We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home”
Review of Hotel el Rancho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel el Rancho
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Jürgen from the divebase Merlin recommended this hotel. Our room was no 16. It had a good size, warm shower, balcony for two and a slightly creaky bed. There was a ceiling-fan with adjustable speed and a ridiculously small TV with a cable receiver (which we did not even try to turn on - it's vacation, eh?).

We stayed for three weeks and were honored to meet the owner Paul in the last week who is a nice, old guy. He personally cares about his guests.

Wireless internet is available for guests.
The pool is nice but colder than the ocean.
Everything is squeaky clean.
You can go anywhere on foot from the hotel.
I saw into three more rooms and all have been painted as beautiful as ours.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms might have better WiFi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 70 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Having only booked 2 nights at Casa Valeria (highly recommended!) and a change of plans, we needed a place to stay over Xmas. With little reasonably priced options this is where we wound up. Basic room, ground floor, $45, no windows, tiny tv w/cable, a/c, best feature was the 5 minute walk to the beach. FYI-most of the clientele we observed consisted of older men w/ local escorts.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a terrible experience at Tampico Angel, formerly known as Sosua Bay Resort, we moved to El Rancho Hotel for the remainder of our trip. We instantly fell in love with the charm of the hotel. For only $50 US, we got a very clean room with A/C and hot water with only 4 minute walk from the beach. The restaurant was delicious and made the most amazing pina coladas. I would have given this place 5 stars but the mattress and pillows weren't that great. I know that the mattress is kind of a big deal but I was able to overlook that when considering the hotel as a whole. I heard that the mattresses across the street at Casa Cayena were better but every time I walked past the building I heard profanity and lots of partying. And, the person who told me that was also staying at El Rancho, so he was able to overlook the mattress as well. Wonderful place and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this small, lovely hotel in Sosua in August 2013. We paid $55 USD per night for an air conditioned room with a kitchenette facing the pool. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel staff was very accommodating. Jesus cleans the pool twice a day. Soledad, the hotel cat, even hung out with us. There was a small tienda a few blocks away where we could purchase a few items for fixing breakfast in the room which we enjoy doing. The hotel is also only a few blocks away from restaurants and bars. The hotel has a small fitness center with a few, very old machines if you are interested. El Rancho is about 1 block from Playa Alicia and about 4 blocks from Playa Sosua. Each beach has a different flavor, and we enjoyed both. Playa Sosua is busier with small shops behind it and small restaurants. The cost of renting 2 beach chairs and an umbrella was 200 pesos which is about $5 USD. The man you rent the chairs from will bring you food and beverages from one of the restaurants. Playa Alicia is wider, quieter, and has a sandier bottom while at Playa Sosua you have to be careful of rocks on the bottom. If we return to Sosua, we will certainly stay again at El Rancho.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

El Rancho is perfect! Brief walk to the beaches, cafes and shopping. Clean, convenient, secure and inexpensive; we paid US $50 per night for a poolside, terrace room with a kitchenette. Stayed six days. Garden like setting with abundent hisbiscus and a large overhanging limoncillo tree. Wonderful staff: Jose, Hector, Jesus and "Soledad" the friendly hotel cat. Resturant on premises but also recommended is the Resturant Valeria in the next block and groceries try the small mercado two blocks up. Alicia Beach's Colonial Jews Park has a neat little eatery & bar. Great sunset views! Also, Luis rent a car will treat you right. Beaches charge $5 per day for two beach chairs plus umbrella and the owners will bring you drinks and food for a small price. By the way, although centerally located El Rancho is several blocks from the noisy "party" scene. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

WE LOVE THIS LITTLE HOTEL! We needed to stay one night in Sosua unexpectedly and tripped upon this wonderful little hotel that's affordable. The owner has made this place so interesting with his paintings and personal touch. Clean, quiet, safe and 2 min walk to a beautiful quiet beach. We couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff was excellent and gave us a tour of the other suites, each with its own unique decor. One suite on the third floor actually has an open grass roof which makes you feel you're really in a tropical country. Even some of the basic rooms have a small kitchenette. We will definitely be staying here again. So refreshing to stay somewhere out of the cookie cutter.

Room Tip: Top floor suites are so cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This small boutique hotel is well run by a German gentlemen and his wife. The wife is from Costa Rica so she is bi-lingual. They and the staff run a tight ship while keeping the place cozy. It's away from all the riff-raff in the town and is a block away from the nices beach in Sosua. NO VENDORS and NO ANNOYING CHARACTORS like at the main beach. The hotel also has a cool little gym which can be used 24/7. The restaurant which is by the nice small pool area is not run by the owners but leased by independant German owners and is great for all meals at excellent prices. No place better in Sosua if you have to be there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tropix Hotel
Tropix Hotel
#3 of 30 in Sosua
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#8 of 30 in Sosua
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Rancho

Address: Calle Dr. Rosen 36, Sosua 1809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range: $43 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel el Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing