We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just got back from the Casa Marina Resort and from check in to check out all was geat! Weather was amazing! Drinks, beer and wine were quite good as well. During meal times you had to get your own drinks, however, the walk was 20 feet from your table at any point. A suggestion is to get to the buffet on time when it opens to get the food while it is nice and hot. Lots of variety and you will not go hungry at all unless you are extremely picky then, if so, stay home. The rooms were great and very comfortable. No bar fridge but then again, go downstairs and get some drinks to take back to your room. Pools were great and soaking pools on the coral reef very nice too to get refreshed after being hot in the sun! Staff were great with service and if you can speak Spanish they appreciate it and it goeas a long way. You will have a great time here if you remind yourself you are not Donald Trump and you are on vacation to relax. If there is no spoon on your table simply go and get another - don't make a big deal of it. Loved the stay and loved the vacation and would return for sure. Be EXTREMELY careful in the water with the waves!!!!!! Peopled ie each year in them due tot he pressure of them crashing in and tumbling you like a rag doll and possibly snapping your neck on the sand. A buddy of ours got extremely hurt and I messed my shoulder thinking it won"t be that bad - well it is and if you seee the red flag up DO NOT think your are beyond getting hurt and stay at the shoreline out of crashing distance of the waves. Definitely check out the local beach and the beach to the right of Sunset Bar on the resort all great to experience.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool were nice to have an interior view if you cannot get a sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travellerboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,733)
There are newer reviews for Casa Marina Beach & Reef
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 3,733 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went to this resort last year in March. The weather was absolutely amazing of course until the last day that we left which was not bad at all as there was about 200 people checking in for Easter weekend. Ive never been to a resort before and for the amount that i paid for this trip it was well worth it. Rooms were clean and cleaned on a regular basis. The bathrooms were awesome, very big and clean. Bars at each location and all the bartenders were extremely kind. Pools were very nice but what i didn't like, they closed them very early and who doesn't like a little night time dip?! The hot tubs where amazing looking over the beach. The food was OK. Not amazing but not horrible. I would recommended the Mexican restaurant. All in all my first trip was memorable and i had a fantastic time! Enjoy

Room Tip: Rooms away from the buffet area are a lot quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I cant say enough about this hotel,the landscape and all vegetation was very well kept,lots of beautiful palm trees...food was ok,we always found something to eat..room was spotless everyday,no bugs in my room,tv worked well..entertainment was wonderful!!! i stayed in the dominican last yr at a different resort and managed to sneek into this one to see the great entertainment! The activity staff were the best ive seen in 30 yrs! The restaurant staff were always happy and friendly! I celebrated my 60th birthday while on vacation and the hotel staff made a huge deal about it all day..really make you feel so special...beach is clean and pretty! I will go bk to this hotel again next yr. Loved it!

Room Tip: garden view,bottom floor by the main pool,
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My Wife and I plus three friends went to Casa Marina Beach from Feb 14th to Feb 21st 2013. And yes, we had a fantastic time !!! The rooms are clean with a 27" LCD t.v. Also the view of the beach from our balcony was breathtaking. The food was better than I expected at the buffet and the Mexican and Seafood restaurants had a nice choice on the menu. Sorry we didn't try the Italian restaurant. The resort is 20 minutes from the airport and close to downtown Sosua. We really loved the whirlpools on the top of the coral reef overlooking the mountains and the Atlantic ocean.The 3 beautiful pools on the site each have a charm of it's own. The beach is a great asset to the resort. Some days the waves really do get high and it's not safe to swim. Although the beauty of the waves crashing on the beach and reef is quite the site to see. We all found that the staff in general were nice, polite and helpful. The Palm trees are tall and the grass is green on the site. Also Banana trees and flowers are very common. The night life at the resort is pretty good comparing to many resorts I have been to. All of this for a reasonable price... We rate Casa Marina Beach a solid 4 STAR VACATION !!!!

CHEERS ;)
Marc

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HELENEANDMARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed from the 5th to the 12th of feb 2013 , i have to say the beach ranked up there with varadero yes its small but we never had a problem getting a chair and had a great time playing in the waves and just lazing around. The food wasn't bad i always found food to eat breakfast is always the same food but how much variety can you do its breakfast. lunch and supper were good they did repeat some things but they were tasty so i didnt mind i ate a ton of chicken and they have heinz ketchup a huge bonus :). We ate at the mexican and italian a la carte, i had a burrito at the mexican my wife had chicken both were tasty, at the italian i had raviolli and my wife had the pizza we both enjoyed the food, if you dont find the food good you can hit up bailey's just outside the resort 100m to the right of the main entrance it was 2 bucks for fries and 10 bucks for a canadian style peperoni pizza. The whole town is filled with ex pats so you wont starve and its safe as far as i could see I walked around without a problem just had to tell some vendors no thanks but dont be rude just be polite and they will leave you alone. The room was not too bad standard room but had really small ants in the bathroom i have been to the dominican before and have seen them in another resort and talking to a couple that stayed in punta cana had them as well the rest of the room was cleaned daily and done very well, when we first got there our key card didnt turn on half the lights dont bother calling the front desk walk up, there are 2 of them one at the main entrance where you get dropped off and the other in the east end of the resort, they sent a maintanence guy right up to fix the problem. The restaurant staff was friendly as well as the bartending staff we would tip them 50 pesos a meal for their work which is only about 1.50 canadian. you can get wireless internet throughout the resort its $30 US a week not bad considering i paid 28 euro a day in German, they give you a password and you can use this on 1 computer you sign up at the front desk and pay when you check out they have other options 1 day 2 etc., you do get 30min free in the lobby if you dont bring your computer or tablet. they do have safes in the rooms they are $15 US for the week you get the lock and key at the front desk and then return it when you check out. We did surfing through marothel tours they are located on the resort next to the main buffet if you turn on chanel 8 they have an advertisement it was 50 bucks each we were picked up by INO and driven to hideway beach just outside cabarete where we did some instruction for 20 min then to the ocean for some 1 on 1 instruction my wife and I had a blast, you can book online with other tour operators but it works out to the same price as booking with marothel. as far as people saying tv wasnt available in english there are english chanels/shows the commercials are in spanish but shows like NCIS were in english i watched the discovery channel and learned how they smelt aluminum lol they are the higher channels. Overall we had a good time this was my second time to the Dominican and i would stay here again, i quit smoking about a year ago and have a hightened sniffer for smokes never had an issue no matter where you go in the carribean its the same people smoke everywhere didnt bother me so i didnt think it was bad at all. there are vendors on the resort every night and they rotate guy A will be there day 1 then 4 , 6 etc you can bargain with them but there are stores just outside the resort that you can haggle with too for a better price. the resort convenience store was the most reasonable one of all my trips except sunscreen buy it at home. We didnt search out the nightly entertainment we did karaoke one night but after playing in the water and golfing we just wanted to relax. other info , they do use the same 110-120 V as home but plugs are generally not grounded so if you do have a 3 pronged plug on your laptop it may not fit they do have some plugs that are 3 plug but probably dont have a ground attached. cabs to cabarete 30 US , Puerto Plata 60 US ,Punta Cana 300 US Playa Dorada Golf Course 50 US this is for up to 6 people. The airport is only a 10 min drive from the resort. The seafood restaurant has fries dogs and burgers from 12-4 daily and the resort map has changed restaurant wise the mexican and italian are near the front desk by the ampitheatre in the same area just each has half the building. the seafood is closer to the beach now. the jacuzzi's by the reef part are refreshingly cold. I would also suggest travel mugs for your drinks unless you want to hang out by the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank veritblrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Let me start off by saying I am originally from the Dominican Republic. I travel outside of the USA 2-3 times a year. I stayed in this resort once before in 2009 and just went back in Feb 2013. I rented 5 rooms for our family and stayed 6 days.

ROOMS
The rooms are very worn down even compare to previous stay. There are no locks on the door except for handle key lock. The only thing that the rooms come with are 2 bottles of water (which aren't replaced), a TV, and the bathroom amenities. There was a big closet but not much on the way of drawers and the A/C in some of the rooms weren't very good. Hot water was warm but not hot and in our room there was barely any water pressure but think that's because the shower head is clogged up. The beds were decent and the rooms were cleaned everyday. Didn't spend much time in the rooms so not to worried about what was missing.

FOOD
There were definitely a lot less food options in the buffet than our previous states. I would say there are about 10 different options during each meal plus the pasta/salad/bread stations. We were a group of 11 and always found plenty of food to eat and the food was good. The deserts were very repetitive, almost the same ones for the entire stay, and there were about 5-6 options. The only disappointing thing was the lack of options especially compared to other resorts, but the food itself tasted fine.

BARS
There is a bar near the pool, one near the beach, snack bar, buffet area. The drinks were fine (try the mama juana), but you might want to bring your own cup because they server everything in small plastic cups.

GROUNDS
The resort is beautiful and always clean. The closest bar to the pool is about a minute walk, but it's not right by the main pool. The pools (think there are3) are always clean, and there are also 3 more smaller pools (jacuzzis with cold water) overlooking the ocean. The lobby is very small so not much room to just hangout at the lobby. The internet access can be found here, there are 4 computers (think just 2 work) but had no issue with the connection speed like I usually have at other resorts.

ENTERTAINMENT
This was the best part of the vacation. The animation staff did a great job during the day. these guys work 16 hour days with only a day and a half off during the week. Please actually try to participate in the activities. Why go on vacation to lock yourself in the room or just lay in a pool chair? We participated in almost every activity they had, won tons of prizes. We had a blast with the entire animation staff. Also, we took the free bike riding tour which happens every morning at 10, that was a very good experience. The bikes are also available for free all day, but i would suggest you do the tour with them instead. The only thing disappointing with the entertainment is the nightly shows. They were pretty boring especially compare to other all inclusive resorts. Most involved karaoke or singing performances. I'm used to seeing shows or competitions (e.g. men versus women, etc..) but none of that here. I'm assuming that's because no one participates from the audience so they had to limit what kind of nightly shows they do.

LOCALS
Had no issue with vendors harassing us. They do come on property a few times a week but just simply tell them no thanks and they leave you alone (do yourself a favor don't buy anything from them everything is at least 3 times the price you can buy it for outside). We didn't see an issue with the local population that comes on the weekend. We saw a few but nothing crazy like i've read in other reviews. You will see here and there some prostitutes walking around with tourist, but they dress just like everyone else and don't bother anyone. If it wasn't for the fact they look dominican walking around with older tourist you wouldn't know they were prostitutes.

OUTSIDE
This is the main reason (besides price) that we picked this resort. There is an actual neighborhood outside of the resort and it is safe to walk around (not by yourself). There are plenty of places to shop. I would suggest you do the bike tour so you can see around the neighborhood so that later on you can walk to these places. If you come out of the resort, across the street there is a baseball field which usually has a game. To the right is a few shops, and ice cream place. If you make a left at the ice cream place and walk down 2 blocks you'll end up in the club areas where it is pure craziness at night (not bad). Instead of making a left at the ice cream place you keep walking straight down 2 more blocks and then make a less you'll end up in a downhill area (close the the casino they promote). This area has a good amount of shops, but the hidden gem is if you continue to go down the hill (maybe 3 minute walk) you end up in a public beach. This beach is beautiful and has maybe over 50 shops/restaurants. This was a nice hidden gem which we missed first time we came.

Overall the vacation was great, but keep in mind you get what you pay for. So how can you expect a 4-5 star hotel paying less than $115 a day all inclusive for 2 people (if you're paying more than that your travel agent should get fired).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nyphalanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is worned down, but that is nothing compared to the restaurant.
I cannot remember ever before having stayed a place with such lousy food, I would not even serve this to my dog.
The rooms are OK, the pool area too except for some very young and noisy entertainers engaged by the hotel, but nothing at all can make it up for the food - mashed beans, mashed platains and meat of indeterminate origin.
The only eatable food was pasta, but 6 days in a row??
The wine tasted like a wasteproduct from anti-freeze liquid.
The staff in the reception was unfriendly and not at all service-minded - a bunch of men more busy with chit-chatting each other than serving the customers
My advise? - Stay away ....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sosua
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,256 reviews
9.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,841 reviews
8.4 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 40 in Puerto Plata
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Beach & Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Beach & Reef

Address: Calle Alejo Martinez, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range: $79 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marina Beach & Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 676
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Marina Beach & Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Dominican Republic
Casa Marina Reef Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing