We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tropical turreted English B&B with lovely welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sosua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Serena Guest House
Ranked #8 of 32 Sosua B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Richard took excellent care of us on our three or four nights stay, including great local coffee in the mornings.

Beautiful round rooms, smashing breakfasts, secluded enough from the hubbub of Sosua without being isolated, excellent pool, four dogs keeping an eye on things, great views from balconies, highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank voyagingknave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leedsworldtravellers, Owner at Casa Serena Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure to meet you. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

Casa Serena was all that we had hoped for and more. We cannot praise it too highly. Our room was over looking the pool. It was simple. very clean and tastefully decorated. The pool is scrupulously clean and the gardens are lovely.

Wonderful breakfasts were included.

Richard and Richi are marvelous hosts. They gave us a lot of information about Sosua and surrounding areas which made our trip much more enjoyable. They have lived in Sosua for five years and were able to advise us and to recommend the best of the local and international restaurants.

We had no problems walking to the beach and using moto taxis and the local busses. They are both easy to use and Richard and Richi were very helpful with their advice.

We are a middle aged couple and have travelled all over the world. Mostly we have stayed in guesthouses. Casa Serena is without a doubt the best bed and breakfast experience that we have had.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpikeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We just returned from a week at the Casa Serena. Such a lovely house, gardens and pool. Richie and Richard are just great hosts and treat everyone like family, maybe even better than family. We have done much traveling and were very impressed with how clean and comfortable the rooms were. This is THE PLACE TO STAY in the Sosuo/Puerta Plata area. Look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelhorse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

That's when you hop on a raft at 5pm and just float in the pool and nap. No words can describe it. Late afternoon breeze, warm sun. It's perfect! This was my second trip to Casa Serena! Richard and Richie are the greatest hosts with smiles and breakfast every morning by the pool. This was a great vacation with great friends. Thanks again for everything guys! We will see you again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nycjen333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I came blind to this B&B, trusted the recommendations of friends who had visited in the past. After spending 10 days there I have to say I have NEVER, and I mean NEVER experienced a more relaxing vacation in my life! Richard and Richie are excellent hosts, full of class and know how to give their guests a warm, home like atmosphere. The rooms are kept spotless, the breakfast always delicious, well balanced and varied and the grounds are beautiful. They have 4 dogs who add to the charm of the home, but have no fear, if you are not a dog person the dogs are very well trained and not aggressive to the guests at all. All homes in the DR seem to have multiple dogs and they do increase your sense of safety, especially overnight. Both Richard and Richie are very knowledgeable of activities in the area and are more than happy to help you navigate the wide range of choices. I would come back to this B&B a million times over and you’d be a FOOL to pick any resort, especially an all inclusive over this unique experience!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I came to Casa Serena in July with a group of fantastic ladies (all of us getting some much needed quiet and rest away from New York) and was surprised at how unbelievably amazing my stay was here. Richard and Richie are two of the most awesome guys and made our stay in an already wonderful and beautiful place even better. I honestly felt instantly welcomed and relaxed because of the way they treated us like family from day one. The rooms are fantastic and well-maintained. The grounds are beautiful, and the guys are so super helpful with anything we needed.

Bring lots of sunscreen and bug spray and be prepared to never want to leave. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rheaeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Returned to Casa Serena last month for what was the best vacation I've ever had! If I could come here once a month, I certainly would. Richard and Richi are like family now.
They are wonderful souls, who take such great care of their property and their guests. We came as a group of 8 from NYC looking for a little down time... boy did we get it! These guys took such great care of us!!
The location is perfect for short day trips to beaches and towns (surfing and snorkeling nearby). The price is great. And the experience is priceless.
Book your trip!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0 mi away
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
0 mi away
Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel
0 mi away
Victorian House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Exxtraordinary Resort
Exxtraordinary Resort
#24 of 30 in Sosua
31 reviews
0 mi away
Sosua Sunset Hotel
Sosua Sunset Hotel
#22 of 32 in Sosua
17 reviews
0 mi away
Sosua Sweet Vacations
Sosua Sweet Vacations
#10 of 32 in Sosua
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Serena Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Serena Guest House

Address: Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sosua
Price Range: $55 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Serena is a private guesthouse close to Sosua offering an escape from the all inclusive crowds. 3 rooms and 1 studio mean you'll always be a guest and not just a room number. All rooms have A/C, cable TV,screens and en-suite facilities. There is a large swimming pool and landscape garden and use of our BBQ. The turret room has it's own private roof terrace for that all over tan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Serena Guest House Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing