way from Sosua's lively night life (about 2-3km) but there are plenty of local motor concho riders in close proximity who'll take you for 50 pesos.
Their are two top class features of this place, the magnificent swimming pool with both pool side sun loungers & hammocks and the hotel's truly magnificent team of Dominican staff.....every single one of them made me feel so damn welcome, always smiling & laughing.
This trip to Sosua was only meant to be a one off however, it won't be long before I'm returning with Voramar as my address.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trexmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

An excellent hotel for the price you pay , a bit far from the city but you can rent a scooter for a reasonable price and within 5 minutes you are in downtown.
I loved the swimming pool and close to the pool the bar with friendly bartenders.
The ideal location for a single guy who would like to enjoy Sosua and its easy to make contact with other travellers in the Hotels especialy due to the efforts of Henk and Jou who run this hotel.
Would come back here anyhow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I’m just back from 1 week break in SOSUA, spent in VORAMAR hotel.
Henk (Dutch citizen) and Joe (German citizen0 are welcoming you not as a booking number but as a family member. Hotel is under European mind management with Caribbean freedom. Guest friendly; safety is ensured 24/24. ID card is requested for invited guest. Airport pick-up and drop is ensured for hotel guests.
Rooms are clear (bright), equipped with A/C – fan - safety box - fridge as well cable TV is available in room. They are daily cleaned, as well towels and bed sheep changed. German style breakfast offered from 7.00 to 12.00. Once a month an amazing BQQ is organized.
You can enjoy a daily cleaned and well maintained pool. Whole smiling staff is available to make your stay unforgettable.
Location of VORAMAR hotel is 10 minutes walking from noisy downtown. Moto taxis are available outside the hotel (1USD). I have really appreciate quite (no street noisy) nights. Appreciated also many advices received from Joe and Henk regarding any topics.
VORAMAR was my best hotel experience I made in SOSUA. I’ll for sure come back.
jm

Room Tip: Make your own experience... at Voramar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank asiana55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent a great time there, nice hotel, Sosua is not very big, everything is close but you will need to rent a scooter. The hotel rents at good prices. The casino is very close and beautiful women! Great time, I will go back for sure.
thank you for everything

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Javier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.9 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condo Hotel Plaza Europa
0.6 mi away
Victorian House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Voramar Sosua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Voramar Sosua

Address: Alejo Martinez | Playa Chiquita, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range: $46 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Voramar Sosua 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel Voramar in Sosua is the ideal Single-hotel with a Caribbean ambience and relaxed atmosphere. In this wonderful atmosphere you get to know fast. Friendships are made and often more, to know a large number of regulars to report. The standing under the German and Holland management Voramar Hotel in Sosua offers for singles (no charge) and clubs / groups of all ages (cf. Papers in prices on). However, couples and business people who want a relaxed atmosphere to feel at home here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Voramar Sosua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing