We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best B&B Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Serena Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sosua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Serena Guest House
Save
You added Casa Serena Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 28 Sosua B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best B&B Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

What a great property and host! My partner and I were blown away by the incredible service, the property is quiet and relaxing.

I can't wait to go back - and hopefully if buy the place if ever on sale and I can afford it :)

Room Tip: Room by the pool is perfect,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RealEstateToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I just had to add to my wife's review below and thank Richard for turning us both onto B&Bs... I honestly can't see myself ever booking a 'hotel room' again.

This was my first experience staying at a B&B and we stayed almost a week here in Jan. 2011 for a quick vacation. When we travelled across Europe in the summer for six weeks later in '11 we ONLY looked at B&Bs because of our wonderful experience at Casa Serena.

To begin, you could not ask for more in a host, and you'll find Richard and his family of dogs make you feel right at home. Forget Frommers or Rick Steve's guides... chat with Richard over breakfast and you"ll hit all the best sights and restaurants and get great tips as well.

My main concern when booking was the distance from town... forget it, you'll be extatic you aren't staying closer come nightfall when the music gets turned up on the main strip. The walk into town is a short 15 min and a great chance to check out the local neighborhood. We hiked it every day, often twice.

Can't miss attractions:
1 - King Mundo museum.... just go and don't research it before you do. Trust me on this.
2 - Thai restaurant near Casa Serena
3 - Sosua beach... we went South to Cabarete, North to Puerto Plata.. Sosua beach was by FAR the best. Pay for a beach chair and relax the day away.

Enjoy... can't wait to book a return trip!

Room Tip: The 'excellent' fitness center was the walk into and back from town. Either room is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArthurBrunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in January of 2011. We had just been married and were looking for a quick week away! This place was perfect.

Richard has an amazing B&B! He keeps the place in excellent condition. We stayed in the ground room and the top room with a view. Richard was an amazing host, he had great tips on what to see and do. He told us about a Thai restaurant up the hill that was spectacular, he made the reservation, dropped us off and picked us up. He is such a great person. Please take the time to get to know him! Breakfast was beautiful and very yummy.

I was too scared to ride the motorcycle taxis so we walked into town everyday and walked home. It was roughly 15-20 minutes to walk. But a great time to chat and meet all the street dogs!

We highly recommend staying here! It was very peaceful and relaxing! We would definitely come back to stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful! We liked the ground room the best because we enjoyed our morning and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Wonderful B&B in a nice residential area in the hills above Sosua. Spotless, comfortable, nicely but simply decorated. Lovely pool and patio areas, and garden. Richard was a great host and went above and beyond to make me feel welcome. It was fun talking with him. Breakfasts were large and very good I never needed lunch. Very comfortable bed, nice linens, screens on the windows (there was a nice breeze, which made air conditioning unnecessary). I was in the turret room - large, bright and airy with great views.

Be aware that you are a bit far from town and the beaches, but if you don't have a car, it is easy to flag down a "moto" (taxi scooter) on the road for a ride in (about $30 pesos) and there are always plenty of them in town.

The neighborhood is generally quiet, allowing you to hear frogs and birds, but one night there was live music from a resort nearby and a neighbor played music loudly one day and evening. But all was quiet by 10 or 11 pm and most of the time it was nicely quiet.

The family dogs were great.

Be sure to ask Richard about the Thai restaurant further up the hill. It was great (see separate review) and he took me up and collected me afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rorinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a 2 week stay at the beautiful "Casa Serena Guesthouse" in June. Richard's hospitality was truly amazing...he made us feel at home as soon as we entered the property.We booked the "turret room",which has it's own private balcony,with great views across the surrounding area. It was great relaxing at the side of the swimming pool for a couple of hours,before taking a lazy 15-20 minute stroll into the town of Sosua and the beach. We booked a couple of organized day trips,one of which was snorkeling on "Paradise Island"... it was such a beautiful experience. We enjoyed our little chats with Richard,who advised us on how to get the best from our holiday. Would we go again ? YES ! Thank You so much Richard...for the memories !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brownbabyL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Canuck/Yank
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Casa Serena is located justed far enough away from the bustle of Sosua to make us feel like locals. Host Richard made us feel so welcome, and provided insights into the country we would have missed if we'd stayed at a big beach resort.
Our quiet comfortable room overlooked the large pool, perfect for our morning and afternoon dips. Resident dogs wagged their welcome. Breakfasts were delicious, served on the lanai overlooking the tropical garden,
We visited the Museo MUNDO KING - an eclectic collection of Haitian art, not to be missed.
Our stay was short - just two days - but perfectly relaxing. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svbreila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Richard took excellent care of us on our three or four nights stay, including great local coffee in the mornings.

Beautiful round rooms, smashing breakfasts, secluded enough from the hubbub of Sosua without being isolated, excellent pool, four dogs keeping an eye on things, great views from balconies, highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voyagingknave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leedsworldtravellers, Owner at Casa Serena Guest House, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure to meet you. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 33 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Marina Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sosua by the Sea
Sosua by the Sea
#9 of 33 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 33 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropix Hotel
Tropix Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Serena Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Serena Guest House

Property: Casa Serena Guest House
Address: Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Serena is a private guesthouse close to Sosua offering an escape from the all inclusive crowds. 3 rooms and 1 studio mean you'll always be a guest and not just a room number. All rooms have A/C, cable TV,screens and en-suite facilities. There is a large swimming pool and landscape garden and use of our BBQ. The turret room has it's own private roof terrace for that all over tan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Serena Guest House Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing