We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of fun”

Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Monkey Jungle and Zipline Adventure from Puerto Plata
Ranked #1 of 15 Outdoor Activities in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monkey Jungle is located between Sosua and Cabarete, just 9 km up El Choco Road. It is the home to almost 30 squirrel and capuchin monkeys and includes a 7 station 4500 foot ACCT certified zip line. Enjoy the breathtaking view spanning over 290 acre working farm and the home of the free Monkey Jungle medical/dental clinic.Profits from the Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures is used to fund the free on site clinics. Check out why we have been listed as number one on Trip Advisor since we opened in 2010. Reservations recommended and ages 2 to 89 have participated. Zip Line Adventures caters to guests with special needs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Jericho, Vermont
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loads of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our group went to Monkey Jungle and it was a great time! The weather was terrific! The experience made our group "jell" and then the monkeys were just so much fun!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jerichomlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    55
    11
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SO AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was the highlight of our trip! We went on January 30, 2014 and once we were all geared up and had a few zips under our belts, it started raining - HARD. It loosened up the group and made it more fun! It was so cool!! Eddie Murphy, Usher and Akon were the BEST!!! So much fun and professional at the same time. Very informative of the rules and how to do it. The monkey tour with Tom Cruise was excellent as well. Again, very informative. Well worth the cost of admission - it all goes to the medical centre anyways! LOVED IT!!!!! I'd give it ten stars if it was an option.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Monkey Jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was my first time zip lining & of course, I was terrified ! However, our guides were absolutely fantastic !! They put me at ease, answered every little question & fear & made sure I was safe at all times. On one line, they even let me go down in tandem with one of them. It was a superb experience & I would highly recommend it. It was pouring rain while we were on the zip lines but that didn't matter as it was still well worth it. Our guides were Akon, "Eddie Murphy", "Drake" & "Usher" - what a hoot we had with them ! They kept us laughing with their antics & the Eddie Murphy & User Congo routine was hilarious !! They were a fantastic group of guides & I would request them in the future.

After our zip lining, we then went in to see the monkeys. I was highly impressed with the instructions given beforehand, with the reasons why the rules were the way they were but the best was to see the interaction between "Tom Cruise" and the animals. It is quite obvious that this young man does this job - not because he has to, but because he loves the animals and genuinely cares for them. To be that up close & personal with these gorgeous creatures is an amazing experience.

The fact that all profits from our fees & purchases, help to support the free medical & dental clinics for the locals, makes the experience that much more enriching. What they provide is beyond measure & as a volunteer myself, I can only commend those who run Monkey Jungle, for the invaluable services they provide, without cost.

I will be back !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank boocj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“why not”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

i have visted sosua many times and finally decided to give the monkey jungle and zip lining adventure a try , had a blast the staff was great , the zip lining guides where great , i had kobe bryant and denzel washington as they call themselves as my guides , awesome guys make you feel real comfortable zipping down the lines , make you feel really safe , the monkey jungle guides where very nice , they do a great job here funding a medical center and dentist office for tose who need it . the ride up was a adventure it self , road was horible , but overall a great time, go visit kobe and denzel

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ears192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Monkeys great, Zip Lining is average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Good - Feeding the tame, lovely monkeys. Zip-line guides were all funny and personable. The money made here all goes to charity.
Bad- The zip-lines were just average. The road to get there is very bad. Take a four wheeler or pay the extra for the bus. Long drive to it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dbdmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing