We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should do more research sometimes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I booked this hotel because I was told it was in a town. I like to walk in the towns and talk to the locals. I have always enjoyed this. After a full plane deplaned and headed to the buses for transport I became a little concerned that 1. It was a small bus 2. No one else was getting on except me. Finally 2 more people got on the bus BUT they were headed to another hotel. HUMMMMMMMMMMM Check in was easy as I was the only one checking in. My room would be ready in 3 hours. I went to find the bar and to have a couple of beers. I went back in 2 hours and was told it was ready now. I got my key, safety box key, and remote for the TV. I made my a la carte bookings and was off to the room. The room is a little downgrade from what I like and usually have but it was perfectly clean. Did the room smell musty and damp, yes, of course it did, its on the ocean and in the Caribbean however after 20 minutes with the AC on it disappeared.

STAFF:
The staff were neither friendly or rude. They did their jobs as efficiently as they could. They were "just doing their jobs" I was not served slower or faster than anyone else including the locals. The hotel was not even half full and this is not the main tourist season. I met people from many places but mostly Germans. Some of the staff speak English and some not. The main staff members all do.

FOOD:
The buffet food was just that buffet food. Sometimes it was warm, sometimes it was not. They did what they could. The omelets at breakfast and the spaghetti at lunch or dinner were the best choice. I ate at all the a la carte restaurants and they were very good. The food was presented well and with an excellent taste. The house wine served, well, what can I say, if you don't like it don't drink it. I didn't.

BEACH:
The beach at the hotel was fine. However, no shade at the beach near the water. The waves were strong but they were fun to play in the surf. The local beach called Sosua Beach a 5 minute walk from the hotel was much better with a lot of shade and an easy walk to the water.

TOWN:
The reason I chose this hotel was because it was located in a town and I like to talk with local people as much as I can. There is nothing much besides bars and restaurants in the town. I did not eat in town as it was all inclusive at the hotel but I tried just about every bar. I have never been approached by so many working girls in all my life. They come in all shapes and sizes and they tend to be very aggressive. I speak Spanish and because I would talk a little with them they continued long after I said I was not interested. They did not seem to bother the tourists who did not speak Spanish as much. The bars were a lot of fun at night but the music was very loud at Cabaret 59 so much so that I did not go in there at night. The bar next door D Latin, was much better. The music was good and not quite so loud but loud enough. The seemed to be a lot of ex-pats there. It was slow here until about 11:30 and by 1:00am you really could not move. I think they closed at 3:00am. I was gone before that. Every corner I was asked if I wanted to buy cigars, viagra, or take a ride on a "moto"

I found 3 bars that were owned by Canadians and they were all friendly and filled with ex-pats. There was "Spanky's" and "The Jolly Roger" and I have forgotten the name of the other. There is a Casino called the "Coral Reef" and it has blackjack, roulette and maybe 35 - 40 machines. There is a night club at the Casino and it starts to go after the bars close at 3:00am. I never felt threatened in the street at any hour but maybe I was lucky. I don't know. There seemed to be a lot of police and soldiers in the street in the early evening but nothing late at night. This was a town that nobody wanted to be your friend unless you could provide them with something.

HOTEL
This hotel would not let in your new best friend. Apparently this was the 1 hotel that did this. I am sure there are others as well as there are classier hotels than this 1. The hotel next door the "Seaview" had many girls sitting at the bar at the front of the hotel so I assume they allow in your new best friend.

OTHER GUESTS
The hotel was probably only half full when I was there as it is not the high season. The guests were mostly German but there were a few French Canadians. I had a few chuckles with the guests with the young Dominicans. They had an all inclusive bracelet on so they paid to come on the resort and I was told that the cost was around $100 per day. Both old men and fat women were entertaining younger Dominicans. Maybe it was true love after all.

Room Tip: I only saw 3 other rooms and they all looked like mine and not like the picture on the web.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 3,804 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went October 1st to 7th. We paid $650 each all inclusive and I think it was excellent value for the money.
The hotel is only 10 minutes from the airport. It is a large hotel but was not very busy.
Check in and out was fairly fast. Service was excellent. Staff were friendly.
Our room was a good size, beds were fine. Room was clean with balcony overlooking pool area which was quite noisy when you wanted to take a pre-dinner nap.
Air Conditioning was set when we got into the room and the room remained at a cool constant setting throughout the stay. Maid service was excellent and staff catered to our comings and goings. Staff were very accommodating.
The grounds are quite big and spaced out and fairly well kept. Because the resort was not that busy, the restaurants were not always in the location they were supposed to be. The buffets were quite good and I was impressed that the staff attempted to keep the food fresh and replenished with covers over the food preventing the flies from getting to the food. Lots of variety in the buffet and the snack bar lunch buffet also. Staff in the buffets are not readily available to help with anything the way we have experienced in cuba or elsewhere but the food definitely made up for it.
With Nolitours you are guaranteed to get 3 ala carte dinner reservations. They were all good but on the last night, we wished we had eaten at the buffet instead of the mexican restaurant as it appeared much better and much more varied.
With Nolitours we got 50% off a massage. The massage place is overlooking the beach and this was one of the best and most thorough massages we have ever had. From every nerve in the finger to the toes. It ended up being $20 each for 45 minutes. Great value.
The beach is not the best and you have to be careful going into the ocean as it drops off quite suddenly and you find yourself in deep water. So if you are not a strong swimmer, beware.
The hotel is built in to rocks on the beach. There are steps you can easily take down to the ocean. Once of the best things about this resort is the three jacuzzi pools built into the rocks and overlooking the ocean. The temperatures were a little cool until you got used to it, but it was wonderful being in these pools, reading a book, sipping a cocktail and overlooking the ocean. Incredibly relaxing.
Lots of sun loungers everywhere and they were in good condition.
There are quite a few bars and apparently there is one which is a cash bar however we never came upon that.
There is a restaurant that is not part of the property but is off to the side of the resort and well worth a visit. I believe it is called the Waterfront. You can easily get to it from the resort down a little path around the timeshare office building. It has tables inside and a two tiered patio outside. While it is a 'nice' restaurant, they do allow people coming off the beach from the resort to dine in casual wear. We had the seafood salad lunch one day and it was fantastic. The most amazingly tender and fresh calamari ever. I noticed they also have some fine dining items like steak tartar prepared tableside and other items that they flambe by your table as they prepare and specialty coffees. We did not find it expensive but well worth a visit if it is in your budget. Very friendly staff.
The other great thing about this resort is the location. You can walk outside the resort and within minutes you are in town. Check out Baileys bar around the corner or the Jolly Roger and the Brittannia pub, both of these owned by Canadians.
Lots of restaurants, bars and clubs. Not a lot for shoppers though. There is also a beach strip to check out with lots of bars, restaurants and souvenier shops. As it was not a busy time of year, the vendors would really harass you.
Check out Cabarete, a little more upscale from Sosua, only 10 minute Cab ride away. $20.
There were lovely bars on the beach with rattan couch furniture and beds from an old Nicky Beach.
We also took the Puerto Plata tour. $35 each. Since it was just the two of us, we were driven in a private jeep. We were taken to the rum factory, sampled very nice aged rum at 9:30 in the morning!! a cigar place, a jewelry place and a few other sights for pictures. It didnt look like there was a whole lot to see in Puerto Plata but it was a nice day.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caro99Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was at casa Marina in the week of july 23, and we paid around $900 for a 3.5 star hotle which was pretty high, when we got there the rooms were smelling like they were washed with chlorine but the smell was really bad, i had to change room, the other room was smelling less, also we went for luch the nex day there was no place to sit we had to eat standing up in the middle of the place!! the food was discusting.
never again will i go there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milly591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I got there and it is very beautiful and it was an awesome experience. The food off the resort is MUCH better than on the resort, it was alright but the same old everyday. My boyfriend lost his wrist band while we were out and when we came back the front desk would not let him back in the resort and as I showed them passport/room number/booking info they said we owe then $25.00 US, finally they let him in as I said I would call Air Canada, still they would not give a wrist band. On the last day, we went for lunch on the resort, we had to leave cause no wrist band and still the front desk would not give this to us. AND to top it off Air Canada had a goodbye dinner for us all and we were unable to join since he did not have a wrist band. Needless to say, I would most definitely go to Dominican again but NOT Casa Marina.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassBT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

For what one pays this is an excellent all in hotel (including alcohol). The beaches are exceptional and the two huge pools are great to cool off in. Doing laps is a challenge but doable. The rooms are roomy enough and the bedding OK for 3 star. The staff were great; except reception staff which need to learn how to make checking in and out more pleasant. Wifi in the rooms is very weak to zero - even after paying for it. The food was plentiful and above average for all in bulk feeding to a 3 star level.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have been very fortunate to revisit Casa Marina Beach Resort 9 times in the past year.........always friendly staff and a safe resort. Hats off to the manager who always goes out of his way to ensure my visit is pleasant.

Room Tip: book the Oceanview , 2nd or third floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HUGEWAVES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying here. Before I go on we did enjoy our vacation and our room was well located for every amenity .
There was always plenty of food although the variety was limited and never hot ( unless you go to one of the speciality restaurants.
The hotel gets very busy with locals at the weekend so be aware.
The hotel has everything to be a great hotel the beaches are lovely although not ideal for children as the sea was very strong and the slope off the beach was sharp. it has 3 pools and 3 rock pools
The rooms are very sparse and not even a picture on the wall. They are in desperate need of up dating and we had a metal pin drilled through our patio door to use as a lock. There is no facility for making tea or coffee in your room. Internet access is extra and is payable for each device you use. You have to pay to have a safe. When on an all inclusive these are simple things that should be included. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful but all are VERY loud. Not one of them seems to hold a private conversation they all shout. So while you are trying to lay on a sun bed be it round the pool or on the beach there was always members of staff having "conversations " at major volume . All the rooms are in blocks in corridors and don't bother trying for an early night unless you have decent ear plugs because it is the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in and the corridors everything echoes
I would NOT RECOMMEND this hotel for families older people or even anyone looking for a quite getaway. For a small amount of investment this could be made into a wonderful hotel it just needs someone who cares enough.

Room Tip: Our room was located in between the two main pools room 2165 and it was a perfect location for EVERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank annieugsNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa-22
Casa-22
#11 of 30 in Sosua
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#8 of 30 in Sosua
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sosua Bay Resort
Sosua Bay Resort
#25 of 30 in Sosua
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Beach & Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Beach & Reef

Address: Calle Alejo Martinez, Sosua 57600, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range: $86 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marina Beach & Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 676
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Marina Beach & Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Dominican Republic
Casa Marina Reef Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing