We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”
Review of Tip Top Catamaran

Tip Top Catamaran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked this tour at our resort (Riu Merengue). We paid $70 per person and we were 4.
The picked us up at the resort and brought us to Sosua. we boarded a catamaran which was quite nice.
We went to a place where they fed the fish some bread and that is where we snorkeled. Too many people in one spot. We are not pro but like to snorkel and did not enjoy the guy rushing us to see the fish, etc.
We then had a meal (buffet with sandwiches and salads) There was a free bar on board.
We went to another spot where we were on our own and it was more enjoyable. We saw lots of fish and vegetation.
The ride home was long and we did not see any dolphins or whales.
We did the banana boat ($5 more) which was a lot of fun.
The personnel was nice except for one guy that thought he was funny but we found annoying.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loubuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    5
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lacks Snorkelling Professional”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Tip Top Staff picked us up on the edge of shore and took us over to the catamaran. The catamaran is beautiful and the ride very enjoyable. We had a beautiful day for the ride.The washrooms onboard are below and you need to use a ladder to access them. We brought our own snorkelling equipment because we didn't want to use the equipment of the masses (smile). We were taken to an area where the water is 30 feet deep. One of the staff had taken bread into the water and was tossing it everywhere. Yes, it brought out the fish but also clouded the water. There were too many people on our particular day and it was all legs, arms and elbows while trying to see fish. We were given another opportunity to go into the water, but passed as the first experience was not enjoyable. Lunch onboard was okay. They did offer lobster at an additional cost, but everyone passed. The lunch consisted of a sandwich, cold salads, pickles and bananas. The day cost us $70 a person. The ride was the best part of the day. Unfortunately, I went with the expectations of a great snorkelling day and was very disappointed. They need a professional onbaord.

They did have a photographer onboard who was definitely "in your face" and another person who I believe to be the "court jester". He only stomped on my foot once; however, after two weeks, my foot is healing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great way to spend your day !”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We take a holiday every year and a catarmaran is always on the top of our list !! This year's experience on TIP TOP Catamaran did not disappoint. The snorkeling was the best yet !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank coronablues911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Special Valentines Day Sunset Sail - Tip Top”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thanks to our excursion rep at Lifestyle Resort we were set-up with Olivier the owner of the 75' catamaran Tip Top II. I was trying to arrange a private surprise for our group of 5 couples for Valentine's Day and was having problems finding something that already existed that was not a large group excursion. When Olivier realized what we were looking for he said not a problem at all and he did deliver bigtime.

He have us picked up at our resort right on time in two modern air conditioned vans and we were quickly taken to the marina were the cat was moored. Olivier was standing the waiting to meet us with a big warm smile and firm hand shake and welcome. He then lead us down to the board the cat and it was beautifully decorated with what must have been 50/60 red and white balloons and valentine's day banners. His staff helped aboard and gave the women red roses with a little teddy bear, a valentine's day mug filled with chocolate treats and also gave ua all a glass of champagne with many refills. The soft music and beautiful decorations made for a perfect start to our cruise.

We set out and sailed down the coast to a sheltered bay with a beautiful beach. With there only being the ten of us plus the staff of four, we had lots of room to move about and enjoyed being out on the mesh netting area out front were we got the odd splash of the waves. The boat was so stable that no one got motion sickness. We took lots of picture and a variety of drinks which were included.

When we anchored in the bay some of us swam to shore while others rode the dingy in. We all enjoyed a swim and walk on the beautiful clean smooth beach of Sosua, paridice to say the least even though the sand was a light brown colour. The bottom of the beach was so smooth as you walked out that it was like velvet on you feet. There were a few tourists enjoying the late afternoon sun and the few locals that worked around there left us alone completely.

When we were done and ready to go we headed back out to the cat and headed back up the coast to a spectacular sunset, many more pictures were taken.

We opted to wait until our return to the marina to enjoy the appitizers that were included also. Once we where there they brough out several platers of assorted homemade appetizers which included salmon, shrimp, cheeses, breads and crackers etc., with a bonus of a few freshly BBQ'd lobster tails. Let me tell you, these things melted in your mouth, wow were they good.

When we were all done enjoying the appetizers and drink there, Olivier lead us up the marina to a beautiful Restaurant that he had arranged for a Valentine's dinner (he even came to me when we first arrived to select our groups table). The meal was awsome, the service was fenominal and everything was great (keep in mind that if you plan to pay for anything down in the islands with credit card, that you may be required to provide ID with it). Olivier even stopped in once to make sure the meal and service was to our liking.

When we were done and ready to return, Olivier had our rides waiting for us to take us back to our resort. We had one member of our party that hadn't been feeling well from unrelated illness and Olivier took that person back to the resort early without even questioning it, what an awsome guy.

The other staff on the boat, Captian Richard, Ilene and the other crew member (I forget his name) all treated you like family with cheerful smiles while doing anything they could to make you feel at home on the boat.

Over-all unbelievably awsome, well done, couldn't have been better. These guys should be providing these outings to all everyday, it would be one of the best excursions you could get and I believe Olivier may well just do that.

Kevin

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, but we had amazing weather”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The day was perfect. The second snorkel stop wasn't as great as the first one. The coral wasn't too interesting. But the boat staff were entertaining and very knowledgable. I wished the lunch was a bit more traditional to Dominican food. Overall I enjoyed the excursion a lot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GottaGetaway234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Catamaran also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Tip Top Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing