We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“BEWARE OF WEEKENDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Sosua
Delhi, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF WEEKENDS”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I know it is the Dominican Republic, therefore one should expect Dominicans but there were SO MANY there from Friday-Sunday during our last stay that we actually left the resort to keep our sanity. The majority are very rude, bud into line-ups, put food/condiments from the buffet into plastic containers, purses, coolers etc. and seem overall very ill-educated and completely lacking in social skills and respect for others. We LITERALLY saw a woman in one of the jacuzzis remove her young son's bathing suit so he could take a dump inside the jacuzzi itself. It made an english family extremely angry and a German guy threw up. We never went in the jacuzzis again! I was shocked at their behaviour, not to mention the number of males who were accompanied by a prostitute, always half his age or so and they were strutting them around like they actually won a prize or something. The hotel grounds, staff, food, drinks, location are all what to expect for a 3 star, however, until the so-called locals learn some manners, this place will suffer indefinately. Time share people are VERY aggressive and persistent but if you are adamant with a negative response they will eventually leave you alone. It seems about half the resort is closed, there are NOT 9 bars (more like 3) and the 3 restaurants they advertise is actually one restaurant that offers 3 menus depending on which day it is. Tipping seems to go a long way, the more you leave the friendlier and more accommodating they become but, of course, this doesn't apply to every staff member. Some continue with poor service even after a large tip so it's a bit of chance with who and what you get. You will have the sun, sand and surf so if you can ignore the rest (and watch yourself in the jacuzzis), you can make the best of it and get your money's worth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kimandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    1,234
    746
    349
    245
See reviews for
836
1,135
191
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Dont go there expecting to find a fine all inclusive resort; instead you will find a budget resort that at the end it will satisfy most of what your looking for in a vacation. FOOD there is always something you will like, for lunch you should try the snack bar, food is good there. DRINKS are bad, no more Presidente beer.BEACH AND SWIMMING POOLS are awesome; but to get an umbrella for shade at the beach it will cost you 3 dollars/ day ROOMS basic but good and comfortable. STAFF not too friendly and rude specially bar tenders and recepction .

BOTTOM LINE you will have fun there as long as you always keep in mind you are in a 3 star resort . Try to focus on all the good things this resort can offer you instead of the bad things and have fun.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AntonioD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our third stay at casa marina and again it was an excellent holiday and would highly recommend it to anyone who is thinking of going to the Dominican. od fun. The food was great and the drinks are NOT watered down. When we stayed this time the beach side of the hotel was closed, but we managed to have a look at 1 of the rooms and they look excellent and will be looking forward to my next stay there. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful so I don't understand why people write bad reviews about the hotel. In casa marina you have everything on your door step and you can go out and get the better prices. i have read a lot of reviews and people complain about the locals outside who hassle you. 1 thing to remember is that it is a third world country and everyone is trying to make money to feed their families and as for people saying they have been rob I have never seen or heard it happen. The beach, pools and jacuzzis are out of this world and perfect located. I will be booking myfourth stay and definitely will be at Casa Marina.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a room beside the pool. It was a good sized room and kept very clean by the maids. The bed was very comfortable. There was a fresh water chiller in the corridors where you can refill your bottle. The choice of food was very good, the waiters and barmen were really nice and very polite. The jacuzzis area is the best place to enjoy a drink while watching the nice view.

Loved the cocktails!!!

I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was looking to go back to this resort this year and was going through the reviews and thought I had to put anyone's mind at rest that is worried about going. I took my two girls in August and we had a fabulous time. The rooms could do with a bit of updating but I wasnt expecting luxury with the price we paid. We were only in there to sleep and get changed anyhow but they were not that bad that we had to complain. This was the first time I have never had to fight for a sunbed which was fantastic. The pools were clean and lovely as were the hottubs. The food was lovely, I am not picky but one of my kids can be and she ate for the whole holidays finding plenty to put on her plate every night. The staff were lovely and the entertainment was fantastic with a lot of work being put into it. Only downside was how late it started with me having kids but we managed (seeing as we could sleep in without having to worry about grabbing a sunbed!) Would definately go back again as would the kids just couldnt afford it this time round.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I just come from a week of stay at this resort and i found it amazing. The animation staff is great. Food is good at the a la carte and buffet. Nice beach and jacuzzis with a terrific view. Try sea scape, which is the best one in seafood. We loved the Karaoke night, that was a lot of fun. Room was basic but nice with a pool view. We reccomend this hotel for a nice vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lets start with positives, the resort grounds were very nice, clean and well maintained. The pools were great as well as the cold water jacuzi... Food was repetitive but editable, no great but not the worst.

Rooms were adequate with very basic AC which wasnt working. Requested a bar fridge for medicines. took 4 days and multilple phone calls. cockroches in my kids room.... Staff was nice but cleaners were lazy and cleaned around objects with out moving things. Weekends sucked at night... SEEMS like every local was at our resort running down the hall with there kids at all hours... jacuzzi were nice till they brought 4-6 children into them that just cannon ball into them or kick around splashing everyone.. parents are oblivious to there kids actions. Halls were cavernous and caused large amounts of echo'ing so even parents at 2am had to be told to be quiet???

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tormedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sosua hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sosua
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 34 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 34 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sosua by the Sea
Sosua by the Sea
#5 of 34 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
8.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Beach & Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Beach & Reef

Property: Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Address: Calle Alejo Martinez, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sosua
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marina Beach & Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Marina Beach & Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Dominican Republic
Casa Marina Reef Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing