We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time and the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The casa marina was a wonderful vacation. The food was excellent and we never went hungry. The water was beautiful, the land scape was amazing, and the entertainment was fun. The staff are very polite, friendly, and outgoing. The room was very basic, but the resort did they're best to accommodate your needs. We went on an excursion with Mathel travel to paradise island, and it was worth every penny and then some! I would recommend staying at casa marina!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,737)
There are newer reviews for Casa Marina Beach & Reef
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 3,737 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked a week long, all-inclusive stay at the resort only to find out we were haggled on a regular basis by men dressed in fedoras asking us to go to Lifestyles Vacation Resort. Every morning they solicited us on our way to breakfast, the tour company also tried getting us to go on various tours. They came down to the beach to haggle, they came in the buffet, they came down our hallway, they came to the pool, they called us over and over and over again in our room until we gave in on our third horrible day there only to be haggled in Puerto Plata by another salesman for a ridiculously expensive resort that wasn't really that great. We constantly felt under attack at this place until we just had enough, got really upset, and told everyone to get lost. The resort is nice, the beach is beautiful, the food is mediocre at best, but the constant battling of sales staff made it horrible. If you can deal with that, by all means go, if you hate being bothered every second of every day, you may look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McFlojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Staying here right now and experience is great from people to resort to food. Except the WiFi is not part of all inclusive. They charge $20 for 3 days of WiFi per device. They personally enable WiFi in only one of your devices for $20. I know I am here to enjoy other amenities this resort has to offer but it wouldn't hurt for them to enter 21st century where internet is an essential part of all our lives.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kashif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hey,

I was at Casa Marina in March 2014 and really enjoyed the city of Sosua.
Casa Marina is located few minutes away (walk) from stores and local restaurants.

I was lodging in Beach side, and was a bit old (outdated) but really worth it.
The theme food is changing daily at the Buffet and couldn't complain about that. Food is Good!

There is not so many things to do on the resort itself, but it is very quiet. I went out few time at night in the ciy, but you have to be ready to accept be outside your comfort zone. This is quite different than other area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel_Savard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at this resort for one week during Easter Week. Good resort for the money. Before going read many reviews regarding the staff and found that you would find one or two not happy but generally most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We traveled with two preteens and there was always something to do. The resort was very clean and maintained, it was very quiet at the beginning of the week being Easter Week and then it got very busy when the local Dominicans arrived. Always plenty to eat and drink and the weather was amazing. Rooms were very basic, we stayed in the section by the big pool on the ground floor which was great for access. Good value for the money. If you are looking for a posh resort, pay more to get more. Would recommend for families on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willgobroketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Good:
-The beach is beautiful and the old coral surrounding it makes it very unique. The food is pretty good compared to other resorts and the main buffet is better then the Al a carte suppers. The entertainment is fun, they aren't professional entertainers but they are great. Being so close to town is nice because there are many Canadian/American owned restaurants in Sosua. You can have a lot of fun drinking and lounging around the resort. The three Jacuzzi pools on the ocean are amazing. Good access to clean water. pools are clean and warm



The bad:
As soon as we arrived the resort was packed. One thing I noticed right away was that there was only Spanish speaking locals on the resort. I get to my room and its not Ocean View even tho I paid for it. I was told at the front desk it was not guaranteed and that there are none right now. What I didn't know is Locals get to come on the resort for the long weekends for a small price. 70% Locals - 30 % Vacationers. Locals always get service over you and can butt in line. It was okay Tuesday to Friday. Most resort staff do not greet you or smile when serving you. Also the lifestyles people will harass you all week with "offers" to a $5000 time share that you have to pay before seeing anything on paper. Locals set up shop on the resort at night by the big buffet and try to sucker you into buying things for much more then they are in town. Also shop around for excursions as with 1 resort I had 3 very different prices.

You can go and have a great time, just remember what you paid to go.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade - No guarntee
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bestcoast902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This resort is absolutely amazing! My sister got married at the resort and it was beautiful. The resort is in the town of Sousa which I would HIGHLY recommend you go exploring. We were a group of 22 and everyday we would go into town. The food at the resort is good, there is always something to eat. I stayed on the ground floor and never once locked my balcony. The resort is extremely safe. If you stay at the resort make sure you go out into the town and find the Casa Valeria (the food and prices are AMAZING). If you are looking for a relaxing beautiful place with good food CASA MARINA is the place for you.

Room Tip: Bottom floor (it is safe and you don't have to go up stairs)
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahdubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sosua
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,256 reviews
9.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,843 reviews
8.4 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 40 in Puerto Plata
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Beach & Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Beach & Reef

Address: Calle Alejo Martinez, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range: $79 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marina Beach & Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 676
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Marina Beach & Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Dominican Republic
Casa Marina Reef Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing