We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good, not so bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Marina Reef
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sosua
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so good, not so bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have been to the resort twice. The first was around a year ago and the second was a few months later.
Food....yes they have food. And it's pretty much the same thing day after day. There was not a lot of fresh fruit and considering if you walk 100 yards of the resort you can get all the fresh fruit you need the lack of it baffles me.
Most of the meals were ok but nothing tO rave about.
Rooms...yea they have those also but again nothing to rave about. In my case the minuate I walked in the room I noticed that one of the legs of the bed were missing, you would think the staff would have noticed when they were prepping the room but they didn't .
The general mood of the staff was ok but for the most part they seemed to just be putting in time. Mind you the mood did increase when I started to give tips to get better service, normally I'm a high tipper but I base that on the service I get BEFORE I hand out money.
That being said I understand why this happens but I have been to the DR six times in the last year and this is the first time I have given less than 4 stars on any review.
The best suggestion I can give anyone going here for their first time trip to the DR is go to the resort, check in, unpack and then head out the front and turn to the right then you will see what Sosua has to offer. Resorts are great (well maybe not this one) but if you want to truly see the Dominican Republic and all it has to offer do yourself a favor and spend your time away from the resort and among the locals that is when your vacation will truly begin and you'll have story's to tell back home not about the food and the drinks but about the country and its people. Your friends won't be disappointed.
Finally if you choose to not hit the resort scence check out my reviews for Rockys and The Mary Rose. These two are high on the list of where you should stay for a vacation to remember.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    1,203
    725
    344
    237
See reviews for
822
1,101
185
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I stated at Casa Marina for 3 days and are still suffering from the runs! We arrived and were amazed by the spacious resort, however, when we arrived at our rooms, they skipped out on cleaning the bathroom properly even when we waited am extra hour for our room to be ready. ended up with a pool side room with a broken door and reaking of cigarettes. The food is the most disappointing. There is no variety at the buffet , other than bland, freeze dried food. How is this a Dominican experience without delicious rice and beans, platanos and morro? We tried to be optimistic but kept getting horrible food which left all 10 of us sick. Not to mention they deactivated our room keys on the second day and we had to make a long line and were treated with rude staff. Never again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueidy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sosua hotels

uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My friend and i stayed in this hotel. The beautiful,spotless and the food was great. The location is great and the landscape is breath taking. I couldn't the staff they were lovely and the entertainment each night was good.

Now the negatives the timeshare worker were everywhere everyday trying to sell...some wouldn't take no for a answer. Also there were a lot of old men entertaining the local women on there visit..this i have no problem...the issue i do have is when they think its acceptable to try and 'entertain' my friend and i..it made us both feel uncomfortable.

Overall we had a great holiday thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali80Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I read the reviews before going but we decided to go anyway sometimes people just have terrible experiences. Our experience was nothing like the reviews we had read and we had a good time. The food was okay nothing too fancy. We suggest not ordering the conches from the mexican restaurant, it was not edible. The beach was great and the grounds were clean. For a 3 star resort this wasn't too bad. We suggest joining in on the activities that the entertainment crew host, they are quite fun. Make sure to have a Ron Punch and Banana Mama while you are there and if you are looking for a inexpensive trip this would be a good place to start.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful seven-day stay at Casa Marina. Before the trip we did some research to make sure its worth. Now we would like to say it was definitely a great value/cost ratio vacation deal. A package deal of $500/each person for 7-day all-inclusive(flight+hotel) make us no complaints about the so-so rooms, for we went there for enjoying the beach, the reef, the Dominican shows, the tropical foods, the warm climate and all-season greens, not for the rooms. The overall facilities and services should be rated as great in its class of resorts.

Pros:
*Great Value/Cost vacation site.
*Combination facility of beach,reef, gardens and pools.
*Multi-choices of specialty, buffet and snack restaurants and bars help to stay for one week or longer.

Cons:
*A few flies around the table all the meal time.
*Room conditions.

Tips:
1) Drinking water often will be helpful to adapt yourself to the tropical climate. 20 oz or bigger vaccum insulated mugs may keep the drinks cool whole day long and avoid often bar line-up.

2) With slippers or flip flops, not with shoes, walk around the resort comfortably.

3) Buy a waterproof camera housing bag (at a price of few dollars or ten may get a good quality one from Ebay). It will bring you more fun when snorkeling.

4) Enjoy "chinola"(passion fruit) as a desert. It is an amaing sour fruit helps to eliminate rich fatty meat/fish aftertastes, particularly when buffet meal.

5) Avoid booking the ground floor room. You will know the difference ( My mouth zipped).

6) Among many tour sale representatives around the resort, I personally prefer Marothel Tour. They offer small group tours with competitive price and attentative services. Its presentative Expedito is nice and reliable.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maplebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, ON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Casa Marina in for the fourth time from June 10 - 17 and had a fantastic time. I've read some of the other reviews and honestly don't know what people expect. It is a 3 star and the price is always the lowest in the area. That said, the grounds are gorgeous, the buffet was good, the staff are friendly and helpful as always and our room was just where we wanted it. The rooms are a little dated but it's the Caribbean and not New York City. Our shower was fine with lots of hot water and the beds were very comfortable. The only complaint we could make is that there are a lot of flies buzzing around the tables at meal times. This could be solved by lowering the fans and letting the breeze blow them away. They are quite a nuisance. Francis is always ready with a smile and a cup of coffee for you in the buffet and we've become very fond of him.
We volunteer with the AAAS when we are in Sosua so we eat in town quite often. The Jolly Roger is great with fantastic food so if the buffet is boring you I suggest trying there. Bailey's down the street is also a good place to go with wifi as well.
We've heard some of the "Debbie Downers" when we've been on vacation and quite frankly they annoy us. You're on holiday and should just learn to relax and enjoy the different culture and not try to compare it to home. The food is different, language is different, climate is different etc. It can't hurt to learn a few phrases in Spanish before you go. It's polite to try and communicate instead of getting frustrated or angry. We've actually witnessed people yelling at the staff and it is horrifying. The front desk staff are very nice if you don't start yelling. Our Spanish is very basic and we get by with no problems what-so-ever.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday with beautiful beaches and lovely people but are not expecting a 5 star.....it's not!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMCanadian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virden, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our stay at the Casa Marina was mediocre. If you're looking for fancy and luxurious, this is not the place for you. Everything was very average. We were not given the Ocean View Room that we paid for on the first night, along with several other guests at the resort. The food was ok. We got tired of it by the end of the week and ended up eating off the resort. The vendors came right into the resort in the evenings and were very pushy. We ended up finding ways to avoid that area just to get to our room. We had very little hot water and poor water pressure in the shower. The front desk personnel don't speak alot of English and were hard to communicate with. They are also very short staffed at the front desk, therefore hard to get any answers. There are a number of beach chairs set out in the morning, and they are all "reserved" with a towel within minutes. Chances were very slim of being able to use a chair during the day.

Room Tip: Beware of paying for ocean view, as you are not guaranteed to get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sosua
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 33 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 33 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sosua by the Sea
Sosua by the Sea
#6 of 33 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
8.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Reef

Property: Casa Marina Reef
Address: El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sosua
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marina Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Marina Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Dominican Republic
Casa Marina Reef Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing