We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem in Sosua, D.R.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropix Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sosua
Naples, Florida USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true gem in Sosua, D.R.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I just returned from a trip with my daughter to Dominican Republic. We had the pleasure of staying at the Tropix Hotel in Sosua for three nights and it was, without a doubt, the highlight of our trip. It's location, on a quiet street a few blocks from the main street and the beach, was perfect. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go. The room was very spacious, clean, air conditioned and nicely decorated in a bright, tropical theme. The beautifully landscaped courtyard area is centered around a refreshing swimming pool. Breakfast, served poolside, was very good and inexpensive. The pancakes (made by Juan) were a must try. They were delicious. Our host, Carl, was very friendly and welcoming. He went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. He had great recommendations for local restaurants and sites to see in the area. He and Juan were even nice enough to take us to the '27 waterfalls' (a must see) and wait patiently until our tour was done. Then they took us to a restaurant serving authentic dominican food and on a tour of the area. It was fun to sit around and chat with Carl and the other guests about the culture, history and life in the D.R. If you are looking for a relaxing place that's a little lower key and not a big all-inclusive with way too many tourists, you will really enjoy the Tropix Hotel. It's a great value (at $44/night) for a gem like this. We were lucky to find it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
19
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was the 3rd time I've stayed at the Tropix over the last 15 years. Sylvie, the prior co-owner who passed away, was sorry missed but Carl, the manager, and his staff could not have been more accomodating and helpful. The hotel retains the same charm evident when I first stayed there some 15 years ago.

Room Tip: We chose a "suite" for just US$10 more/nite & enjoyed the extra space. I've staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tropix was the perfect place for my daughter and I to catch up with each other after a busy school year. From the moment we arrived the sense of peace and relaxation that we both craved was there. Getting away from the hectic pace of day to day life - television, work, responsibilities - was the goal of this vacation. We found that, and so much more during our stay at Tropix. Our inn keeper, Carl and all the staff made sure that we were comfortable and happy throughout out our stay. With Carl's help we were able to spend a magnificent day at Playa Grade and experience some of the local flavor never available to guests at the so-called all inclusive resorts. I will forever remember peaceful evenings, poolside, under the stars. My only regret? We didn't stay longer. I will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have frequented the Sosua area several times in the past few years and Hotel Tropix is by far the best place I have encountered. It is a quiet, tranquil, and private hotel just outside of the downtown Sosua area. It is almost like being in your very own oasis with a SPOTLESS pool surrounded by tropical flowers and plants. It is a great and convenient place if you just want to relax in a lounge chair by the pool all day, or if you want to explore the area a little more. Juan and Morena, the main staff, are some the most friendly and good-hearted people around. Juan makes amazing pancakes, delicious Dominican coffee, and a traditional Dominican lunch that is to die for. Rooms are always clean and have fans and AC. For an animal lover like me, Tropix was great! Lola and Ruby, the two dogs, are content to be by themselves and not bother you if you aren’t a dog lover, but if you are they are super sweet and are happy to hang out with you if you want. Overall, Tropix is a little slice of heaven nestled in Sosua. I will be returning there as soon as time allows.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhamil09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Sosua is no longer a tourist destination where people fly in from all
over the world to be locked away in all-inclusive beach resorts. Maybe
it never was. It's a village whose economy is undoubtedly based
on tourism, but it's more individual. A bit crazy even. People will
try to sell you stuff or offer a cab on about any street corner. On some
days more than on others. There are two beaches, one with large green
trees just behind the sand, with Dominican and foreign tourists. A
great supermarket that caters to tourists. Plenty of small
restaurants, bars, including Italian pizza (actually made by Italians)
and menus often written in four languages (Spanish, English, German,
Russian). Everything is affordable. Most things are in walking
distance. If you like it a bit more conventional or just something
else take a cab to neighboring Cabarete for a few bucks.
The Tropix Hotel is a small, but it has everything you need. It's
cheap and clean. Rooms have fan, AC, WLAN and a little fridge, simple
furniture and more than enough room for two people. There is a new TV
room in the main building (which we didn't use). Except for roosters
between four and five it was extremely quiet when we were there. The
pool is nice. It even has a little highly-welcomed shade in the
afternoon.
Tropix's biggest asset might be its staff. They are professional and
personal, always helpful, make excellent Dominican coffee and
breakfast under palm trees. Bring a flashlight. The last 200 feet to
the hotel can be dark at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maumau1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel to be wonderful. Hotel grounds and rooms were kept clean, comfy beds, AC, hot water and strong WIFI! Close to Sosuas city center but far away enough to feel safe and get a good nights sleep. Also in between Puerto plata and Cabarete, about 30 minutes each way- great location and price! Carl was an excellent host and very accommodating, we truly appreciated the effort he and the staff made in making sure we were all comfortable. Definitely recommend and can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank flowersallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Tropix for almost a week at the end of May. It was a wonderful experience and we were able to relax and enjoy the DR, knowing we would come home each evening to a clean, welcoming haven. The pool was so refreshing and was kept absolutely spotless. This hotel is not ultra fancy but it is very comfortable, cheerful, clean, and quiet. The hospitality of Carl, the manager, is delightful. We highly recommend Hotel Tropix. We were able to walk from the hotel to the beach, shopping areas, and many restaurants. The longer we were there, the bolder we got with eating the local food. We started out eating international cuisine from the amazing variety of restaurants and ended up LOVING the street vendors in the area. The mangos sold everywhere are to die for! If you take a taxi down the road a couple of miles to the bus station, there is a cafeteria there, just across the side street, with the best food we had the entire time in the DR. A restaurant called Dundee's, just down the road from the hotel, serves up the best pork chops we had ever eaten. The sister of the restaurant owner makes pimento jelly to go with them and the memory of that incredible meal has been with us ever since. Their ribs are great too!
We got our hair braided by some local women, who ended up charging us double what they originally offered, but it was all done with loads of laughter and fun...and was still dirt cheap! The local population is very dependent on tourist revenue so it felt good helping these women out a bit. Not to mention how much cooler we felt with our hair up in braids! A warning though...the locals are very persistent and will drag every peso out of your pockets if you even glance at what they are selling!
Juan, the hotel's taxi, was wonderful and reliable transportation when we needed a ride anywhere.
We visited Ocean World in Puerta Plata which was an incredible experience. We swam with the dolphins, played with beautiful love birds, and even got to handle a sea lion. It was well worth the cost and their bus picked us up at our hotel and transported us there and back for $5 each!
We had a wonderful honeymoon in the DR and wouldn't even think of a different hotel if we return there. Hotel Tropix was absolutely perfect for us! Thank you Carl!

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper room and it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 33 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 33 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#7 of 33 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropix Hotel

Property: Tropix Hotel
Address: #7 Calle Llibre, Sosua 28001, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sosua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first hotels in Sosua, Tropix is a wonderful alternative to the all-inclusives. Walking distance to the beaches, downtown and shops, but far enough to feel secluded. We're also small enough that groups and families can book all 10 rooms to have their own private hotel - a real treat for many! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropix Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing