We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coco Hotel
Ranked #21 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Sosua
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you expect a 5-star hotel for $30 a night then you will be dissapointed. But if you need a safe, clean, and afforrdable place to crash, then the Coco will suit your needs quite well. I stayed for a week with my friends and find the staff very accomodating to our requests. They really went out of their way to help you. The guests here come from all walks of life and are genuine characters. The location is 3 minute short drive to the center of town which is very convenient. I will definetly come back here if I were to visit DR again.

Room Tip: definetly visit see the beach behind the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    5
    6
    14
See reviews for
1
15
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in Coco for years and i recomened it to anyone it as everything i love it so much i go back everytime cant waite im going back in september i feel its so friendly Shelly and her family come to pick me up from the airport and they treat me like im one of the family the rooms are excellent service excellent only good things i can say about Coco Hotel and only good things i can say about Shelly and her Beautiful family they ate the best for sure !!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muuuuuuuuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Well..this is defiantly not the first time I have stayed at The Coco Hotel and it most certainly will not be the last!

Thanks so much to Shelley, Ian & Marlane and Jane for your stellar hospitality!

There is never a dull moment at The Coco Hotel! ALWAYS a great time surrounded by wonderful, kind people and tons of laughter creating unforgettable memories.

Keep up the great work guys! It’s such a pleasure to have an “At Home” feel when you are travelling!

Room Tip: **if you repeat your stay they try to keep you in the same room as you were in your last visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigStarPBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I travel to sosua alot have put alot of business the hotels way and told alot of my friends to stay there also. THIS TIME IN MARCH WAS THE LAST!!!
Shelly the owner was very rude towards me and insulted me calling me an english [--] could not believe my ears. She is a horrible rude person and gave us the worst room.COCKROACHES FILTH NO WATER PRESSURE. we didnt even get undressed or get in the bed. Shocking!!! will not be returning sorry Ian

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Naomi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

And I mean loco in a good way. I stayed at the Coco from 12/31/12 to 2/9/13 and enjoyed every minute. The Coco is clean, secure, economical, and fun. The Coco is not foo-foo, pretentious, or for cry babies. The secluded private beach is worth the price of admission. The cast of characters that stay in the hotel or frequent the bar will keep your interest up and spirits high.

The Coco offers basic rooms(I did not see the one larger room above the owner's apt.) for an affordable price. A queen bed, refrigerator(!), end table, dresser, and bathroom. That's it. There is no shelving in the bathroom, so storage is sparse. I brought a collapsible bucket to hang on the door and store some toiletry stuff.

Shelley, the owner, is accommodating of her guests. There is a kitchen for general use, but an apparent electrical problem rendered it inoperable. When I return, I'll bring an electric skillet to cook breakfast. The bar is the central spot for congregating, and was the scene of a few wild nights. The hotel is located in more of a residential section of Sosua, so you get a feel for the local rhythms. A lady cooks next door and there is a convenience store a block away. Across the street is a moto stand, and is convenient even when they rip off the gringos by charging double what locals pay for a ride into town(50 pesos, $1.25). The Wi-Fi signal was good enough to do some limited streaming of Youtube, but not HD.

There was no food service when I was there, but found that many restaurants would deliver meals to the bar on a motorcycle. That became my preferred method, especially for the marinated grilled chicken. Yum yum. They don't clean your room every day, but every two or three days. No big deal for me.

The Coco is not for everyone. During my stay two women checked in, one single, and one with her husband. The single gal checked out after three days, and the married one was a bit put off by the scene in Sosua in general, but seemed to enjoy the Coco. I would venture that if you're not an adventurous woman, this is probably not for you. But if you're an adventurous guy, the Coco is worthy of consideration.

The little problems did not bother me much, but you should be aware of them. The power went out, usually during the afternoon, about 3 times or so a week for 30 minutes to several hours. Some people complained of no water or no hot water from time to time, but I did not personally experience this. Some jerk was drinking at the bar, singing loudly, and annoying guests in their rooms. Oh yeah, that was me. Sorry.

I was looking for a place that was oriented primarily to single guys, and I found it here. I look forward to my return to the Coco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topdeckgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We landed at Puerto Plata around noon. Ian, the owner, came and picked us up at the airport for $15. By 2pm we were at the beach, accessed by a short jungle trail. The snorkeling was amazing, but a long swim to get out to the reef. Not a problem with fins. A short walk down the street is a small store to buy some beers. The hotel has a palapa bar that was a fun hang out late at night with lots of different nationalities to talk with about our plans for three weeks of backpacking around the DR. It's not the quietest street around, but I had no problem drifting off to sleep to the sounds of merengue way in the distance. The next morning there was coffee and a friendly kitty-cat to greet me at the bar. At the end of our three weeks we stayed again the night before flying out. It's a wonderful place to say hello, and goodbye to the DR. I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeykreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hi just did a trip (first time to The DR) on advice from a sigle buddy. I looked up read the reviews on Coco hotel, so I thought I would give it a shot. First nite dropped my bags after a long day of travelling went to the little outside bar down stairs, which is part of the hotel (did not even really look at my room). This is were I met Bernie and Judy tending bar, Judy is quieter but she knows whats going on were as Bernie (such a great guy he is also a new buddy for me) is a riot he is full of life stories of his travels around the world. From that moment on I had nothing but fun, it was like the tv show Cheers, different people showing up thru the nite/day, some local expats some visiting thru. Met some very nice people even a Irishman with a dog that has has a tail like a pig and a guy who has now become a friend Eric from England/USA/DR who took me under his wing. There is a corner store across the road for some of your essentials ie water beer or what ever, local ladies walk right by you at the bar selling fresh fruit so dont have to get that from the store.Your about 3-5 min by taxi to the strip like area, not the best place for couples or ladies (after the sun goes down) but awesome for the guys.Food was great try out the Jolly Roger great place Canadian owned so you feel at home. Back to my room, it was clean one bedroom with a full bathroom mine had a/c which I never used because the time of year (Jan) was not to bad on the heat/humidity. I used the fan tho at nite. The owners were away(one is a fellow Canuck) who I never met maybe next time. Exchange your money asap it just makes it easier (best day for exchange is Wed, or just get it from the bank ATM as you need ( make sure its a proper bank at banking hours to avoid any little machine problems). Anyways long story short, if you are a single guy or traveling with a wingman, get yourselves a room each go down to the bar say hi to Bernie/Judy and start enjoying yourself. telling them Steve the old fireman said hi...Im savin my useless Canadian pennies now to head back .

Room Tip: ask for one near the back of the complex, DR is a little louder than most N Americans are used to du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 33 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Condo Hotel Plaza Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Hotel

Property: Coco Hotel
Address: 151 A. Martinez, Sosua 32154, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Coco Hotel! We are one of the most affordable hotels in Sosua. We are within walking distance of 3 beautiful beaches and have one of the friendliest most popular bars in town. We are a quiet, clean hotel with 24hr security & managed by a live-in Canadian family. We have the best free wi-fi in town and back up generator for those weekly pwer outages. Come and have fun in Sosua, the Dominican Republic's Party Town. Live among the people of the Dominican Republic and enjoy one of the best climates worls wide. A laid-back culture with all the ameniyies of home in a very safe environment. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Coco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Hotel And Hostel
Coco Hotel Sosua
Sosua Coco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing