We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Nearby Hotels
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel(Sosua)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Blanco Boutique Hotel(Sosua)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ahnvee Resort & Sports(Sosua)(Great Value!)
$125
$117
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa-22(Sosua)(Great Value!)
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Condo Hotel Plaza Europa(Sosua)(Great Value!)
$27
$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Garden Hotel(Sosua)(Great Value!)
$78
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Voramar Sosua(Sosua)(Great Value!)
$46
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel el Rancho(Sosua)(Great Value!)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,159)
Filter reviews
4,159 results
Traveler rating
1,323
1,386
816
372
262
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,323
1,386
816
372
262
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafoodcasa marina beachbeach sidea la carte restaurantsentertainment staffocean worldred flagsnack barstar resortparadise islandhot dogssea foodshows at nightthe mexican restaurantpublic beachmain buffetgarden view
Filter
Updating list...
1,219 - 1,224 of 4,159 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lengthy but straight forward.

Here we go, I traveled with a group of 4 including myself, we got one room with two double queen size beds on the third floor overlooking the clock tower and main pool. We had originally asked for a second floor garden view but once we got there we got better than what we expected. And that didn't stop there. Once we got to our room (which took a little while because our flight arrived at the resort around 11:30AM, with that we waited walked around the resort, had lunch and went back to the lobby to check if our room was ready.) No we did not walk around with our luggage bags, we left them in a huge closet they have by the main lobby where arrival guests leave there bags in (totally SAFE they have a guard on duty making sure nothing gets stolen).

ROOM: Once our room was ready a kind worker there showed us our room (with tip in mind) but we didnt mind its not like we knew how to get to the room the first time anyways. We got in the room (2308) VERY spacious, open, CLEAN. We only had small minor problems like the balcony door wouldn't lock. But because we were on the third floor, we didn't get bothered by that, it wasn't a drawback for us. Also, our bathroom door had trouble locking, but again, to us it wasn't a drawback or deal breaker, we would just say to whoever was in the room "Im going in." We would just call whose in and whose next. No big deal. PERKS: When booking with NolitoursPlus, the maids set a platter filled with different large bottled Vodkas, Liquors, Beers. We got at least 10 different large bottles.

FOOD:
Personally, I can be picky, but I had absolutely no problem at all finding something to eat there. Amazing breakfast, cereal choices galore, you can have the chef make your own eggs, scrambled, over easy, you can add ingredients like red pepper, salsa, etc. Lunch was great too, variety of pastas, meats EVERYDAY IS DIFFERENT. Dinner was when they made it based on a theme. One night was International Night, another night we had Mexican, and the night after that we had Dominican. - Everyday was a different theme. If you want to know what the themes are for the week that you're there you can see it posted in the entrance of the main buffet. There is also a Snack Bar, where they have BBQ chicken, fries, hamburgers, hotdogs, salad, and drinks (alcoholic and non alcoholic).

POOLS:
Large main pool, with waterfall, and large sized childrens pool next to it. By the main buffet there was another large pool with palm trees in the middle of it, also includes a mini water fall and childrens pool (warm water in ALL the pools). Past the main buffet, there is another pool decent size with a bridge over one end of it, very cute. All pools very clean, warm. We NEVER had a problem with someone stealing our chairs.

Closer to the beaches (yes beaches, because there is one on the Reef side and one on the Beach side). There are 3 jacuzzi's on the reefs, absolutely stunning views looking over Puerto Plata City. Jacuzzi's had fresh water, a bit cold for my likings, but swim-able. And with the heat there is there maintaining 30-35 Degrees daily, it was a nice refresher, also includes reef waterfalls as well! Both beaches were clean, and beautiful warm ocean water. Again no chairs of ours were stolen, no one hassled us to buy anything while on the beach, I never saw anyone there asking people to buy anything, because NO ONE WAS THERE TO SELL YOU THINGS.

STAFF/ENTERTAINMENT
The staff were friendly, most spoke very good English. Maids cleaned up the rooms nicely, if you give them a Dollar US, or 100 pesos, they decorate your beds. We donated clothes such as hats and shirts here and there to those taxi drivers that helped us, and one of the Tour Guides at the resort. We would also leave a few lollipops to the maids along with the tip.
The staff played games along the resorts by the beach/main buffet areas, there was entertainment every night at the theater, as well as Disco Nights.

Every Tuesday and Thursday night, vendors set up tables by the Beach Resort, to sell to tourists small souvenirs, pictures, jewellery. And compared to what they have in the city, its A LOT cheaper to buy inside the resort. Keychains we our favourite, and the bracelets. If you don't want anything just say gracias, and they won't bother you, we had no problem getting past them, and in all honestly it's not a big deal, its a lifestyle there. They would only be there for 2 hours, on those 2 days, and that's it.

OUTSIDE THE RESORT:

We traveled outside the resort a few times to get ice cream down the street at BON, which by the way, is absolutely delicious, I recommend you to take the less then 5 minute straight walk up the street to try some. They have it in the gift shop at the Resort but its more expensive there. Sosua Beach is also a 5 minute walk from the resort, and is absolutely breath taking there. They have gift shops on the walk there going to Sosua beach, also very cheap. If you want to purchase food they have a Supermarket there that basically looks like Wal-Mart inside, they will have everything you want at reasonable prices. We went there a few times to by gifts, and beach balls and air mattress for the pool/beach. For attractions, you can book within the Resort grounds,for Ocean World or Monkey Jungle or take a cab down to the city. All the cab drivers we had were amazing, they will wait with you if you go into city gift shops, ours offered to stop down town Puerto Plata to take pictures. Very nice people in the Dominican.

Room Tip: Try booking rooms on the third floor Book with NoliTours PLUS
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

service was very good. the staff here were very friendly and helpful. activies were fun for adults and children. Kinito helped us with our daily activies and made our stay fun and relaxing.........................I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family, will definatly come back in the future with family and friends again.

Room Tip: i recommend when booking a room at this hotel you do ocean view but all other rooms are also ok too.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect! It is a 30 second walk out side to the lovely town of sosua. The rooms were basic, but clean. Food was ok. The staff was amazing! The front desk staff were very nice and welcoming. The entertainment staff were the absolute best! They work so hard and go out of their way to please you. I would like to especially thank Kinito for working so hard and making are stay the absolute best! I will definitely visit this resort again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GregandLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Casa Marina Reef for a week from March 5th to the 12th with our 2 boys and another family with 4 boys. We had a wonderful week and enjoyed our stay. But I must say beware of room 2205 with a GardenView. 2205 is located at the end of a V shape, it looks directly across the room on the other side of the V and below the room is water drainage grates. Not much of a view and the room itself was very abused. Very bad first impression. We immediately went down to the front desk and asked to be moved to another room. We were told that there was none, as all were reserved already and waiting for people to arrive. We insisted on another room and were shown to room # 2132 which was on the first floor as opposed to the second that we were on originally. # 2132 faced the pool, which was nice and was near the centre walkway. We accepted this room provided that they immediately fix the patio doors which had a broken lock on it. I waited in the room & unpacked while my husband & the boys explored the resort, & beach. The repair man showed up shortly and repaired the patio door so we were able to slide it and lock it. But he had to take the entire door off & our room was completely open, to everyone by the pool - good thing I stayed in our room unpacking. After this shaky start to our holiday, I was able to join the rest of the gang by the beach.

In the coming days we discovered the 2 beaches. One the resort beach which had activities but was small & crowded and one the public beach. It was the public beach which you gained access to from the resort by descending down a steep set of stairs that we spent our days at. Here you could rent and an umbrella for $3.00 and the beach chairs the beach guys brought up for you. These beach guys were very friendly, no hassle. They even kept on diving until they found my sons and our friends snorkel masks which the waves swept off their heads. I had they had lost these masks for good.
We had beautiful sunshine and enjoyed swimming in the ocean & jumping the waves until Friday when they had to close the beaches in Sosua due to the gigantic waves. These waves continued right through to the Tuesday when we departed. However on Monday their size had decreased a bit and we were able to enjoy one last day of wave jumping.
The waves in fact were so huge, they were washing away the beach on the resort beach side and the resort managers had to rope off the reef paths & the reef pools due to the waves splashing up & over into the pools.

The reef pools themselves were nice & refreshing - but the water was cool.
The swimming pool my youngest enjoyed with his friend, but myself & my oldest found it too cold to swim in and the pool lounger were always occupied.

The food in the buffet was o.k. as was the a la carte food, nothing to rave about, but it was edible. For dinner the boys enjoyed the pasta bar and at breakfast time Alfredo whipped up a mean omelet any way you like it.

Pizza, burgers & fries were available at lunch time. Ice Cream was available now & then and cookies were available to snack on.

Our room was stocked with 2 bottles of water, a bottle of rum and a bottle of vodka.

The one weird thing is they only give out ONE KEY, yes only one key no matter how many adults are in the room. So this does make it kind of difficult if one person wants to go out and party the night away and the other person wants to go to sleep earlier, or is someone is out on an excursion and the other does some r&r beachside.

There is a small store right at the resort form which you can purchase neccesities.
Unfortunately due to the huge waves that rolled in, we were not able to participate in any of the water sport activities. But the boys did enjoy playing shuffleboard, ping pong & shooting pool and bocci ball.

The hammocks were wonderful to spend a day on relaxing and enjoying beverages.
The bars served wonderful refreshments: Sex on the Beach, Marco Polos, etc.

Wine was included during dinner but you had to go up to the bar, which was located in the dining room to get your wine.

Beware there was milk for your coffee but it was kept warm.

There was a disco to which people really dressed up for and it was loud, more for the younger crowd. Each evening there was different entertainment. The hotel staff also put on a wonderful variety show one evening with music from the 80's. It was fun to watch.

Outside the resort there is a really good Ice Cream shop just around the corner and a Publix grocery story about a 5 min. / 10 min. walk away.
Sosua Beach is also just a short 10 min. if that walk away through town. Here is where there are many small restaurants the shops to buy your souvenirs, Here is also where if you stop in one shop be prepared to stop in the next shop and barter, barter barter. They are very friendly people, but do not pay the price they first quote you on. Browse, & Barter.

We also took in a horse back riding tour to Rancho Lorilar, see my separate review on this incredible ranch. They sent a taxi to pick us up as Sosua is about a 1/2 hour drive away from the ranch. I highly recommend this ranch.

I loved the grounds of the Casa Marina Reef and very wheel chair friendly, with walking paths for wheelchair accessible through out the resort. We have friends who look for this in a resort, so I must mention this as I know it is a first question my friend asks.

All in all would I stay again, probably yes, now that I know what to expect. My expectations for the room will not be so high. It is your basic motel room. 2 Beds, a T.V. a table, a chair, and a dresser on which the T.V sits. Tub with shower, hairdryer. Alarm clock, NO Coffeemaker and NO mini fridge. Safety Deposit rental in closet. Room has no pictures to decorate and no decorative pillows on the bed as the brochure pics show. This is for the gardenview & pool view rooms. The pics in the brochures of the rooms are for the Oceanview rooms.

For the exceptionally discounted price we paid, if such an amazing deal came around again, Yes, I would stay at the Casa Marina reef; simply because I loved the Reef pools and the Public beach and the gigantic waves.

Room Tip: Beware of room # 2205. When selecting a Gardenview Room, ask for Pool side. The best rooms are Oceanview.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. The hotel was clean and the staff welcoming. We enjoyed the beaches, the entertainment staff and the weather. The food was plentiful, but the choice of food did not change that much. You always had the choice of a pasta dish, or chicken, or fish and of course plenty of vegetables. We went to the A la Carte restaurant, once, the wait was pretty long and the food was not outstanding. When we left the resort and ventured out to the town of Sosua, it is like running a gauntlet to get to the other main beach, (which is a 15 minute walk away) the vendors outside are very persistent and want you to come into their shops, each of the shops had much of the same merchandise. You have to negotiate to get a good price, if you do decide to buy any of the stuff, from the vendors. When we eventually got to the beach, it was the same again, with constant vendors trying to get you to buy their stuff!! This was quite off putting to us. In general the staff at the Casa Marina, make you feel welcome, we definitely enjoyed the entertainment with Bauo, Kinito and the other staff. They work very hard to make you feel welcome and appreciated. We will travel again to the Dominican Republic, we will most probably try another part of the country though. I would recommend the hotel for families, couples or singles. The only other downside was from Thursday to Saturday there is a lot of local Dominicans who do take over the resort, and there can be a wait to get food, not everyone likes to wait in queue, and take their turn. Overall, it was very nice to visit the country and we did go on a tour to visit the local rum factory and the cigar factory, also we went up on the cable car to see the statue of Jesus which was quite outstanding, our tour guide was very informative about the country and about the culture of Dominican Republic. Our Sunwing Representative, Sandy was very informative as well and willing to assist with any challenges we may have had on resort.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, we were near all the amenities and near the pools etc.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews