We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Small Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Residence D'Piero
Ranked #7 of 30 Sosua B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Small Hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I'm currently staying at the Residence D'Piero in Sosua for 7 nights. This is my 6th day here, and my first time staying at D'Piero's. D'Piero's is a small hotel with maybe 12 rooms, some of the rooms are apartment style with a living room, kitchen, and separate bedroom. I'm staying in a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The apartment has only air conditioning in the bedroom, with a fan in the living room. The living room area has a small sofa and lounge chair along with a flat screen television as well as a small dinning table. The kitchen has the basic amenities, full size refrigerator, plates, utensils, glasses and cups, and a stove. The air conditioning is not the strongest, but it does keep the room comfortably cool as long as you turn on the fan.

The small complex has a medium size swimming pool, a small bar and restaurant. Breakfast is served along with the cost of the rental. The food is adequate. The staff does not speak much English, except for the young man at the office who speaks fluent english. All are very helpful, the owner, D'Piero is generally around and seems to always be willing to assist with anything. They are also have cars and motorbikes to rent. The hotel is very quiet during the day and night and just basically low key.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the main area of the small city of Sosua where there are plenty of resaurants, bars, and nightclubs. The beach is a quick 5 minute walk from there. . . Would I stay here again? . .. Not sure, only because it is kind of out of the way from everything. I normally stay at another hotel that is only steps from the beach. . . But there are not any complaints here.

Room Tip: First floor apartments are good value for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank streetscaper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

spend a week there staff was great only problem no one speaks english at the hotel ,but still mange to understand want i needed ,your about a 10 min walk to the bars and disco in town but just around the block you would find the passion bar.the hotel is guest friendly so for my week stay they pick me up at the airport and had free breakfast every morning.which was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beavMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This was my first stay at D'Piero's for 3 nights and it was fantastic. I've been to Puerto Plata and Sosua 8 times and it will be my first choice in Sosua in the future. I was on a tight budget and had one of the smaller rooms but it was great value with a good breakfast included. Piero the owner and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. I locked my keys in my car and Piero and 2 of his staff worked for 30 minutes in the rain to open the door. Thanks so much! The grounds and pool are very clean and pretty. I had a late flight out and they let me check out late with no hassle.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chad_Cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I stayed in a large queen bedroom (C5) for $40 per night including breakfast and airport transfers. The hotel exceeded all my expectations and requirements. Piero the onsite owner is also a hands on manager. The grounds, pool, Jacuzzi, bar & restaurant were lovely. No glasses, towels, or cigarette butts lying around and the pool sparkled. My third floor room was clean and well maintained. It had a nice bath, electronic safe, AC, TV, small refrigerator & a balcony overlooking the pool. The rooms and apartments vary and some are nicer than others. So explain your requirements to Piero and look at the available rooms when you arrive. The cheapest rooms don’t have balconies and face a parking lot. The hotel has a backup generator.

The staff is very friendly and attentive. The maids make up your room as soon as you appear for breakfast. The security guard can provide ice, beer and other needed items late at night. The hotel is guest friendly but does not have the constant frat party atmosphere.

The hotels location was perfect. It is in a quite section of town but everything you need is close by. It is an easy 5 (+ or -) minute walk to the strip or beach. I enjoyed the sights along the way and checked out many of the small bars. Another option is to take a moto to/from for 25/50 pesos.

I stayed at other hotels during prior trips and checked out many others. In my opinion for the money D’Piero is the best non all inclusive in Sosua.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank johnfromnorthjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I spent quite some time in Sosua and Hotel D'Piero is the place to be if you like a relaxed and down to earth atmosphere.
The owner keeps an eye on everything to make sure the clients have the most enjoyable experience.
The pricing is really low for what you get and the food, very simple and fresh, is really good.
At Hotel D' Piero I felt like home and the owner treated me like an old friend making me really comfortable. You also have many different services included in the low rate like free internet, swimming pool and jacuzzi, parking spot, the breakfast is included in the price, a little gym and, for a very convenient low rate, you can also rent a scooter or a car.
Rooms/apartments are comfortable and clean with everything you need for a pleasant experience.
All the stuff is easy going, helpful and professional.
I consider it my second home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danytravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.2 mi away
Condo Hotel Plaza Europa
0.5 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sosua
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 31 in Sosua
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 31 in Sosua
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#8 of 31 in Sosua
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence D'Piero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence D'Piero

Property: Hotel Residence D'Piero
Address: Calle Rodriguez | El Batey, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residence D’Piero is a beautiful oasis where you can find relax and comfort. The residence has an excellent and friendly staff. It has apartments and single rooms available with air conditioner, safe box, a common area with swimming pool and hydro massage, private parking, and 24 hour surveillance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence D'Piero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing