We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Rocky's is right in the middle of town. Walk or take a moto wherever you want to go. Great food and atmosphere! Lots of regulars and kind of an expat hangout. Rick is the absolute BEST for local information and assistance in so many ways.I ran into some issues while staying there and Rick helped tremendously. Note to the whiners - this is NOT the Hilton or a 5 star resort!!! It is good clean accommodation and great company!! There is LOTS of hot water if you are patient - it takes a few minutes. Thanks again Rick for the down home experience and friendship!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank newal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 75 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Recently stayed at Rocky's and in the may rose apartments owned and operated by Rick and his wife. The first thing that struck me about both places was the toilet paper.... Rick obviously wants his guests to be comfortable as the toilet paper in both places was the softest and best smelling TP I have ever encountered on my travels. having said that.. thee ribs at rocky's were delicious and the Breakfast 's prepared to Canadian/Us standards.. Oh yes, the cheeseburger I enjoyed my first day was delicious!. Rick upgraded me to an executive suite at his Mary Rose apartments for two nights due to overbooking at Rockt's. The experience there was great as the comraderie around the bar in the evenings was excellent. The apartments were spacious and the TV's Wi-Fi etc were very good. I will definitely stay with Rick when I visit Sosua again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tdb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was my first trip to POP without friends in tow. Instead of renting a large house I decided to try out Rocky's and was pleasantly surprised. From the Pickup to check-out I was treated very professionally and like family. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on a budget, but doesn't want to compromise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pele1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

When you travel to a part of the world that you don't know. You need to know some one to trust. Someone who wants you to have fun AND has your back. Rick cares about people. Not just for his business but by nature. He will do his best for you. Just such a good vibe dealing with him and his staff. Sousa is a fun place but you need to have some savvy to really get the most out of your time there.
My experience staying at his very nice accommodations makes me regret having to leave.
Just a good guy...and good staff.

Room Tip: I enjoyed staying at his condos a little bit away from the night life. Then you can join in when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hondo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wonderful rooms and atmosphere! Clean!!! Excellent service and individualized care. Highly recommend! I am a middle aged single lady and the employees always made certain that I had what I needed to feel safe, even when I left the Hotel.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, they are ALL good rooms. I had a 2nd floor one and particularly enjoyed look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cjayrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Rocky hotel in Sosua is right in the center of town, close to all amenities, restaurants, nightlife etc.; of course it is noisy at night (and amazingly silent in the morning...); Rick also provides accommodation in the Trade Wind Condo, which is slightly out of town but much more silent. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Rocky room if you party at night; Trade Wind room if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beckie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I visit Sosua a few times each year and almost every time I stay with Rick and Rocky's apartments! I say "almost" because sometimes he's sold out! There are a lot of properties in and around Sosua. Few sell out as often as Rocky's apartments. This should tell you something! Rick looks after you and book early!

Going back again in October and booked an apartment 4 months in advance. I'll stop into the bar and grab breakfast before wandering to the beach for the morning. Always had great service from Rick, Milka and all the staff. Always seen everyone there, including some of the other guests and bar patrons, going the extra mile to help out with questions and problems. It's just that sort of a place! (So, I cannot imagine someone like Lina A. being treated as she describes. Lo siento.)

Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Try to stay at either the Mary Rose or the TradeWinds units if you are a light sleeper or want to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoOneSpecific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sosua
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#8 of 30 in Sosua
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Rancho
Hotel el Rancho
#10 of 30 in Sosua
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropix Hotel
Tropix Hotel
#3 of 30 in Sosua
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condo Hotel Plaza Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel

Address: Calle Dr. Rosen #22 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range: $24 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Rock & Blues Bar Hotel Sosua
Rocky`s Rock And Blues Bar And Hotel
Rockys Rock Blues Bar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing