We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone should go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures

Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Monkey Jungle and Zipline Adventure from Puerto Plata
Ranked #1 of 15 Outdoor Activities in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monkey Jungle is located between Sosua and Cabarete, just 9 km up El Choco Road. It is the home to almost 30 squirrel and capuchin monkeys and includes a 7 station 4500 foot ACCT certified zip line. Enjoy the breathtaking view spanning over 290 acre working farm and the home of the free Monkey Jungle medical/dental clinic.Profits from the Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures is used to fund the free on site clinics. Check out why we have been listed as number one on Trip Advisor since we opened in 2010. Reservations recommended and ages 2 to 89 have participated. Zip Line Adventures caters to guests with special needs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everyone should go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The zip lining was great! The staff were very professional and helpful. They were very safety conscious, which can be rare in the DR. We paid the $15US for the CD with all of the pictures. It was well worth it. We had a group of 8 and there were about 100 pictures on the CD. Plus all of the proceeds go to help fund a medical/dental clinic that provides free care to the locals. The road getting in there is very bumpy and a bit of a rough ride, but it's all part of the experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GBM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    54
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Best Zipline in the DR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My Family and I went for the first time to the DR and wanted to experience Zip line, My Daughter was very Scared but Akon the tour guide did a ride along with her and made her feel very comfortable. Great experience for everybody, plus the bonus of Monkeys crawling on you makes this a destination must. The guides work for tips all Volunteer and the money all goes to locals and helping the animals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Zip the Zip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Although we have visited the Monkey Jungle a few times already, this was the first time for my gorgeous wife and I to attempt the zip line. The guys running it were so very professional and safety conscience (nice to see in the DR!). The zip lines were totally amazing. Well worth the $US50 for about an hour and a half of fun.

Note: the bar prices are rather high for Dominican standards!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidENewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocosophie, Owner at Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Candy and I wanted to thank you for your recent visit to Monkey Jungle. We appreciate your support
Best
Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My friend and I visited this week and had an outstanding time. We started with the zip lines and what can I say? So much fun! I felt safe the entire time. The lead guide, Stefan, was very knowledgeable and double checked everyone's harnesses as well as often checking in with us to make sure we were having fun and not too scared. All of the guides were professional and thorough, which you certainly want while zip lining! The monkey jungle portion was awesome as well. The monkeys are so cute and it is such a unique experience to interact with them as they jump and crawl on you. I also loved that my money was going towards helping local Dominicans. What a great organization!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
“This was a great time for the entire family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Don't be nervous. It may seem scary at first but it was extremely safe yet still very thrilling. We had a teenager with a broken arm and they were even able to accommodate him. The Zip lines were a blast. The monkeys were interesting and fun. When you get such positive feedback from two tough to please teenagers, you know you're on to something. Additionally, the proceeds from this excursion are funding a health and dental clinic on the island. This makes it even more attractive. No high pressure to buy anything additional or donate anything - very well done and fun for the entire family. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocosophie, Owner at Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Candy and I wanted to thank you for your recent visit to Monkey Jungle. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again
Best
Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing